We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Paolino Lemontrees

Da Paolino Lemontrees
Palazzo a Mare Street, 11, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
+39 340 4000304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 113 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $89 - $179
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dinner in a magnificent and quiet lemon garden. Selection of local products Buffet of seafood. Meats and fishes grilled Selection of meat, aged in a fridge with Himalaya-pink salt Home-made cakes, wild berries and ice-cream buffet Reservation required In Summer open only for dinner from 7pm till 00.45
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Read the reviews on tripadvisor in order to select this restaurant. Was not disappointed. Just a beautiful setting in an orchard garden of lemon trees overhead transformed into a stunning dining area. Food was outstanding, deserts were devilish in there seductiveness and the staff were attentive. A good wine list to choose from, a great experience and a really nice night out.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    173
    77
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
“One-of-a-kind dinner under the lemon trees.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Enjoyed a most romantic, one-of-a-kind, anniversary dinner at Da Paolino. Magical! Thanks for a very memorable evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid the tourist traps and head towards Da Paolino on Capri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

When we arrived in Capri, we immediately scurried past all the tourist restaurants and souvenir shops and headed up the zig-zagged streets heading upward. We saw a sign for Da Paolino, but had no idea what it would be like. It was amazing.

The restaurant is in the middle of a Lemon Tree Grove and the trees provide a nice cool canopy for you to enjoy your meal under. The food was great, fresh and the dessert room was full of amazing small treats.

Once in a lifetime experience, do it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Living off past glories...?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This came with an excellent reputation but, sadly, we were a little underwhelmed (although not by the price of one of the dishes - more later). Billed as 'dining in a real lemon grove', you should be aware that the floor is concrete and the tables have numbered tags on or mounted on the wall behind them - the place is vast. As, to be fair, are the lemons hanging from every tree! Hard to explain but it almost felt like an upmarket chain, not helped by the fact that the waiters - who were efficient but seemed to lack the warmth we experienced at so many other establishments in Capri - all wore identical uniforms. The food was good but not exceptional and our sense of disappointment was compounded by shock when the bill arrived. My wife was not feeling particularly hungry and asked the waiter about the suitability of the scampi. He advised her that it was a simple dish of three scampi (langoustine) grilled with lemon juice and herbs. And, sure enough, three arrived in their shells, each of which contained a small amount of meat - perfect for a small appetite. Unfortunately, this was priced by the kilo, the vast majority of which was taken up by the spiny shells. So, the cost for this small, 'simple' dish? An eye-watering €91!! Of course, we have to accept our share of blame for not appreciating the potential cost in advance but, by any standards, this falls into the category of 'gouging' your guests. We left with an unpleasant taste in our mouths....

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing! Great setting but food just average and service not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were told to go here by someone we respect a lot (she's a food expert) so our expectations were pretty high. They were not met.

The setting is wonderful -- under a countless number of lemon trees. Really beautiful. However, none of the four of us (wife, husband, 2 daughters age 21 and 19) were impressed with our meals. They were perhaps the worst ones we had in our two week trip in Italy. And we felt a little "tricked" by the dessert buffet -- the waiter told us to check it out, and we were very impressed by the selection, but there were no prices anywhere so we kind of assumed it was included with dinner. Wrong! My daughter had some strawberries and we got a pretty hefty charge for her dessert as well as our others.

Maybe we hit them on a bad night, but overall we weren't impressed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Paolino Lemontrees also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Da Paolino Lemontrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Paolino Lemontrees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.