We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food, wine list and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Antica Trattoria

L'Antica Trattoria
Via P.R. Giuliani, 33, Sorrento, Italy
081 8071082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 225 restaurants in Sorrento
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrific food, wine list and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Walked in without a reservation and we were found a nice table inside promptly.

We opted for one of the set tasting menus and were delighted with the quality of the food. A particular highlight was the lemon tagliolini which attempted a balancing act between sharp citrus and cream, succeeding fully. The pork loin was also cooked beautifully - it was succulent with just the slightest hint of pink.

The wine list was large and offered a good range of local wines and wines from the rest of Italy. The sommelier, when given an idea of our preferences, gave two consecutive good recommendations for local wines.

The service was superb. Prompt, smart, no overbearing faux friendliness but every waiter was more than happy to chat about Sorrento / the food / the wine on occasion.

Along with Il Buco, a favourite restaurant in Sorrento. A joy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    923
    235
    88
    65
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not as good as we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I tried this restaurant one evening, it did look very attractive. We had read the good reviews on trip advisor. We looked at the menu outside and had decided we were both going to have a pasta dish. At 10 euros each,this seemed very reasonable. Once we were seated and given a menu, we realised it was very different food from the menu outside. It was very expensive . We asked the waiter and was told that we had seen the lunch menu, but they did offer to do the same pasta dish off the lunch menu for 15 euros.

After we had ordered we saw a waiter quickly bringing the menu inside, so other diners wouldn't be fooled !!

We did like the lovely bread which was served free of charge before the meal. The pasta was a very small portion.

This would be perfect for a special or romantic meal but not for a quick evening meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth going back to Sorrento for...and we did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I visited Sorrento in August (a bit late I know!) having been to Sorrento 5 years ago. I was hoping and praying this restaurant was still here and that it would be as wonderful as our last visit. I wasn't disappointed. The food is exquisite on a par with top Michelin star London restaurants. The wine selection is also excellent. Our waiter Salvo was amazing. He is so friendly, funny and welcoming (as are all the staff) but he really goes the extra mile. He sprinkled petals on our table and even decorated my wine glass with a petal. We were treated to a couple of songs while dining from a fabulous opera singer and also a mandolin player. Our evening spent at the L'Antica Trattoria is an evening I will treasure and I look forward to re-visiting the restaurant as soon as possible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fancy meal...very romantic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We were really excited to try L'Antica Trattoria based on all the tripadvisor reviews and the recommendation provided in our Rick Steves travel book. Unfortunately we visited Sorrento in November so there weren't many tourists around and the restaurant was pretty empty when we dined. There were about 4 other tables with guests along with us. The courtyard of this restaurant is super cute and very quant but it was a very cold night so we sat inside. The inside of the restaurant is a bit stuffy and needs updating but we were still excited for the food. We did one 4 course tasting menu and an order of the spaghetti with beef (almost like a stew). For a starter we had the grilled shrimp which was fantastic and then the other courses of the meal were not so memorable (gnocchi and grilled fish). We did however, love the spagetti with the beef. It was really unique and very delicious. The dessert was also unique and enjoyable. If you want a romantic meal and it's warm enough to sit outside, I'd recommend this place but be prepared to be stuffed (each course is large) and pay a bit more than you would at some of the other restaurants in Sorrento. The servers were all very attentive and they offered a 10% discount if you had the Rick Steve's travelbook so make sure to bring it along to the restaurant. Enjoy!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best meal of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had purchased cameos from a shop in town, we asked the owner where he goes, he said when he takes his wife out this is the place!

This was by far the best meal of our 2 weeks in Italy, we ordered the zucchini blossom appetizer and pasta dishes... The best pasta and seafood in Italy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Antica Trattoria also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to L'Antica Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Antica Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.