We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to stay in Capri!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Quisisana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Quisisana to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Quisisana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Camerelle 2, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Capri
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The Only Place to stay in Capri!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

We loved it! I was concerned after reading some of the reviews, but had a really positive experience. The location was perfect. We had a junior suite - it was very spacious, great view of the sea - only drawback was strange shower door (felt like I was in a space capsule, hard to explain), but lots of European showers are strange compared to the ones we are used to in the States. The pool is perfect and the buffet lunch by the pool is terrific. Spa and gym are very nice. Service was excellent. It's great to sit outside in front of the hotel, have a drink and people watch. All in all it's a great place to stay and Capri is spectacular!

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    83
    30
    23
    36
See reviews for
50
209
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

We stayed at the hotel end of August for a birthday celebration. We stayed in a deluxe double room number 520 which was one of the largest rooms I’ve stayed in excluding Villa Feltrinelli at Lake Garda. This was a moderately priced room, on the ground level facing the pool and sea. We had a large patio, including a table and four chairs (pictures included). Our bedroom was very spacious and bathroom was as well. The stall shower was decent; however, it needed some upgrading or new grout (due to mold buildup). The grounds were resort-like and spectacular. The lobby was just breathtaking filled with many antiques. Room service was included, but it was limited. Requesting eggs was extra, but not a significant cost. Upon arriving by boat, there is someone to greet you at the port to handle your luggage and bring it to the hotel. This is very convenient because Capri Town and Anacapri are located much above sea level and it would be near impossible to get to the hotel with your luggage in tow.

Our last night I was under the weather. My husband called to inquire about cold medicine. They offered to have a doctor come by our room at midnight. We opted to wait until morning and he arrived at 9:00am. He diagnosed me and gave me a prescription which he offered to have concierge fill and deliver. The cost was about e250 including medicine but the convenience factor was priceless.

The weekend of our trip, there was a B-List celebrity wedding onsite so the staff was very preoccupied with the “other” guests. At least that is the excuse I was telling my husband. The poolside bar service was absolutely poor and slow. We were constantly asked about our room number. An earlier review mentioned the issues they faced being a young couple. We found some similar issues. I’ve stayed at luxury hotels in Rome, Venice and Lake Garda and found this to be the snobbiest hotel yet. The Capri Palace hotel noted as one of the BEST hotels in Capri is located in Anacapri. It’s a bit far, and the town is not as glamorous or chic with limited dining and lower scale shopping. I would definitely return to the Quisisana because the location is ideal.

Shopping in Capri is like shopping on Rodeo Drive or 5th Avenue. Beautiful people fill the streets all day and all night. It’s such a spectacular and chic vacation destination. I PLAN to return again soon.

  • Liked — Location, location location! Room size
  • Disliked — Bathroom was in need of repair! Attitudes, snobbiness with some staff.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of August 2007. All in all, the stay was quite pleasant. Our room was very nice and unlike some other reviews, everything worked properly. Breakfast was great and as one guest put it, walking through those doors on a busy Capri afternoon was heaven.

The concierge desk was amazing… they were so helpful. Don’t be afraid to ask for maps, directions, day trip destinations and dining recommendations!

Some cons: As the title of my review implies- if you're young, say under 30 (as my husband and I were) be prepared to be questioned CONSTANTLY about your room number. At first we thought it was hotel policy to ask EVERY guest; but we soon realized that we were too young, or not dressed well enough to pass for " typical Quisi guests". It got annoying and rather embarrassing- we told the front desk and it in fact got worse. But what can you do... I guess I shouldn't complain that we could afford to stay there- we just weren't welcome like the rest of the guests. Seems our money was a little to "young" for their taste.

Also, a caution to anyone who loses there luggage. We lost it in Naples en route from Rome. We filled the report with the airline and we also informed the front desk at the Quisi that our luggage should be arriving. They were so helpful- so helpful in fact that they charged us 80 euro to get the bag to us, ON TOP of the 180 euros we paid for the transfer 2 days BEFORE our bag arrived. The transfer fee included a luggage transfer service which we did NOT use on our day of arrival. Logically; you would think they would get our lost bags to us for free – no such thing my friend. It seemed a little unfair to be charged twice for the same service. (on a side note; they only found 1 of 3 lost bags- frustrated on waiting over 3 days to get my lost luggage my husband and I spent 200 euros to go BACK to the airport and get our own bags.) Word to the wise- seems in the problems is in Rome – avoid flying through there if you can. We also had our bags lost ON THE WAY HOME as well!!!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fixerny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

First the positives. This hotel has a good location on Capri, right in the center of town. Many of the rooms have a very nice ocean view although the property is not on the beach, is it high enough to afford a good view of the sea. In it's day it was clearly The Place to stay on Capri. The lobby is still straight out of the 1960's and is very clean and orderly as are most of the public areas of the hotel. The cafe area immediately outside the front door is still a good spot for people watching, just ask the prices of anything before you order, we paid 8 euro for a small bottle of water and 4.5 euro for a coffee.

