We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star location-4 star comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Syrene

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Syrene to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Syrene
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Camerelle 51, I-80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Capri
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“5 star location-4 star comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Reviewing hotels isn't easy.Just comparing TA reviews shows the subjective nature of such reviews.In the case of this hotel the judgment to make is complicated by the fact that few of the reviews are recent.The Best Western Syrene has undergone progressive refurbishment and opinions expressed years ago may no longer be valid.

We spent 10 days at the hotel in August 2010 (the height of the Italian tourist season). We were familiar with Capri although previous stays were many years ago.

We were delighted with our stay (even though our standards of comparison are with higher category hotels).The location of the hotel is unbeatable, on the via Camerelle, just across from the emblematic Quisisana, steps from the marvelous via Tragara and the via Krupp. The room we had (and we may have been lucky with room assignment) was light, bright with all essential amenites (as an example one of the most complete choice of international satellite channels) with a comfortable modern bathroom. A bonus was the huge terrace with seaview (side) which we didn't even have the occasion to enjoy properly.

Buffet breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking the via Camerelle.Although no great variety it is more than adequate with everything fresh and constatntly replaced.The lemon grove adjacent to the swimmin pool (where lunch is served) could be one of Capri's more delightful restaurants, but no evening meals are available (because of the very brief average stay of guests).

Service is friendly and efficient. Most of our contacts were with Sig. Vittorio who is unfailingly pleasant, courteous and efficient..

A fly in the ointment (previously mentioned by some reviewers): The swimming pool surrounded by sun terraces with a more than adequae number of sunbeds is open to outsiders. As a result it is invaded with children rather limiting the enjoyment of guests of a certain age staying in the hotel and paying full price.I didn't let this influence too negatively my overall rating of an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    48
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
82
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Syrene for 4 nights from June 7 to June 12. We had a great time. We stayed in a superior room on the 3rd floor and had a great sea view. The terrace was large with table and chairs and two lounge chairs. Great place to relax while looking at the sea and watching the people on Via Camerelle - especially after a morning of walking the island. The hotel has a great pool and fantastic breakfast buffet. The location can't be beat - it is in the heart of Capri yet very quiet and relaxing. We loved it! Can't wait to go back to beautiful Capri.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Looking at much earlier reviews the Syrene has obviously gotten its act together. The place is neat and clean and looks freshly painted. The biggest attractions are the great location out of the noise but close to everything in Capri. And there is the wonderful swimming pool and bar, so nice for those hot Capri days. The staff was of great assistance in all matters from restaurant selection to travel help. I can't say enough good things about their friendly help. The bed was maybe too firm for some as were the pillows and the soundproofing could be better, but all in all a great value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We had planned a day trip to Capri but when we arrived we just had to stay. We walked into the Best Western Syrene to check availability for 2 nights and Vittorio could not have been more helpful. He showed us 3 different room types, and a brief tour of the hotel itself. He took our map and listed all the attractions we should see during our stay and how to get there. At the end of each day, Vittorio was there to ask us all about our day and what we saw. The staff took a personal interest in your stay at their hotel.
The room was beautiful, modern, and clean with a great view of Capri. The daily breakfast buffet was the best we had in our 14 day stay in Italy. Everything about this hotel was top notch and unlike other hotels in Italy, its 4 star rating is probably low. The staff made the stay enjoyable and we will definately return. They should be commended on how they treat their guests and make you feel welcome. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

Recently stayed two nights in this hotel. We booked last minute as this was the only hotel we could get on such short notice. The location of the hotel is perfect, a short walk away from Capri’s main square. We had a lovely balcony overlooking the town and sea. The room was very clean and quiet. We found the staff to be quite friendly. Breakfast was typical Italian with plenty of variety of pastries\cereals etc.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

Fantastic hotel in lovely surroundings. Staff were incredibly helpful. Rooms were immaculately clean and vey well maintained. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville,FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

This hotel was way too OVER PRICE!! The staff was not the most friendly but yet I think that everyone that lives & work in Capri Island maybe tired of too many tourist all the time. At the hotel they charge for every little extra thing they do for you. The restaurant staff were not very friendly- the food was overprice and OK. The waiter got aggravated with my husband and I because we only order a small meal- we were not hungry for a big meal, it was not about the money but more about eating too big of a snack too early. We were saving room for anice dinner. Well, the waiter treated us very unkindly when we only ordered a small meal. Customer service was poor here. I must admit the receptionist (a guy- can't remember his name) was very nice but every one else was not too friendly or provided good customer service. THe pool at the hotel was nice- but overall, the hotel was way too much money. I will not stay there again.

We met some Naple Natives there that were vacationing and were staying at a bed and breakfast with a beautiful view but half of the price of what we were paying-We will definitely stay at a place with better customer service next time.

Another thing to mention is that many restaurants and shops are very much over priced in this side of town. I think Ana Capri was a more reasonable place to shop. Good luck!!

Capri is definitely a place worth visiting!!! it is a dream island!!

  • Liked — The POOL and balcony view
  • Disliked — Overpriced
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Syrene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Syrene

Address: Via Camerelle 51, I-80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Capri
#4 Business Hotel in Capri
#16 Family Hotel in Capri
#18 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#20 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Syrene 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Syrene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Syrene
Best Western Capri
Capri Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Syrene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.