We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Sorrento” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southern California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I couldn't wait to write a review of this lovely hotel! The location is great, just off the main square. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay perfect! Special thanks to Maria at the front desk who was able to hire us a car when we were stranded 30 minutes away because the light rail had broken down. The breakfast is fantastic, the room was clean with a balcony with an ocean view! Overall just a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are happy to hear that you had a good time during your stay. We are glad that you appreciated the hotel's central position and the delicious and rich breakfast buffet.

Thank you for having also underlined our staff's contribution in making your stay perfect. Service is one of the most highlighted feature on TA - staff will do everything to make your stay memorable.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    199
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
150
491
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last year with my husband, loved it so much booked a girlie break for a friends special birthday. Just as lovely as last year, staff very helpful, a little cramped for 3 adults in a room, but the location, views, pool was just fab. No hesitation in recommending this hotel. Breakfast great, lots to chose from. On our last night reception offered a take away breakfast for our early check out, and coffee was available in the bar area before we left. Airport transfer was also arranged by the hotel as we were 5 girls travelling with big cases a mini bus was organised and the driver stopped off at the beauty spots for us to take photos, he also bought us a lemonade for us which was so kind! The trip was just perfect. So near all the restaurants and bars and shops. Spent a day on the beach, had lunch at one of the restaurants which was expensive but not brilliant. Would recommend The Garden Restaurant as the food was fantastic, 5 min walk away, also a wine bar and shop, very handy for a bottle or 2. Little shop opposite the hotel sells fruit & veg has a deli and sells all sorts of drinks to.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms 504 and 505, both had balconies which was lovely to sit out and people watch, put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guests, we are so very pleased that you enjoyed your girlie break in Sorrento and that you have no hesitation in recommending our hotel to others.
We are also very pleased to read that you found the transfer service arranged by our concierge very good and professional.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My friend and I stayed in this boutique style hotel for 3 nights. The room, although not large, was well equipped and very clean. It was on the 4th floor and had a balcony overlooking the main street but wasn't noisy. The hotel is in an excellent location, 5 minutes walk from the train station/bus stop, just off the main square and 10 minutes walk from the Marina. The beds are really comfortable and the air conditioning was very good. Breakfast is just amazing, with a huge choice of cereals, bacon, sausage, eggs and the most delicious pastries, cakes and pannacottas. There is a juicer with fresh fruit and veg for those who want to make their own. As well as this, there is a choice of fruit juices and prosecco. It really is the best breakfast I have ever experienced. There is a rood top bar serving drinks and snacks, with sun loungers and a small plunge pool. Pool towels are provided. Drinks and food in the hotel are reasonably priced. All the staff we dealt with were efficient, knowledgeable and very friendly. I can't speak highly enough about this hotel and would highly recommend it if you are visiting Sorrento. If I go back there, this will be my hotel of choice,

Room Tip: Room 404 has a balcony overlooking the Main Street but not noisy. Gets the morning sun but in shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear valued guests, thank you for such a lovely review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our service. Besides the ideal location, we are glad to read that you found the beds comfortable and the modern AC system very efficient. It is also very nice to know that our amazing buffet breakfast was the best breakfast you ever had.
Knowing that on a future visit the Plaza Hotel would be your first choice in Sorrento is the greatest compliment we could get.
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I hate to be the one to leave a negative comment about this hotel but this is a staffing management issue and should be addressed. We stayed at the Plaza recently for a week and overall the stay was satisfactory and the majority of staff were as previously stated, friendly and helpful. However on day two we were subjected to a twenty minute argument between a female and male waiter which was heated and angry, especially on the part of the blonde female staff member who during the incident flailed her arms about almost hitting another guest who had to duck to avoid her. After complaining to the desk we were then confronted by the staff we had complained about! The incident left us feeling intimidated and threatened and for several days afterwards we received poisonous looks whenever the female staff member was on duty. There was clearly no manager present at the time to deal with the unruly staff and curtail the argument before it got out of hand. We did complain at the time and were subsequently offered a complementary drink but the management should take note that they need to have a person in charge during breakfast. Always happy to chat with anyone about it.

Room Tip: Avoid ROOM 112 - only window faces a wall and is always dark. Balconies do not face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are pleased that overall you found your stay at the Plaza satisfactory. As regards your negative note, we are working towards perfection so any comment that can help us in that direction is always welcome!
Honestly I was very surprised to read of a 20 minute angry, heated argument which took place one morning in the middle of the restaurant between two waiters. The excellent reputation of our breakfast staff is now well established and no other guest has ever reported anything similar before.
I personally investigated the matter and it came out that the two staff members were merely discussing a work issue which demanded urgent attention. After all, the Italian way of gesturing is well known even though we realize it may at times result over emphatic or worse being misinterpreted. However the chief waiter personally apologized for any disturbance caused and I was also very pleased to offer you and your wife a complimentary drink that very day.
We assumed that the issue was closed and clarified but evidently it was not for you and we are sorry that you let this isolated incident influence your assessment of our hotel so much.
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Hotel was spotless the staff were always very helpful, Maria was a great help with bookings.
The breakfast was fantastic. Even a bit of bubbly if you wanted . It had the Healthy as well as the sweet taste in mind. The roof top bar had an excellent view. Could not fault the hotel all all. Great location for exploring.

Room Tip: Really great breakfast even for the healthy or the sweet taste in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We decided on this hotel based on the reviews by previous hotel guests and yes, it lived up to all the positive comments already said. The staff were very friendly with a 'can do' attitude that was refreshing - this went a long way to make our stay and overall experience very enjoyable. The location was perfect - right in the centre yet quietly set aside and only a few meters walk to Tasso Square, shops, bars and restaurants. Our room (superior) was very comfortable, tastefully appointed with all modern facilities. All other facilities throughout the hotel were equally of a high standard. A great base to explore Sorrento and the Amalfi coast.

Room Tip: A superior room comes with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear valued guest,
thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very pleased that you found our hotel to be living up to all the positive comments on TA. Besides the very central location and the high standard of our facilities, it is nice that you remarked the pleasant attitude of our staff. Our guests are very important to us and it is nice when, as in your case, they perceive that.
Looking forward to your next visit, we send our kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks holiday in Sorrento. Hotel Plaza was just lovely we were on 5th floor on the side with a balcony. The room was very clean and all the staff in the hotel were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is just a short walk away from the main square. We would definitely make a return visit.
Thank you for making our visit so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear guest,
we are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Plaza and that you decided to share your experience with other million travellers. Thank you for remarking how clean the room was and the friendly attitude of our staff always ready to help.
We really look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuorimura 3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.