We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante al Grottino

Ristorante al Grottino
Longano 27, Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
081-8370584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 110 Restaurants in Capri
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We always make sure we visit Grottino's each year and have the house special; pasta with Astice (small lobster) and some shellfish - it is extremely tasty> The restaurant itself is in the old quarter. A small whitewashed interior always full of people (couples, groups, families). When you pass by in the day just pop your head in and get a table booked (advised) and enjoy a real taste of Italy

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    72
    23
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Delicious and Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This restaurant never disappoints!! The food is delicious and the atmosphere charming. Gianfranco, the owner, will welcome you with warmth and attentiveness. He will see to it that everything about your dining experience will be perfect. The chicken, sautéed spinach, and fragolini (wild strawberries) were outstanding. We vacation on Capri for 2 weeks every year (for over 30 years now) and always dine at Grottino's for a couple of nights on our trip. The restaurant is reasonably priced. Food is consistently excellent and the atmosphere is lovely. We highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
“A Restaurant Not to Be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I have been returning to Capri every June for almost 15 years. And every time we return, one of our first stops is Al Grottino. After receiving welcome back hugs from the owner, Gianfranco, we know we are truly home again! Everyone who is anyone on Capri makes Al Grottino one of their regular stops. The food, the atmosphere and the warm and friendly service always make us want to return to this restaurant time and time again. This year we had the good fortune of being able to spend three weeks on Capri. And in that time, we had dinner at Al Grottino on four nights. And it did not disappoint. Our recommendation – get the baked gnocchi to start and for seconds, get the veal Milanese. It simply doesn’t get any better. We have already booked our hotel for next June and look forward to once again seeing Gianfranco and eating at Al Grottino. If you are lucky enough to be on Capri between now and the end of October, give Al Grottino a try. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Never miss it when we visit Capri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The food is good but the service, warmth and friendliness by the owner GianFranco and staff is worth its weight in pasta and fish (which by the way is their specialty). Give 'em a try. You'll go back each time you revisit Capri.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not the best, but good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The food was less then we expected, but it was ok. At least it´s a choice to get out of the turist traps in Capri...

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante al Grottino also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Ristorante al Grottino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante al Grottino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.