We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for two with the best view in Capri” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrazza Brunella

Terrazza Brunella
Via Tragara, 24, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
+39 081 837 0122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 110 Restaurants in Capri
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Guests are welcomed by Vincenzo and his wife Brunella, who, for decades, have been running this gem of a 4 star hotel. From the moment they enter the reception lobby, guests know they have chosen the perfect place in which to experience the timeless charm of Capri. The panoramic views of the Marina Piccola Bay, the piercing blue Mediterranean sky, the dramatic coastline dominated by Monte Solaro, pervade the hotel through immense floor-to-ceiling windows. The delicate colors of the interiors, adorned with exquisite hand painted ceramics, provide a stunning contrast with the intense colors of the sun drenched land and seascapes: the undisputed protagonists of any holiday at Villa Brunella.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dinner for two with the best view in Capri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

at a restaurant down one of the prettiest bougainvillea clad streets on the island. Where you can sit and admire the view of the town as the lights come on in the evening and see Anacapri become silhouetted against the night sky all the while listening to soft vibes. Yes, you could choose entrecôte or lobster but why would you when the menu takes advantage of all that the locale has to offer and is inventive. Why not try their home made black pasta cooked in salt water with clams and cauliflower for instance just one of their many specialities. There is a comprehensive wine list, too, which includes those from Capri and the Amalfi coast. The staff are absolutely professional - attentive without being intrusive, have a good sense of humour and do not press you to over order which makes for a comfortable, relaxed and very memorable evening. An optimum choice. Grazie mille tutti a Terrazza Brunella.
Note: It is advisable to book well in advance if you wish to be near the window.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    89
    33
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, caring service, nice atmosphere and a wonderful view. We had the eggplants starter, ravioli capresi, pasta and octopus as mains. Dessert: tiramisu and strawberry cake. Just delicious, and the portions are rich as well.
Highly reccomended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Snooty staff, wonderful food, fabulous view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stumbled across this place while wandering around Capri and decided it would make a lovely place for lunch as it had stunning sea views. The decor was all white and beautiful and although there was one free table with a sea view we were seated on another table with the view of a closed blind. When we asked for tap water with our 15 Euro lemon risottos (Capri is expensive!!) we were told that wasn't possible so we had to pay 4.50 for bottled water. After another couple arrived and were shown to the window table we were feeling a little peeved so as soon as another sea view table was vacated we asked the waiter if we could move and they begrudgingly aquiesced. The view was AMAZING. The risotto was wonderful too. The cover charge was 6 Euros. This was a restaurant attached to a hotel and we wondered if perhaps the sea view seats were just for residents. We were glad we went but we get the feeling we might have received better treatment if we looked 'richer'!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We booked a table for 2 for dinner at Terraza Brunella based on the reviews on tripadvisor and its #4 ranking of all restaurants in Capri.

What a disappoinment...

We were seated in the center of the dining room even though tables by the windows were free and supposedly booked. Nobody ever showed up for these tables, we could have been seated by the view.

The lobster and cod were both overcooked, what a pitty! and when the waiter asked how the dishes were, he didn't bother to listen to our answer and just went on "good,good!"

It took a second "try" to make a statement on the food, we were then offered Limoncello as an excuse... But every restaurant does it anyway. Then the waiter asked if we'd have coffee, 10 minutes after our main course (unfinished plates) was taken away ugh...We had to make a request for the dessert menu! Seems complaining on our dinner meant we were banned from dessert.

All in all, in regards to other establishements on Tripadvisor we've been to in Capri and Anacapri during our trip, this one is the only one we were so very disappointed with. The poor service and food are just not worth the stunning view :(

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa B, Proprietario at Terrazza Brunella, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Slevi,
We thank you for your review, of which we are very sorry but unfortunately we have only few tables by the windows on the first row and some times they are booked months in advance and we have to safe them even if they are little on delay. We would like also to apologize for the inconvenience of the overcooked lobster and cod fish and for that we will ask explanation to our Chef. We are at your disposal for any clarification and hope to have the pleasure of welcome again in our Restaurant to change your opinion.

Ruggiero Family
Villa Brunella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
“Memorable evening - great food, magnificent view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by people who live on Capri, and it was wonderful. The service was impeccable, the view of Piccola Marina was amazing, and the food was wonderful. We had a most memorable evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrazza Brunella also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Terrazza Brunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrazza Brunella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.