We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pretty hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prestige Sorrento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Prestige Sorrento to your Saves list
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Azzurro 23, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, pretty hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. It was very clean with a view across Sorrento although you are very high up and a bus ride away from the town.

The pool area is very clean and tidy but the water is icey cold, even though it was scorching weather! Food was magnificent and the breakfast covered all choices and appetites! Staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

We had a front balcony room ' romantic room' which has its own patio area with seating although it is not completely private as the walls are trellice so you can see your neighbours etc. The rooms were clean although quite dated decor in comparison to the rest of the hotel, but I suppose very Italian?

The only downside to this hotel is that you are far away from anything and had to rely on their shuttle buses which had to be pre booked so we sometimes found ourselves rushing dinner to get to the bus on time and were then back in our room quite early! Also, there are 2 recommended restaurants nearby, Panorama and Il Rifugio, which the bus goes to each night if you have booked. We tried both. Il Rifugio was beautiful with great food and wine and wonderful service. Panorama was the complete opposite - terrible food, terrible service and we waited so long for our food, we had to leave the desserts because the bus had arrived to collect us!

A nice hotel but I would not go back just because you are a bit isolated unless you fancy driving everywhere!

Room Tip: The romantic rooms are on the road side so if you want compete quiet, choose the garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    191
    31
    9
    1
See reviews for
156
607
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
middx
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days as a surprise treat from my family for a special birthday and it is a fantastic hotel.
The views from the hotel are spectacular and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff cannot do enough for you and they surprised me on the lovely rooftop terrace lounge bar with champagne, olives , bruschetta and a small cake with candle for my birthday.
The breakfasts were really good with a huge choice of cooked and cold food.It was a really lovely stay.
Beware though we left for the airport on the Sunday evening at 6pm .The plan was to have a meal in Naples before catching the 10 45 pm flight.We were caught in the most horrendous traffic jam and nearly missed our flight.It was only because we only had carry on luggage and literally ran through security that we caught it.Not the hotels fault though obviously.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeSorrento, General Manager at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Greetings from the beautiful Sorrento!

Thank you very much for sharing these lovely comments following the experiences during your recent stay at The Prestige.
The feedback of our valued guests is sincerely appreciated and your complete satisfaction with our property's accommodation and services is indeed an incredible motivating tool for the entire team. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Prestige in the near future, in order to exceed your expectations and provide you with more memorable moments to cherish!

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We booked this hotel after seeing so many good reviews on here and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. Any email I sent was responded to straight away and they helped with all the local advice and information. As they knew we were celebrating a few occasions they offered us an upgrade to the romantic rooms for a reduced price after they had a cancellation, so we took up the offer. These rooms had a terrace which lead to a private solarium for the guests with the same room type. This was nice but they are overlooking the road and car park which is the only down side, but have beautiful scenery in the background. Also pool access from the terrace would be nice. My brother was lucky enough to get the end room that had the view of the swimming pool and beautiful scenery, and he wasn't even the 60th birthday person or the honeymooner lol. The day we arrived the reception staff stated they were going to arrange for a bottle of champagne to be ready for us at the rooftop terrace at whatever time we requested for us to celebrate my mums birthday. This was a lovely gesture. We went up at 6pm and a trolley arrived with a bottle of champagne, 2 bowls of olives, a plate of bruschetta and a small cake for my mum. All of which was delicious, much appreciated and a nice surprise for my mum.

The breakfast was lovely, bacon, beans and scrambled egg with a good continental variety, and again nothing was too much trouble. This was served until 10.30am so plenty of chance for a lazy morning. They do not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner, however they do offer a menu with plenty of snacks and drink options that can be eaten in many of the available seating areas around the hotel, or in your room at no extra service charge. The rooftop terrace was a nice place to sit with nice furniture and great views. There is a telephone here to place your order and also one by the pool so you do not have to go far.

There are a few restaurants locally and they offer a shuttle bus to the Panoramic Restaurant which was nice and their home made red wine was lovely, especially at only 5 Euros a bottle.