Now the negatives. Although we only saw three guest rooms in the hotel (we stayed in two of them) all were furnished in what we can only refer to as 1970's European Luxe and they looked that old to us. The televisions have been upgraded of course, but are very small for a luxury hotel. One of our rooms had a defective TV that did not work. In fact, many of the "neccessities" of a modern luxury hotel (phones, internet service, showers etc.) were either defective (meaning not functional) or substandard (meaning functional, but not at anything like a first class hotel standard). Prices are quite high, we were charged 1600 euro for a one bed - one bath suite for one night and we moved to a one bed -one and a half bath suite the next night for 1900 euro. The standard rooms are less of course, but our experience with the suites was so unpleasant we could not imagine moving to a standard room. Among the headaches were a jacuzzi tub in one room that didn't function, a phone system that had one working phone out of three in another room, a television in the bedroom of our newer suite that failed to turn on at all, even the maintainance man from the hotel was scratching his head over that one. The lump sum of all of these repeated and annoying deficiencies caused us to leave the hotel on the third morning of our four night stay, to move to another property. We did inspect a third and even more expensive room which was offered to us, but declined as we did not see anything there to indicate a "new and improved" room as opposed to our previous ones.

We had a quite a few more nits and picks with the property, pool and spa facilities (all negative) but rather than list them here we will only leave you with this final caution:

Many hotels in Europe have draconian cancellation policies, in our case, we were charged for the two nights of our stay that we did not use, of course we also paid for the new hotel as well. Requests to meet with the General Manager of the Property to discuss this were refused (politely) by the staff and it was clear that our business was finished with them when it became apparent that we were checking out of the property two days early. Suprised by this and considering the amount of time we had spent bringing these various items to the staff's attention, we decided to let our travel agent handle the negotiation with the hotel about a refund and moved on to our new accomodations.

An e-mail received by us a week later from the reclusive General Manager, was polite but, in our opinion, quite condescending in tone throughout. In sum, no refund for the nights we did not spend at the hotel would be forthcoming. Caveat Emptor.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

Spent 5 days at the Quisisana for a special anniversary. It is a Grand Hotel in the Italian Style and lived up to its billing. At the front of the hotel you are right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of over touristed, over priced Capri - where you sit on the terrace and sip a pre-dinner prosecco and people watch to your heart's content. At the back is an oasis of luxuriant calm - a wonderful garden and excellently attended pool.

We took a garden view room and had breakfast around the table on the balcony which was lovely. The dining room closes for breakfast at 10 sharp each morning - even weekends - which we found very frustrating especially as virtually every guest in the hotel pitches up at about 9.45 leading to a massive rush for the buffet.

Rooms are functional rather than oppulent but ours was very comfortable and spacious.

Dinner was the best meal we had on the island - outstanding

People elsewhere have commented on the outrageous price of transfers organised by the hotel - they are right - but people who stay here just don't care - they are more than happy just to be cossetted. Almost anything arranged through the concierge is likely to cost you more than sorting it for yourself.

Great break - although unsure if I would return to Capri - its just a bit too self-obsessed for me

  • Liked — Style and sophistication
  • Disliked — Breakfast timings _ I was supposed to be on holiday
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Room was nice with a small balcony and view of the pool. Good location.

Room was clean, functional, quiet, decent bed, and nice view. Two minor drawbacks ... As in many hotel rooms, hard for the two of us to eat room service because of lack of suitable table/chairs to move around. For breakfast she ate at the desk and I hunched over a low coffee table (yech). Shower was also very small although adequate. Had lots of optional jets to help rinse. Was OK for me at 5'11" and 175 pounds but a much larger person might have trouble. Bathroom otherwise was nice.

Food at the main restaurant is a bit fussy but good. Breakfast buffet was also nice (also easier than in-room dining). Mostly ate meals at the many excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palnackie
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

This is a splendid example of wonderful Italian service. Capri is normally very crowded with day trippers in season. Walking through the door to the Quisi feels like entering a private and privileged world. Hugely professional at every level. Room a bit small but extremely comfortable with great terrace and views to the Faraglioni. Pool set-up also very polished and poolside restaurant has to be the best lunch spot on the island. Our third visit to Capri in 25 years. We promised ourselves we would stay here this time and we were very glad that we did

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Quisisana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Quisisana

Address: Via Camerelle 2, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Capri
#17 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#21 Family Hotel in Capri
#22 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Quisisana 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5-story Resort Hotel surrounded by private gardens with open views of sea, just a few steps from piazza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Quisisana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Quisisana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.