We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Certosella

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Certosella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Certosella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tragara N_13, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 42 hotels in Capri
Moscow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

First of all, the hotel in which you can have steaming scrambled eggs and hot tea for breakfast served in your room - IS priceless. After this I can certify every praise from previous reviews - terrace, wi-fi, jacuzzi bath, very effective aircon (for heating too), the hostess... everything.
The location looks quiet but not impossible to find (big deal for Capri).
There is a supermarket within walking distance (via Matremania, 1) and the way back with your shopping is down, not up :)
If Capri is your idea of a vacation - the hotel will work perfctly even in off-season.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are quite spacious even on american standarts, and with private balcony at the southern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Madame,

thanks very much for your detailed description of our hotel and our services. You have helped to give useful information about our organization. I hope to see you soon in Capri. It's been a pleasure to meet and satisfy a traveler just like you!

Bon voyage!

Chiara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Center, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 10 days at La Certosella in early September 2012 and we loved it. The rooms are spacious and bright, bathrooms have shower and tub and are nicely appointed, balcony overlooking the garden was delightful, wi-fi is free and available, breakfast is included and served on the terrace on sunny days, the desk and dining room staff are friendly and ever so helpful. At the same time the hotel is informal, we were perfectly comfy without dragging along the so-fancy garb that so many Capri hotels seem to require. We also much appreciated the tranquil, garden-setting on Via Tragara a few steps away from the usually bustling piazetta. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Sirs,

thank you for your opinion. We are glad to read about your satisfaction: it is our first priority. We remember very well you, we hope that your italian lessons are going well, but you are already two specialists!

Hoping to see you soon again in our hotel, we send you our kindest regards and we wish you a wonderful falling-winter season!

Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Really, really wonderful hotel! Huge, stylish and spotless rooms with enormous balcony, and the exceptional and welcoming staff. Chiara, the owner, is so warm and effective! And speaks excellent English, which is important.

The hotel is not in the very center of the town, so you'd better take taxi from the harbor: it's not easy to find for the first time. But after that the location is perfect: very quiet and beautiful, no rush here.
They don't serve dinner in off-season, and the breakfast is modest, but is enough to start a day. You will get hungry after 11 a.m., and that's for the better: you must take lunch really early in Capri in winter, because after 1 p.m. everything will be closed until 8 p.m. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your opinion! We are glad to read about your satisfaction.

This summer our target was improve our breakfast service: if you will come back, you will have a proof about it!

In February, it is true, most restaurants and shops are closed. But you will find some friendly restaurants still open, can make a lot of walks, and can find the real atmosphere of our island!

Sincerely

Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great service and location. Very helpful suggestions and recommendations for food, visits, beaches

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Mr. Jacobo,

thank you for your opinion! We try to help all our guests to choose the best about Capri.

Hopin' to see you soon again in Capri, we send you our best regards!

Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed herein June with my wife and friends. The rooms are clean and well appointed, fast free wifi, nice balconies with views and a good bathroom. The best thing is the fresh juice at breakfast, and the hotel is a short walk to the most wonderful shopping the the magical piazza.
Great value.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your great opinion! We are glad to have Guests like you!

The orange juice is fresh every day, from fresh oranges and from fresh waiter!

Thank you, see you soon!

Best regards

Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have enjoyed staying at this very friendly family style hotel over 20 years. The hotel is simple but very clean and the rooms are a good size. Breakfast is served on the beautiful terrace with Oranges and peaches picked from the garden......by the lovely Roberto.
I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new block with stunning sea views and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Ms Kathy,

thank you for your opinion, we are glad to have you as our Guest every year!

Have an happy winter!

Kindest regards

Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in Capri in early May. The room was a good size and attractively decorated with a good view of the sea. The location was perfect being a short distance from the busy town but in a quiet location. Breakfast was simple but more than adequate. The weather was warm and the pool was a welcome means to cool down at the end of active days full of great walks and sightseeing. Our experience was so enhanced by the friendliness of the staff who couldn't have been more helpful in planning our days. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floor for the best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Mr Graham,

thank you for your opinion. Capri is a beautiful island with a lot of long walks, and each Guest that comes back to his hotel, wants to be relaxed. And we try to give him all he needs to have a good relax: pool, garden, quiet rooms.
We are glad for your positive opinion about "La Certosella", and we hope to see you again, soon!

Best regards

Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Certosella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Certosella

Address: Via Tragara N_13, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 hotels in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Certosella 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel La Certosella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Certosella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.