We hired a car so we could come and go at our leisure, but the hotel offer a shuttle bus service to and from Sorrento town. This needs to be booked at reception. We visited Pompai and the Amalfi Coast during our trip, all of which was lovely. If you hire a car through Europcar you get free parking in the Vesuvio car park at the top of the hill, it's normally 2.50 Euros an hour. You have to show your car hire agreement in the office near the entrance of the car park to get a free ticket. I thought parking in Italy was expensive wherever we went.

The only issue we had about our trip was we got stuck in a 4 hour traffic jam on the way to Naples airport which nearly made us miss our flight. Luckily we had left the hotel in plenty of time as we were planning to have a nice meal to finish off a wonderful trip on the way. That didn't happen. I do not know if this is a normal traffic jam or if something had happened, but it was a nightmare!!

Stay at Hotel Prestige, you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum Island, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

What the picture doesn't convey is that the Hotel Prestige is right on the road and the road is very busy. We had a balcony room on the second floor and, despite the beautiful temperatures, could not leave our balcony doors open because of the road noise. We requested a move to one of the garden side rooms, but the hotel was full. We had made reservations for four nights and asked to be able to leave early and find a quieter location, but were unable to do that either. They do have a free shuttle to Sorrento, but it ran infrequently and you had to make reservations for both the trip to town and the trip home which left no room for spontaneity. We thought the location would make it quicker to get to the Amalfi Coast and Pompei but I don't think that was true. I would definitely advise staying closer to downtown Sorrento where you wouldn't feel so isolated.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a balcony room. There are other places to go to enjoy the view and you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My husband and I could sit in our balcony all day and still have the perfect vacation! We had the most spectacular view of all of Naples from our little sanctuary on the hill, with the mighty Vesuvius in the background! There were regular shuttle services to take us to town centre so we were not completely secluded either. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They also arranged for a fantastic tour of Capri on a private boat that we enjoyed very much!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeSorrento, Proprietario at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this review, November 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your memory about your sojourn with us on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate it.

It's a pleasure to know that you have appreciate our work, our beautiful views , our staff and also our ecursion to Capri!

We are waiting for you again as our Guest for your next holiday in Sorrento.

Best Greetings,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Hotel Prestige was amazing, from their shuttle service to and from the hotel to sorrento train station, local restaurants or excursions to Pompeii, Mt. Vesisus, Almafi coast, Postiano etc.

Breakfast and wifi were great, their rooftop patio with pools, hot tub, hidden secret garden style are very relaxing.

2 days at hotel prestige and enjoying their amenties wasn't enough. I'll definitely be returning to the area and this hotel with friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

Our stay in Sorrento was made a very happy and memorable one thanks to this hotel. We arrived at sunset to a wonderful reception from Maria. She explained the hotel services including their morning breakfast, included free shuttle services and the in room dining and drinks menu( lots of great options at very affordable prices) She offered us options for restaurants close by and booked our fantastic day cruise to Capri for us, she was brilliant with a sincere smile that could melt your heart! Our room was perfect. We had the deluxe room for 3 nights with one of the most breathtaking views I have ever experienced. You must pay a little extra for this room, the views and the wrap around balcony are worth it! The room was large, the bathroom was a good size with a rain shower and plenty of toiletries, they even had robes and slippers. The only negative was the hard mattress which must be the norm in Europe but it is one of my pet hates. I suggest getting padded foam mattress toppers, a simple solution for tired traveller bodies. Do not let the fact that the hotel is little out of Sorrento turn you off. It's spectacular views, pool and facilities, free shuttle bus into town, restaurants and train station mean they have everything covered. 
I highly recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in Sorrento or travelling the Amalfi Coast. I will most definitely stay here again if I ever get the chance to return to this magnificent part of the world.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Prestige Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prestige Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 23, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prestige Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Prestige has a breathtaking view of both the Gulf of Naples and Salerno. Its 25 rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and supremely comfortable. Situated just a few kilometres from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel is within easy reach of captivating beaches and important tourist attractions such as Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Prestige Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prestige Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.