We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place but changed our reservation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrento Flats

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sorrento Flats to your Saves list
Sorrento Flats
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corso Italia 176, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 93 Sorrento B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but changed our reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It didn't get off to a great start. I had confirmed our early arrival a few days ahead. Arrived, no elevator, so we hauled our suitcases up 3 big flights only to find out they had moved our reservation to their other location. We had specifically chosen Corso Italia as it's walking distance to the bus/train station. So we haul our luggage down and wait for someone from the other location. The location we wanted was now full. This change was because they wanted to upgrade us to a better room. But why not ask us first? To right the situation, Luigi paid for our taxi to the train station when it was time for us to leave. A very nice gesture.

We did like the room - very clean, white and magenta, good quality sheets and towels. It was a contemporary loft with bed and bath in the loft. I wasn't super excited to see more stairs. Plus the people who lived above the loft had noisy kids and they all got up at 6:00 a.m. Luigi apparently has spoken to them several times but it was very noisy. You could hear everything.

Lovely pastries in the morning. Liked the use of the Ipad in the common area. Other location is right in the historic district. You could still walk from the train station but it would be tough with luggage. Overall, I did find all the staff helpful and friendly. But I would have much preferred to have had the original reservation I made.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    47
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
288
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The modern spacious room was in a 4th floor walk-up ( 3rd floor if you are counting in Italian) on the Corso Italia, in the heart of Sorrento's main drag, a few minutes walk from the train station. There is a lot of noise from the street but you can insulate yourself for sleeping by using the air conditioner. The same company also operates another property on a quieter pedestrian-only street about 10 minutes walk away. When you make a reservation you don't know which building you will be assigned. Three rooms share a well equipped kitchen and sitting area, where an adequate breakfast is served and which you can use at other times if you clean up after yourself. A bit of a combination of B&B and apartment. We were tired of going to restaurants so bought some ravioli at the grocery across the street and ate in 2 nights. Luigi and Valentina, the managers, were vivacious, friendly, and helpful. Luigi helped us with the parking and carried our bags up those stairs. They have a parking arrangement at a nearby garage for Euro12/day. Luigi told us that they are negotiating with the building owner to install an elevator. The only drawback were those stairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked the Sorrento Flats for 3 nights based on the great reviews and on their location. Communication was very good prior to coming and service at check-in was very nice as well.
Rooms have a modern vibe (mix of New York Lofts and Ikea style), which was nice. Beds were comfortable as well.
We just felt reviews and price didn't reflect the reality. We were in the new place (location didn't disappoint) and you would only see someone at Breakfast. They didn't even give us soap one day. Sound Proof was weak; you could hear the locals next door yelling. Breakfast was probably the most basic and most boring I've ever seen in a trip. After 3 nights, we couldn't take it anymore.
We also asked for a taxi transfer prior to coming. It was confirmed there. The price " magically " increased by 30 euros the morning of our departure. Not very professional.
Basically, you pay hotel money for a B&B experience wit nobody on site. There was ants everywhere one day because they let the breakfast in the kitchen and it took hours to correct because nobody is there. B&B's are usually a lot different.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location of that hotel was spectacular and near almost everything the all coast has to offer. Plus the staff was lovely and kind. Great breakfest charming kitchen and really helpful in suggestion.

Room Tip: All room are good. Just be carefull lots of step going there. If not this B&B is flawless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We've traveled around Italy many, many times. We fell in love with Sorrento.
We stayed at a B&B named Sorrento Flats this time . The people who own & help run this place
are exceptional. Paola, Emanuela, Valentina & Luigi are some of the warmest friendliest people
we have ever met in Italia. The room was spotless & beautiful, right in the heart of the city.
You can walk to everything.
When we said our goodby's, we were leaving friends............Vito

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had the best time in Sorrento and staying at Sorrento Flats definitely made this stay wonderful. The staff are very friendly and was on hand to give recommendations and advice. This is extremely useful in a town like Sorrento, as there are many tourist trap places. The location was fantastic, everything was wonderful. Our rooms were spacious and clean and the breakfast in the morning was great. Thank you to Emanuela for all your help and advice. We loved staying here and we love Sorrento. Will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: We booked the Superior Triple room - split level, which was recently renovated. Best to check which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I would highly recommend Sorrento Flats which is a new style of holiday accommodation. We were made very welcome by Emanuela who provided us with lots of additional local information and recommendations for good places to eat etc.

It was very nicely set out with a breakfast room and kitchen that could be used by any of the guests. The room was very good, very comfortable and it is extremely well located in the old district of Sorrento. You could experience the atmosphere of Sorrento and have your room right there. Sorrento is a wonderful, genuine place to visit.

When we left we were very sad to leave a great location and good hospitality.

Room Tip: The duplex rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sorrento Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrento Flats

Address: Corso Italia 176, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sorrento Flats 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The simple and heartfelt hospitality, that will make you feel, not like customers, but old friends! Sorrento Flats is located in the heart of the city of Sorrento. The special location allows you to walk to all major attractions in the historical center of Sorrento and at the same time experience the true city life, made up of boutiques, restaurants and nightlife. The quiet streets of Sorrento are also filled with craft shops, markets with lemon products and inlaid wood items. You can watch the masters at work. Sorrento Flats is an ideal place to stay and enjoy the Sorrento Peninsula any time of year. We will welcome you heartily paying attention to every detail and suggesting you how to visit every corner of Peninsula, so that you can discover the most beautiful and unadulterated places of Sorrento We are the ideal point of departure for Capri, Ischia, Positano, Amalfi, Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Paestum and Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sorrento Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Flats Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrento Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.