We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing You Already” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Guardati to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Missing You Already”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Got back last Friday after a fantastic 7 night stay. What can i say about this place. Only 23 bedrooms so a real boutique feel. Our room (302) was very well proportioned, in fact, much bigger than I had expected. I can’t speak for every room but they all looked pretty good to me. The hotel is right in the heart of Sorrento but, if you’re worried about noise, don’t be. Once you close the windows, amazingly, you can’t hear a thing. The air con was fine and the fixtures & fittings in the rooms were spot on. The bed was really comfy too! The staff, particularly on reception, tend to keep themselves to themselves, which is fine although the guy that serves at breakfast was a real hoot! I was also very impressed with the guy who works on the roof terrace. He gave us some great restaurant tips.
The roof terrace has a small pool which appeared to be very cold although I didn’t go in myself but the public area was lovely. Great views, plenty of space a very clean. You can get a drink on the terrace in the evening which I would highly recommend. Breakfast was perfectly adequate & the coffee was lovely. Plenty to eat if you’re hungry with a good variety. We travelled with Simply Travel, a subsidiary of Thomson, & they deserve a mention too as we had a private taxi transfer to the hotel from Naples airport included in the price which was a real treat. Transfer takes about 1 ½ hours by road (the traffic is crazy any time of day) and a taxi would cost around 80 euro each way if you chose to pay. My only slight complaint is that I had to ring to find out what time our return taxi was picking us up. It would have been nice if they had contacted me first.
Sorrento is a great base to explore this wonderful part of Italy. There are loads of lovely bars & restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets. If you’ve never been you really should and the Hotel Palazzo Guardati would certainly get my vote as a great place to stay. I’ve been to Sorrento 3 times & will certainly be back and will definitely return to this hotel (providing they don’t get too popular & put their process up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you so much for your lovely review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please contact us directly, for your next stay in Sorrento, by mail at

info@hotelpalazzoguardati.it

we will include free wifi and a welcome drink up on our Bar Solarium if you will be direclty with us.
Your Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    84
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
170
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here again for the eighth time! Lovely comfortable hotel and we were made very welcome as always .Nice to see Vittorio the waiter at the hotel again stay sadly one of our party was admitted to hospital during our stay(nothing to do with the hotel) and we were treated with great sympathy and kindness, particularly by Vittorio who was very concerned. Lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, pleasant staff and superbly situated a short walk from Tasso Square. No complaints with the breakfast, or anything else for that matter. Lovely comfortable rooms, kept spotlessly clean by the very pleasant and polite cleaning staff. Nice roof garden with spectacular views of the gulf of Naples and a plunge pool for cooling off, also a bar. we have always loved tis hotel and hope to return again. Thanks Emanuela and staff, particularly Vittorio for your efforts on our behalf.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest
we thank you very much for your stay with us again, we are sorry for what happend to your friend, we hope for an healty improvement.
Please contact us directly, for your next stay in Sorrento, by mail at

info@hotelpalazzoguardati.it

we will include free wifi and a welcome drink up on our Bar Solarium if you will be direclty with us.
Your Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo Guardati for 7 nights with friends in September and used this a base to travel using cheap public transport ( buses ferries and trains)to all the surrounding sights such as Pompeii, Herculaneum, Ischia, Capri, Naples etc) Once we found the hotel down a pedestrian side street, the hotel service was above average. The roof top terrace/pool was a very welcome retreat after a busy day in the sun.The pool is more of a large plunge pool than a swimming pool but the views from the terrace are superb. Antonio serving the terrace area was very friendly , helpful and a good source of local Sorrento knowledge.
Breakfast was fairly basic fare but more than sufficient, the waiter in the basement dinning room was very attentive and we never needed to ask or wait for coffee and tea refills.
We stayed in room 203 and although there is no view from the window, the room and bathroom very clean and the king size bed so comfortable.
This is a hotel is in a superb location for those who use it a a base rather than a hotel to spend time in during daylight and evening time. Its right in the middle of Sorrento ,close to many restaurants and 1 min from the narrow shopping streets that Sorrento is famous for. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for its good value and location in a stunning holiday destination

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mr Clive
thank you so much for your nice words, we appreciate your review and we remain at your full disposal for any further requests.
Your Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Positives:
> Clean hotel
> Big bathroom (double shower, no bath)
> Big balcony with a lovely view
> Location could not be beaten. Metres from the main square, less than a 10min walk to the bus station and beach.
> Roof terrace was nice, quiet with piped radio. The guy serving drinks and snacks was very friendly.

Negatives:
> The breakfast was in the basement - who wants to eat their breakfast in a basement when on summer holiday in Italy!
> The breakfast was only okay
- There was a number of cakes but they were very dry
- The hot breakfast was scrambled eggs, bacon and rashers - but they were not always hot
- Pastries were not fresh
> The wifi only works in the lobby. In a new hotel the wifi should work everywhere.
> The pool is not a pool. Which I knew in advance and didn't bother me. But do not expect to be able to swim, the pool's purpose is to cool down.

My tip for this hotel is don't book B&B. Book room only and enjoy breakfast out (which we did a couple of mornings).

You are not going to be spoiled in this hotel, but I don't think it could be beaten for a clean, new hotel in the fantastic location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your words but we are sorry about you satisfation of the brakfast. We provide every day for fresh pastries and fresh cakes hand made in our kitchen. Please give us another chance for your next stay in Sorrento and we will look after you better.
Best regards.

Emanuela Cuomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo Guardati for 4 nights and were very happy with the hotel. We caught the bus from Naples airport which cost 10 euros and the hotel was approximately 5 minutes walk from the bus station. We got a little bit lost but eventually found it!
Check in was very smooth and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful.
Our room was a little dark and there was no view out of the window. Having said that it meant that the room did not get too hot and we did not need the air con on at all.
Bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom was clean with plenty of toiletries provided.
Breakfast was served downstairs in the basement and was ok. Mainly cakes and bread but there was enough to fill you up till lunchtime.
The most outstanding thing about this hotel is the roof top bar and pool. Antonio is a true asset to this hotel as he speaks very good English and is very knowledgeable on the local area. He also serves a mean G & T! All drinks came with two bowls of nuts/cheesy biscuits. No money is needed as all purchases go onto your room tab and you pay on check out.
The view from the rooftop is amazing and the pool is not huge but adequate for cooling off. When we were there it was never busy so we had our choice of sunbeds. Towels are provided for you by Antonio.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as the location was perfect, just 1 minute to Tasso Square. We attended a wedding at the San Franciso Cloisters and that was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The reception at The Foreigners Club was even closer so we could easily walk back to the hotel.
All in all a lovely hotel and the staff were very friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value in a perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

On booking this hotel we opted for a superior room, on arrival we were given room 107 it is right over front door, very noisey and dark and definitley not a superior room with a curtain for a wardrobe. after complaining for two days we were moved to room 203 this was quieter at the back of hotel,no balconey as promised in brocheure . Location of hotel is great, breakfast ok staff good

Room Tip: On booking ask for room on top level at rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
we thank you so much for your review, regarding the room 107 is a superior room that got a view on the front and as you reported to reception immediately we provide to change you a room.
We look forward to welcome you one again to our hotel.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and lived the place,right in the heartbeat of Sorrento but the pool on the roof was the perfect escape when needed.breakfast was typical Italian hotel standard without being exceptional..definitely recommend this place..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest
we thank you so much for a such wonderful review and we please you to contact us directly ( info@hotelpalazzoguardati.it ) for your next stay with us for our best deal.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Guardati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.