We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the walk...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Reginella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Reginella to your Saves list
Hotel La Reginella
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Matermania, 36, 80100 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 35 Capri B&B and Inns
Chelsea, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the walk...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

but have your luggage transported to the hotel after the funicular if you are not in shape. It is a long walk with steep grade. But lots to see along the way, and once you're there you don't mind...the view is beautiful. Rooms are adequate, and clean. Staff are great! The breakfast is typical, good and sustaining. I would return.

Room Tip: Shower is a squeeze for 200 lb man.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you accept the fact that you have to carry your suitcases for about 15 minutes under the sun (if you're lucky a guy from the hotel will help you in the process), the rest is perfect. The rooms are clean, empty. They have tv and most of all air conditioning. The narrow street that leads to the "Piazzetta" is really nice, full of flowers and pleasing. The best thing however is the view from the terrace where there are the tables for breakfast: you can see the sea and the big blossoming flowers of the bouganvilles. Just a paradise. Definitely a great balance between prize and place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I can't imagine a better price for Capri, or a better place for the price anywhere. It was quiet, private and absolutely gorgeous. The view from my terrace down over Marina Piccola was lovely, with shade from a big pine tree (be careful not to sit in any pine sap, though!) The room itself was very nice, everything worked and breakfast was very good. Service was cordial and friendly, with everything I needed provided. It isn't easy to get to, but it's worth the effort.

I paid $4 Euros at the ferry landing to have my bag delivered to the hotel, only to learn that got it to the upper piazzetta and it was $5 more to get it to the hotel itself! But it was well worth it. I rather foolishly chose to walk all the way up instead of waiting for the funicular or taking a taxi, and paid for it in sweat, although even for a pushing-60 chubby lady it wasn't too difficult. And the reward of arriving at La Reginella was worth it - even got a bottle of fizzy water on the house to make up for the effort. I enjoyed the afternoon on the terrace with a Campari soda from the minibar, then another fairly strenuous walk around to see the Faraglioni and then up to Matermania. I saw recommendations to go the other direction and go down the huge (600+?) staircase there, but I went up and worked up another sweat. After a shower, I walked just around the corner to Da Tonino, recommended by Alessandro at La Reginella. It was good but not great, but overall this visit to Capri was wonderful, just too short. I recommend La Reginella highly and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room 23 has a lovely terrace with a sea view to Marina Piccola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

the hotel is very well located, not very noisy place which gives you opportunity to enjoy Capri relax. the staff is very friendly and always eager to help. the room was clean and very cozy, we enjoyed every day of our honey moon there, especially during breakfast with picturesque sea view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel features lovely viewed over the Capri southern bay, with nice clean rooms, wholesome breakfast and friendly staff. Definitely worth a visit if you seek a more local experience as well as quietness away from the main town areas.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This lovely Caprese family villa is evocative of a civilised past - an artistic (musical) Italian gentleman's home in the first half of the 20th century. Our room and its terrace were both beautiful, with a stunning view looking out over the Marina Grande towards Naples and Vesuvius (both lost in a haze of pollution).

But, if your walking is in any way limited, don't stay here. Even in October it was a long hard slog uphill in the heat from the piazza at the top of the funiculare (going down was an entirely different matter).

What was not apparent from looking at google maps was that this whole area, and a lot of the rest of Capri, is entirely pedestrian. The locals clearly regard this as normal, and no doubt they have cardiac muscles to prove it. However, the proprietor assures us that there are porters in the square who will transport your bags at 5 euros a piece (leaving you to walk), whatever the size - thereby neatly cancelling out your careful Ryanair 10 kg packing.

On the other hand we have seen old crumblies like us being transported around the area in electric buggies ... next time! and this is a very civilised place and the owner is charming, though I doubt both claims on the website that "this is an easy walk from the piazza" and that it it is superb value. The management, still from the family, has recently changed.

The walk, if you are up to it, is lovely, and the location and views absolutely gorgeous. The hotel is attractive, and a short (!) walk from one of the spectacular natural wonders of Capri (the Arco Naturale).

NOT close to many restaurants, but Lo Sfizio up the lane on the right (uphill) from the Matrimarina junction, is a very good ristorante/pizzeria.

Mosquitoes? Oh yes, this is a hot Mediterranean island lush with vegetation ... This is what makes it so attractive. Anyone who travels without insect repellent will get what they deserve!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

On a walk to the "Arco Naturale" we (Capri day trippers) passed this pension and stopped here to enjoy a Cappuccino on the terrace. The view over the ocean and the surrounding mountains is just wonderful. It's quiet and relaxing because it is far away from the touristic trouble spots and surrounded by a lot of green - yet it is easy to reach from Capri center by just a few minutes walk (even with luggage). We would definetely choose this spot for a relaxing and affordable vacation on the island!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Reginella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Reginella

Address: Via Matermania, 36, 80100 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Reginella 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Reginella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Reginella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.