We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
GreenLeadersBronze level
County Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We are presently in plaza hotel , leaving on Thursday!
We arrived on Friday to a very warm, friendly, smiling Maria on reception desk. Who wished us a happy anniversary and provided us with upgrade-free- to superior room. We were delighted.
Room lovely, clean, bright,air con.
Breakfast is a feast of fresh food all you can ask for in a smart dining room.
All staff are friendly, helpful.
Location ideal 3 minutes to piazza Tasso, 8 mins to train station and close to beach, port, etc.
Lovely hotel delighted with our choice, we will come again for longer next time.
Thank you Maria-every hotel should have front desk staff like you- and giovanni . Grazie.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear valued guest,

we would like to thank you for the positive comments on your very recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento. It means a lot to us that you have felt the need to write a review before leaving the hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you appreciate our breakfast and central location. But most of all we are glad that you mentioned the friendliness and warmness of our front desk staff. Special care is given to all guests in a very personalised way and little thoughts like the surprise you and your husband received are proof of the fact that the staff tries to contribute in making your stay memorable.

Hoping to welcome you back, in the meantime we greet you sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    199
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
150
491
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a relaxing week and I can honestly say it met our expectations. The waiters/waitresses and bar staff were all very friendly & helpful - Diego was lovely - I don't get the name of any of the others - but they were all lovely too! They gave some recommendations of local places to try for food & the barman helped us with our basic Italian.
The hotel is situated close to the main square and 10 minutes from the train station, beach and ferries. The infinity pool had views of Vesuvius & the bay. Amazing. We have the same view from our window. The room was fine & beds comfortable. Ideally placed as just up one flight of stairs for the pool. Good music played everywhere making for a chilled atmosphere.
We managed a few day trips during the week & tried a different restaurant every night.

Thanks to the Hotel team for making my first visit to Sorrento & Italy such a memorable experience. I look forward to going there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a wonderful break at this hotel. A warm welcome from reception on arrival, room exactly as described on their website, all very clean and bright and comfortable bed. Very good breakfast and friendly staff. The roof top pool was truly appreciated after a long days sight seeing; swimming and enjoying the wonderful view of Mount Vesuvius and the bay of Naples was memorable. There was no noise from other guests/lift etc (our room was next to the lift). There was no view from our window but as we weren't at the front of the hotel is was very quiet. The hotel is ideally situated to explore the centre of Sorrento; the train station and buses are five minutes walk away. We would stay at the Hotel Plaza again without hesitation, it was extremely good value for money and perfect for a centrally located hotel. Anyone wanting views of the the bay etc from their rooms need to stay higher up the hillside and have the inconvenience of a long walk into the centre of Sorrento, or in one of the sea front hotels which are expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Found this hotel to be a cool, modern oasis in the heart (and heat) of Sorrento. Very quiet rooms, with excellent, light and airy decor and quiet, easily controlled air-con. All in-room amenities we wanted, including free high-speed wifi, in-room safe, fridge and minibar. Proved to be a good choice, in contrast to some other more traditional accommodation options on offer. Huge range of choice at breakfast (fruit, pastries, cheese, meat, bread, juices, tea, coffee, cakes), including gluten-free options provided (at no notice) on mentioning I was a coeliac. Requested a room with balcony as an amendment to my booking and got exactly that when we arrived, on fifth floor (room 505), on front facade of hotel looking out to street. Bathrobes, slippers etc provided; great shower. Concierge, housekeeping and wait staff all very pleasant and helpful. 150 yards to Piazza Tasso and our favourite eating place, Fauno Bar (gluten-free page in their menu, with pizza and pasta among the options). Has an eco approach to water saving, laundry, power supply, etc, but you don't notice any differences that would affect your enjoyment of the experience of staying here. No restaurant in the evenings, but that was fine for us as we preferred to eat out wherever we found ourselves at night. Pick-up for tours booked was only 5 or 10 minutes' walk away. This was a surprise birthday present for my partner, and earned me many brownie points!

