We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are not enough stars for Hotel Luna!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Luna to your Saves list
Hotel Luna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Matteotti, 3, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Capri
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“There are not enough stars for Hotel Luna!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

First stayed in Positano, Italy (amazing!) for a few nights, then moved to Capri -- where we had the absolute pleasure of staying at Hotel Luna. Capri is visited daily via ferry by tourists staying in other areas because it is such a beautiful place -- Tourist groups would pass Hotel Luna and stop to take photographs. The grounds are breath taking and the views from the hotel are phenomenal. There isn't enough time to describe my experience at Hotel Luna. The staff was extremely friendly, attentive, and helpful. The pool is gorgeous (I made best friends with the pool staff.. again, phenomenal people. If you're up for working out, enjoy the outdoor fitness area (minimum equipment, but you are in Capri!!) overlooking the sea, Faglioni Rocks, and outrageous yachts. The daily breakfast was delicious. Restaurants are located in walking distance.
The only negative to our stay was our room -- Not necessarily the nicest/largest room ever, but the only time we were in it was to get ready or sleep. The hotel/location/view make up for this minor setback.
One recommendation - Look into renting a private boat for a few hours to take you around the entire island to see the sights while you relax (without any strangers!). Best decision we made in Capri, totally worth the money, would love to do it again some time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Your advice to visit the island also by sea with a private boat is really important. Thanks for the good wishes of the infinite stars ... in meantime the stars shine in the Capri's night!
The photos that you have posted on Tripadvisor are beautiful, especially the Hotel Luna by night. Congratulations and friendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    63
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
150
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is certainly a special place on earth. It's not inexpensive, but the view, food, and service are well worth whatever you spend. This is a spot to spoil yourself.

My wife, Amy, and I were meeting friends at the Luna perfectly situated on Capri. When we arrived at the Luna, our friends surprised us when the staff brought out champagne and wonderful snacks onto one of the beautiful terraces. Everyone should have friends like ours.

The Luna is located in an absolutely beautiful area away from the busy center of Capri, but an easy, easy walk to the many restaurants and upscale shops that make Capri . . . Capri. You should ask for a "Sea View" room so that you can enjoy a breakfast, lunch, or dinner on your balcony overlooking the sea and Fraglioni Rocks. They will etch themselves into your memory forever.

If you want to tour the island and do it in "Capri Style", hire the little red convertible and driver. Places you may want to visit . . . Anacapri, the lighthouse, Blue Grotto, and the restaurant located under a grove of lemon trees. All are absolutely beautiful. Or, just tell the driver to show you things you need to see . . . he'll know where to take you.

If you want to pamper yourself . . . or someone else, you may want to consider Hotel Luna. The Luna and Capri are places to create lifetime memories. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a "Sea View" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest, your review is particularly welcome because we see that you have visited Italy very well, you've traveled a lot and a lot written about your travel; so we are glad to be one of the your favorite destinations. We really want to offer to our Guests an unforgettable memory. Thank you and many greetings to you and to Mrs. Amy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Hotel Luna in Capri. The Hotel is located in one of the most attractiv areas on this planet. Attention an service, locations, food was absolutely perferct.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much. We try to be adequate to provide hospitality in "one of the most attractive areas on this planet", it's a great responsibility!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife & I just got back from our honeymoon on Capri. The trip there was long, with multiple connecting flights, but arriving on Capri and especially at Luna made it all worth it. Our room (208) had the most AMAZING view, and each morning we ate our breakfast on our terrace. The staff was friendly, helpful, and did a very nice, very professional job. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on Capri!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Congratulations to the young and beautiful newly-married couple, long and happy life!
The breakfast in the morning is beloved by our guests, foretasting the pleasure of a day in Capri; thank you for sharing the photo of your breakfast on the terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old bridge,new jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Hotel Luna is a beautiful hotel that sits right on the mountain overlooking the beautiful blue sea with views of the Faglioni Rocks. They will come and pick up your luggage at Marina Grande for 12 euro each and bring it to the hotel for you... or like we did was take a taxi up, 20 euro and then walked down hill to the Hotel... They were very accomodating with getting us a private tour boat around the island of capri.. I emailed Relax Capri myself before I left and they wanted 140 euro for 2 1/2 hrs around the island,, and the blue grotto is separate,, but he waits for you,, takes you into every nook and craney.. The hotel booked the tour for us for 150 euro, me not knowing who, and when I saw who it was later on, i saw I had an email that said 140 euro from the same boat company..... Hotel Luna started at 200 euro for the tour and we chewed him down to the 150 euro... It was just business, I dont fault them for that... Just do your homework before you leave, know your prices.... Our room was beautiful, spacious, two bathrooms ,, girls with the bidet and the boys.. I loved that, was easy getting ready... all the wonderful ammenities one could ask for... Our terrace, was nice with table and chairs,, 2 lounge chairs,, but it was not private,, we had neighbors on each side of us and it was pretty close.... We did go to the beautiful pool area,, with a restaurant and bar for lunch... clean, clean and clean. comfortable lounge chairs and umbrella... Beautiful gardens along the pathway to the hotel.. Breakfast was served in our room, or in dining room, your basic continental breakfast. We werent much for breakfast, just cappucino...the staff were helpful, made reservations for dinner,, directions and basically set everything up,, limo upon leaving... They were all very nice,, no complaints...

Our only drawback,, and this is us,, this wouldnt be everyones drawback, is that they were away from most things, down the hill. Which meant if you wanted to go to the piazza or funnicular,or most of the restaurants,, you had to walk up hills,, and to us,, they were pretty steep.. but it was a trade off,, Beautiful views or location..... it is easier to go by location...I am sure there are Hotels that had both, but were very expensive...Hotel Luna was well priced for the hotel that they are... Even our tour boat guide commented how the views from Hotel Luna were amazing and better than most hotels.....
So we ate at the TA # 1 restaurant ,, a few feet past the hotel and then Edode, also not too far from the hotel... More likely than not, you will only be staying just a few days anyway...We went first week in May and during the day it is crowded with tourists,, in the evening,, very quiet...and calm..

Overall,, I would recommend this hotel to everyone, especially for the views and hospitality,,, but if you dont like walking up and down hills,, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: If you can ,,, take a view room, it was so worth it, especially sitting out before dinner, or having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Madam, the time and the care that you spent to review the Hotel Luna are very valuable gifts for our Staff, who read it carefully. Thanks, thanks, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Off the beaten path so you are away from the craziness of the daily cruise ship arrivals but still close enough to hop into town and enjoy the shops and restaurants. Love the food, views. Staff was very helpful. Would prefer an "outside" room next time, i.e. room with a view. Should have upgraded!

Room Tip: Rooms w/o a view very small and literally viewless. Friends had side view room and it was much bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you Madam, Capri awaits you, you will find many upgrades and we will make a CIN-CIN to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our family has been going to Hotel Luna for over 20 years. They treat all like family. Poolside dinning at lunch is incredible...the best food...the best views...the best service. The hotel is affordable.......you will love it

Room Tip: If you wish to save money...ask for pool view room....2nd floor...you can see pool cliffs and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Yes, we have a secret… it is the kindness of our Guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Address: Viale Matteotti, 3, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Capri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Capri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#5 Family Hotel in Capri
#5 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.