We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Off season the big cliff side hotels close so this was one of the few options. It turned out to be an amazing hotel, very comfortable and modern, clean and quiet. I have never seen a breakfast spread like this. Very close to the train station and to the heart of the best part of Sorrento. Highly recommended, and check out the view from the rooftop bar and pool!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    199
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
150
491
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed there in November for 3 days.
Great hotel , very modern & clean.
Very nice staff ( Reception , breakfast , cleaners ).
Location is great , close to the center of action.
Breakfast is a 5 star not 4 .
We will defiantly stay there again next time we're in Sorrento.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for your lovely review in which you call the Plaza a great hotel.
We are very pleased that you also remarked the quality of our customer care without which even the greatest facilities would lose their appeal.
We look forward to your next visit!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! it's clean, modern and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It's location
is just a few metres from the main square of Sorrento, where there are many places to choose from to eat and drink. We thought that the location would mean lots of noise, but it was very quiet, and relaxing. The roof terrace had spectacular views across the town and out over the bay of Naples. There was a small pool,which was immaculately clean, and the option of having drinks served on the terrace. The bus station and railway station are 10 minutes walk away, and the marina to take the ferry to Capri just a short bus journey away,or, for the more able, you can walk down the several flights of steps to the harbour.The hotel has been recently refurbished.There is disabled access, and 2 lifts to take you to all floors. Breakfast was an excellent selection- Juice,cereal, fresh fruit salad,ham cheeses, yoghurt, cakes pastries(absolutely yummy!) egg, bacon, beans, sausage, and for the health conscious, a facility for making your own smoothie. A choice of any sort of an array of teas or coffees, and sparkling wine.Free Wi-Fi and friendly staff who gave all sorts of info of where to go, and best way to get there,timetables etc. We didn't need to use the holiday rep at all.Some nights there was a pianist, and there was a selection of books to swap/borrow. Considering it was October, the weather was really warm all week, which made for a really fabulous holiday. We have been to Sorrento a couple of times before, but this hotel was really good value,and we would definitely return. We were really impressed.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room, which we were given towards rear of hotel. Outlook not great,because of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear guest, we are so pleased to read that you found the Plaza to be fabulous! Thank you for such a positive and detailed review. Rarely if ever the words quiet and central go together but you have noticed how the Plaza makes such a wonderful exception. Moreover, the possibility to enjoy a great view of the Sorrento bay with Vesuvius in the background from our rooftop is a real plus, we agree. We were also very glad to know that you used our swap/borrow selection of international books at the Plaza Cafè.
We hope to see you soon again in the near future!
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Staying at the Plaza was certainly one of the highlights of our recent trip to Italy, Not only is it centrally located (within Sorrento) but the accommodations and service were superb (and reasonably priced, too) The breakfast was great, the rooms were clean and the service (throughout) was over the top. Oh, and there's a roof top pool and bar with incredible views to boot! We'll definitely be staying here again, when we return!

Room Tip: If available, request a fifth floor with a balcony. The views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at Hotel Plaza in Sorrento during our whirlwind one day trip to the Amalfi Coast, and through another booking website found this hotel. To be honest we were a little concerned because of the price (we've been scarred by hotels which look decent on their official photos), but we needn't have feared - Hotel Plaza is a fine establishment near the centre of Sorrento, and was worth every Euro we paid (which wasn't a lot).

The hotel is right up the street from the Piazza del Tasso, and is a short 5 minute walk from the Circumvesuviana Train Station (though if you're map-challenged like me, head left from the station - you should pass by the supermarket and a few name brand stores; if you see the petrol kiosk, you're heading the wrong way). The hotel itself is clean, modern and has many amenities which the modern connected traveller will want. The bed was comfortable, there was decent space and the bar below showed the Champions League match I wanted to watch (with a very friendly barkeep whose name I didn't catch) - all in all, a good stay and a comfortable time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights and really liked it. It was clean and quiet, with good beds, enough towels, and a strong shower. There were pleasant helpful staff. Lots of breakfast choices. Great location and free wifi.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is superb, if you want to have a lovely time in Sorrento it should be high on your list, if not top. Clean, well furnished, friendly staff, excellent room, location is central and very close to public transport links. Breakfast is great. The roof is brilliant, swim in the infinity pool while looking over the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius centre stage and order a drink from the bar. Free wifi. The restaurant in the hotel is not open in the evening which is super, no need to feel bad about not using their facilities, there are loads of brilliant restaurants to try in the old quarter 5 minutes walk away, then back to the hotel for a cappuccino and limoncello, sheer pleasure! We will definitely be going back, soon I hope!

Room Tip: Lovely view from our 5th floor room facing the sea, but the same on the roof so I guess not a big de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuorimura 3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.