We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gatto Bianco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gatto Bianco to your Saves list
Gatto Bianco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Emanuele, 32, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a reservation for 3 nights made long before our stay. When we arrived we were given a really bad room in an alley behind the hotel. It was cold and with a brick wall just outside the window. Room number 22, stay out of it!

We pointed out directly that we wanted to change room, but wasn't allowed to do so until the next day. The new room (nr 103) was far better, like the one the hotel has on its pictures.

The breakfast is quite good, although there is the usual south European lack of things without sugar.

Room Tip: avoid room 22, try to get room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato E, Proprietario at Gatto Bianco, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Google Translation
I gentilissimi clienti svedesi avevano prenotato una camera standard, dal prezzo di 102,50 € al giorno con colazione. La camera 22, a cui loro si riferiscono, non si trova in un vicolo al di fuori dell'albergo, ma sul nostro terrazzo al piano terra. Ogni camera ha un riscaldamento autonomo e quindi, se avevano freddo, lo potevano accendere benissimo. Inoltre, la nostra colazione offre moltissimi prodotti della nostra terra salati: formaggi, prosciutti e salami.
Il giorno dopo, avendo ascoltato le loro lamentele, ho personalmente provveduto a cambiarli in una camera comfort, al primo piano, che ha un prezzo di listino di 310 € al giorno. Al momento di pagare il conto, i nostri amici svedesi non volevano pagare la lavanderia del costo di 48 € affermando «che in tutti gli alberghi del mondo non si paga la lavanderia». Gli ho spiegato con calma che la loro affermazione era errata, ma comunque gli ho applicato uno sconto di 18 € sul conto della lavanderia.
L'ospitalità caprese vive anche grazie all'insegnamento che il grande scrittore svedese Axel Munthe ci ha donato con il libro "La Storia di San Michele". Spero che i giovani clienti di Stoccolma l'abbiano letto con cura. Distinti saluti, Renato Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    63
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
93
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dozza, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a lovely little hotel this is, in the centre of Capri. The staff is very friendly & helpful and make you feel at home right away. The breakfast is a wonderful buffet and yes there is fresh fruit salad !! I stay here several times a year , 2 nights last week and it is lovely to come back . You walk out of the hotel and you are right in the heart of the main shopping street, however it is very quiet at night . My room had a balcony overlooking the rooftops of the town. The room is cozy, clean and bathroom had many amenities like comfy slippers . Quality for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato E, Proprietario at Gatto Bianco, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Google Translation
Un grazie di cuore alla nostra affezionata cliente americana. Quest'anno abbiamo potenziato la nostra linea cortesia, grazie anche alla consulenza del nostro beauty center, la Delphina. I nostri clienti possono quindi trovare in camera particolarissimi prodotti per esaltare la loro bellezza. Un arrivederci, Renato Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We enjoyed our short stay at Albergo Gatto Bianco. When I walked in, I couldn't help but feel a little of what Capri must have been like in the 50s - I loved it! The location is just a few steps from the main square and the designer shopping district, but we were never bothered by crowds or noise.

Our room was a good size, and the bathroom was large and well-appointed. Although it's an older hotel, everything was very clean. The staff was always helpful, and the breakfast was typical of small hotels in Italy.

If you like hotels where everything is shiny and new, this might not be the place for you. But if you like charm and character, Gatto Bianco is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a charming hotel. We stayed here on a hiking trip. It is tucked away off the main square and you feel like you are a million miles away. The breakfast was good and the rooms very spacious with a small outside covered balcony Friends were celebrating their wedding anniversary and upgraded at a very reasonable price to the Jackie O suite. The hotel then helped us put on a small anniversary party. And if you are lucky Matisse the resident "gatto blanco" will honor you with a "walk by." Lovely terrace to have drinks, but it was sometimes hard to find the bar tender.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for three days and absolutely loved it.
The location of Gatto Bianco was what we wanted: in the center of the pedestrian zone, two steps from La Piazzetta, beautiful gardens, cafes, restaurants, boutiques, in a very short walking distance from the bus, funicular and taxi stations.
In the same time it was a pretty quite place with unique atmosphere, beautifully decorated.
I loved the fact, that my favourite Clark Gable had stayed in the hotel decades ago:). The hotel with a history- that was appealing to us.
The staff was friendly and eager to help, our room was clean and comfortable. The white cat was there:). Looking forward to come back some time soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato E, Proprietario at Gatto Bianco, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Google Translation
L'indimenticabile Clarke Gable ha soggiornato con la divina Sofia Loren durante le riprese della Baia di Napoli. Mio padre, Giovanni, mi raccontava sempre che i due famosi attori furono quasi travolti da un tifone che si abbattè sulla troupe mentre giravano in piazzetta. Spero di mostrare alla gentile cliente le foto dell'attore al Gatto Bianco.
Renato Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel named after famous "movie star white cat" which still roams around the outdoor lounges is just a hint of unique character to be found there. Excellent option indoor or outdoor eating areas,catering to all tastes. Rooms with a balcony allowing a view of the surrounding sea. Stepping out the front door you are immediately within steps of picturisque St Stephen piazza/townhall clock, to the right a tiny stroll leads into bistros, shops and main high end shopping. ( would advise to do main high ticket souvenir item purchases on mainland if you can). One can't help but to enjoy the luxury of it all on the island - hotel and surroundings.

Room Tip: Far end corner rooms allowed a better view of the surrounding water but sun hit all balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato E, Proprietario at Gatto Bianco, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Google Translation
Ringraziamo delle belle parole riservate al nostro hotel. Il Gatto Bianco è una piccola oasi dove ancora si percepisce il genius loci dell'isola. Il cliente ritrova nei nostri saloni e nelle nostre stanze un luogo dell'anima.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012 and had the most unforgettable weekend. Rooms are in true Capri-style (painted tiles, Mediterranean colours), impeccably clean and very spacious. The staff were very helpful and nice and beyond themselves to help us or to answer any of our questions. We were made feel at home and truly spoiled every day, starting with the wonderful breakfast in the garden. We even managed to get a picture with Matisse - the utterly charming white cat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato E, Proprietario at Gatto Bianco, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Google Translation
Ringraziamo di vivo cuore per le belle parole, il nostro intento è migliorarci giorno per giorno.
Noi lavoriamo con lo spirito di far sentire i nostri clienti come a casa facendo rivivere l'antica ospitalità caprese che da circa un secolo vede impegnata la nostra famiglia.
Il nostro motto è che ogni cliente si deve sentire protagonista di un sogno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gatto Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatto Bianco

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele, 32, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Capri
#15 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#19 Family Hotel in Capri
#21 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatto Bianco 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small 3-story Villa-like Hotel in quiet, central location offering panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gatto Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatto Bianco Capri
Gatto Bianco Hotel Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatto Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.