Room Tip: Ask when booking for a superior room (with balcony, if that's what you require) - these are slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema,Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the Plaza Hotel towards end of August 2013. It is just round the corner from Piazza Tasso the main square in Sorrento. It is very modern. Breakfast was just great with alot of healthy options including a Juicer with chopped fruit and vegatables ready for the making. I have not seen this before in a breakfast room in any hotel. Price was reasonable for such a central hotel which includes a rooftop hotel and small seating area. In fact we extended our stay by another couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you gratefully for your positive review on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay to the point of extending for a few days.

Thank you for outlining the hotel’s central location, just off the main square Piazza Tasso, shops, cafés and restaurants .

Besides, you also mentioned our breakfast and in particular the healthy options offered – we really try to accommodate all kind of needs.

We thank you for choosing us and hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Plaza and if truth be told if we could pick the hotel up and put if somewhere else it would have been quite good. I'll try and explain what I mean.

We booked the hotel through British Airways and in an exchange of emails with the Plaza put in a special request for rooms with balconies at the end of January 2013 (didn't hear anything further back from the hotel at this point). We do like to go back to the hotel early evening and sit out on the balcony and read / watch the world go by as part of our holiday before going out for our evening meal. We arrived and were given a room with no balcony and a very small window - to be honest whilst painted in light colours it was dark and dingy in the room and the view was into some private residential apartments (I'll add the photo's once downloaded) - the view was terrible. We asked if there was a possibility of a balcony room and were told none were available - during the course of the next few days we heard 2 other sets of people turn up and ask for rooms with balconies to be told they would have to pay for an upgrade if they wanted a balcony (not an option we were given). This wasn't the type of room/view that we would expect for a four star establishment and were disappointed but in fairness if was clean, relatively well maintained and the air con worked well. The hotel have made the best of the limited space they have available to build the hotel but this does mean certain rooms are without views of any sort.

Good Points :
The rooftop pool and view from the roof terrace.
The staff were generally great (Guiseppe / Diego / Raphaelle (not sure of the spelling) and the guys in the lounge bar) - thanks all.
Breakfast was generally good although a bit repetitive into week 2.

Negatives :
Room without a view.
Disappointed that the hotel didn't respond or comply with an emailed special request some 7 months in advance and if you are going to upgrade rooms with balconies be honest and publicise the fact.

Would we visit Sorrento again in future but wouldn't chose to say at the Plaza - we found similar hotels in Sorrento in much better locations. After reading the trip advisor reviews we were disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on a higher floor. No guarantees based on our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for having shared your impressions of our Hotel after your recent stay with us. We were very sorry to read that you did not get a reply to your email of late January 2013 in which you requested 2 rooms with balconies and view. However, we have checked our email database and it seems that we never really got your request. Since the request was very important to you and your reservation fell in high season, at a very busy time like August, it would have been wise perhaps to contact our reservations' desk by phone just to make sure that your request be filed. We understand your disappointment if you expected front balconies with a great view, however no upgrade was available at the time of your visit, at least not for 2 rooms and not to cover the whole length of your 2-week stay. If you heard that other guests were offered upgrades to front balcony rooms that is simply because it involved a shorter stay (2-3 nights) in which there must have been an opening in our room planning.
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is very modern and unexpected in a town like Sorrento. It is all white upon entry. The rooms are mostly white with a touch of color, but the best part is the roof top pool and bar. It has a beautiful overlook. In the rooms your key card acts as a activation switch, when you plug it in the wall unit it turns on the electricity to the room. While the balcony door is open, the air conditioner turns off. The staff is very friendly and when it was my son's 18th birthday, they sent up a birthday cake, champagne and juice for the younger kids. Breakfast is also fantastic. The best cappuccino we had in Italy.

Room Tip: G a room facing the street with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

we hope that you had a safe trip back home and we thank you for the time you took to write such positive comments on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are glad that you appreciated the modern style of our hotel, in particular the colours used. In fact, each floor and its rooms have their own "touch" of colour to a white base.

You also seem to have appreciated the rooftop pool/Sky bar area, in your opinion the best part of the hotel, which has in fact a beautiful overlook of Mt. Vesuvius.

Thank you for having also mentioned our friendly staff, always very attentive upon small details such as what was organised for your son's 18th birthday.

Last but not least we are delighted and honoured to hear that our cappuccino was the best you had in Italy.

Thanks for choosing us and hoping to see you again in the near future, we greet you sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuorimura 3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.