We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Luna to your Saves list
Hotel Luna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Matteotti, 3, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed in this lovely hotel for 2 nights with a tour. We were upgraded from another hotel and we were thrilled. We were given a room with panoramic water views and a huge balcony.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and everything about the hotel was impressive, including the pool, fabulous gardens (the hotel is tucked nicely out of the way of the tourist traffic), the room (very luxurious as was the bathroom).
Its nice to spend a couple of nights on Capri and get to see the quiet side of the island once the daytrippers have gone. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, La Direzione at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Welcome to Capri, we are very grateful for your review. We hope that, as next happy goal, there will still be our island and our hotel, where you can enjoy peace and privacy. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    63
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
151
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Luna on a friends recommendation. He told me it was not cheap but said we have to go and stay, we have and are glad we did. We had a room overlooking the water, spectacular view from the balcony. The room is a reasonable size and is very quiet with a excellent sized bathroom with fabulous shower, the best we have encountered this trip, so far.
The pool area is excellent and the service by the staff can not be faulted. If we return to Capri we would stay here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Get a room with the sea view and balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, La Direzione at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are pleased that you included also the Hotel Luna between your reviews, thank you. . We wait for you again, if you'll come back to Capri, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I realise that the whole of Capri comes at quite a price but I felt that this hotel could go a little further to justify the rather large bill that it came with.

The location is exceptional, in the middle of Capri but set within large gardens ensuring total privacy and with stunning views out over the sea and Il Faraglioni rocks / super yacht parking area!

I felt two things detracted slightly from our stay and thus robbed the hotel of a fifth star. Firstly, our room smelled of smoke which could have been my fault for not requesting a non smoking room but given the option I always make that request so I don't believe I had that option. Secondly I found the lack of any a la carte options at breakfast a little surprising for a hotel of this standard. In the grand scheme of things the above is really just nit picking but at the price point this hotel exists in you come to expect perfection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, La Direzione at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
It is really important for our Hotel to receive a review by a sensitive and attentive traveler like you.
About the smell of smoke, you give us the opportunity to clarify that smoking is prohibited in all indoor spaces, so even in the rooms. Unfortunately, it happened that someone has violated the rule, we'll take more care. Friendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Luna is one of the best hotels on Capri, especially because of the view! The hotel has a beautiful garden and a big swimming pool. The staff at the concierge desk is very helpful and polite. There was a great variety of choices for breakfast. I enjoyed staying at this hotel. I would absolutely come back to Hotel Luna and recommend it to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
The suggestions by our Guests are the best advertising for Hotel Luna. Thank you very much, we are waiting for you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Thanks go to tripadvisor for suggesting this hotel. It is a very good place to stay with amazing views and nature. Rooms are good and room service is very good. Concierge service is very helpful and friendly giving good suggestions about local restaurants and beaches. Great swimming pool is also here. I am considering to stay here again sometime in autumn or spring.

Room Tip: Sea view room with a balcony is a must here to get the fullest satisfaction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your words that give us confirmation of the validity of Tripadvisor as information space. Our Personnel remembers with pleasure your family and looks forward to your return in the beautiful days of spring, when Capri is highly enjoyable for weather and peace. Yours sincerely. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed twice now at Hotel Luna and loved it each time. It's like an oasis in the middle of Capri which can get very busy during the day. We had a beautiful view of Il Faraglioni from our room - beautiful. The breakfast is delicious - try the cakes - honestly, even for breakfast. I found the staff always to be very nice and obliging. I would love to go back again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Madam, we will be happy to welcome you again. Thanks for the photo you posted and thanks for your kind words about the Hotel Luna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent the first 3 nights of our official honeymoon at Hotel Luna. We got off to a bit of a rocky start and weren't greeted as warmly as we had hoped. That said, by the end of our visit the staff had warmed up and redeemed the shaky welcome.
We loved the location - close to everything you'd want to see in Capri but at the end of a long walk so it felt more removed and peaceful.
We opted to eat dinner all three evenings at the hotel and it was relaxing, great service and very delicious food.
The pool is lovely during the day and is large enough to be entertained with some people watching :).
We opted for a courtyard room, which does not include the infamous view, but definitely was a great value.
We would absolutely recommend Hotel Luna to any of our friends visiting Capri!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We like to joke with the word Luna that evokes the planet that shines in the Capri's sky and in the sea in front of the Hotel, but also evokes the dream of the"Luna di miele", for which so many couples choose our Hotel. Wishes for a long and peaceful life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Address: Viale Matteotti, 3, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Capri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Capri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#5 Family Hotel in Capri
#5 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.