We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from the 26th September for five nights. Hotel is wonderful, right in the centre of Sorrento, very clean and fantastic staff who are very friendly (especially the lovely gentleman who served on the rooftop pool in the evenings) lovely pool, overlooking mount Vesuvius and an extensive buffet breakfast which included Buck's Fizz and blinis and smoked salmon...we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    199
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
150
491
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Plaza in summer this year and made the booking based on the hotel's rooftop pool. The pool and bar on the rooftop did not dissapoint. The rooftop area was so relaxing with plenty of sunloungers available.

We also loved our room - really nice decor, super comfy bed. The complimentary breakfast was fabulous. I can hardly believe how much lovely food was provided. The staff were also very friendly.

Location wise, we arrived on the train so it was only a short walk (about 8 mins) to the hotel and very easy to find. The hotel is then also very close to the old town (jus toff the main square) which suited us well. We wanted to be near the old town whilst still being able to stay in a modern hotel.

Overall, this hotel is highly recommended for a relaxing couple visit. We could not fault any part of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights recently. Have travelled a bit in Europe,(know what to expect) and loved this hotel. When we arrived, Alitalia had lost our luggage, so we had nothing for our first 24 hrs. Staff gave us tooth brushes, paste, robes and slippers, plus in room amenities, which helped get us through the first day. They also called the airline repeatedly until they got an answer as to where our bags were. We had a 4th fl balcony room, which overlooks the street and is great for people watching. A short 2 min walk to the main piazza. Rooms are decent size for european rooms(worth it to upgrade), beds comfortable but firm, linens nice. Mini fridge in room- good for your own stuff. Bathroom spacious, ex. ventilation after a shower. They clean the rooms nicely every day, and the breakfast is wonderful. Staff are so helpful and will even make local calls for you. The street level cafe is a nice place to pass some down time. Can't say enough about the location, close to everything. The soundproofed slider to the balcony really shuts out noise though at night. AC works great during hot spells. Taxi stand right out front of hotel in case you need one. Also free wifi throughout hotel!! They give you the passcode for your stay. Would stay here again definitely!!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on 3-5th floor seem best. Four to a floor, so email ahead after booking to request bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location is good if you are arriving via train station- you can walk there easily with your luggage. If you are coming via boat you need to catch a taxi. (Make sure you bargain the price.) The actual hotel is poor value for money. I stayed here with my sister for 3 nights in Sept 2012. We found the staff very unhelpful. At the reception we enquired about the transport options to one of the neighbouring towns. We were told to come back in the morning when they would have someone who knows more and then the guy at the reception just walked away without giving us a chance to respond. We really needed the information then to decide about which day trip to take the next day. Then, on another occasion we were given an outdated ferry timetable, with the incorrect times!! (By a different reception staff member) This was really unprofessional as this nearly ruined our transport connection on our way back to Rome. The cleaning staff barged into our room one morning without knocking- I was changing near the door. Further, the room walls are very thin. We could hear the person in the next room blowing their nose! Difficult to get good sleep unless you have earplugs. They also don't have irons in the room, which was extremely inconvenient. We had been travelling for some time at this point and needed to wash and iron our clothes. I found this very strange, that a 4 star hotel doesn't have an iron facility in the room!! The only good thing about this hotel is the roof top pool with the view. I wouldn't recommend this place. You can find a better deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunoplaza, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to write a review! We are pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location and roof top pool. However, we are surprised to read that you found our reception staff unhelpful as the great majority of our guests constantly underline exactly the opposite that is how courteous, knowledgeable and professional they are. We are sorry that you were given an outdated ferry schedule. The ferry company in fact changes the schedule at some unset time in September but they never bother to notify the hotels. We regularly call them to verify the accuracy of the schedule, it is obvious that you caught the ferry one or two days after their change. With this we are not trying to justify ourselves rather we will endeavor to be all the more scrupulous when giving information. As to the intrusion by the cleaning staff, they are trained to always knock before entering. They knock very gently though and it could be that you did not hear them. We respect your opinion and we will use your remarks to improve the quality of our service that it may be impossible to find a better deal in Sorrento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location, just off the main square and close to train and bus station.
This hotel works on the philosophy that things will not go wrong and they work quietly toward this aim. Rooms are a good size and well decorated. Breakfasts are varied and quality, pastries!!!!.
I am writing this review a year after we stayed here; the reason being that we have just stayed is another Italian 4 star hotel and the contrast is amazing – Stay here – this is a class act.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel plaza is centrally located. A few seconds to the piazza, a few minutes walk to train and bus station, a few minutes walk to the port for ferries etc and bathing platforms. The comfort double room was a good size with a desk, love seat and nice bathroom. The pool area was lovely with an infinity pool and a good view of the city and sea. The breakfast was always great with a wide selection of fruits, cereals, eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, fresh vegetables, cheeses, meats, pastries and bread. You could juice vegetables and fruits, and fresh juice, milk, great coffee and even prosecco were available. The bar area was inviting and bright and the bartenders were attentive. They made some good suggestions for restaurants.

If I returned to Sorrento I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My new wife and I stayed in the Plaza for our honeymoon. We are a couple in our 50s and were looking for a good quality base to explore the Amalfi Coast region. We certainly found one. From check-in to check-out it was excellent. We had requested a high floor and a balcony. Reception knew this and we got both. We also got a half bottle of bubbly and a plate of canapes on arrival to start our honeymoon.
The Plaza is centrally located. Perfect for the town and its shops and restaurants and a short walk to the harbour, for ferries to Capri or Ischia, the buses around the coast or the train to Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. There is no evening restaurant but plenty are available within a 5 minute walk. Our room was small but well equipped, with a good bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The balcony was small and the view, although limited, was spectacular between the buildings. If you book a city centre hotel you should expect a view of a city centre!
Breakfasts were very good, except for their attempt at a full english, which was neither full nor english. As we were in Italy we were hoping for an Italian breakfast. Breads, cakes, pastries, fruit, fruit juice, lovely coffee. How could anyone be disappointed?
The rooftop bar and splash pool gave a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Lunches were good and the beer cold. The bar alongside reception was also good.
All of the staff were polite, spoke good english, smiled at our awful attempts at italian and did their jobs to perfection. They answered all our questions and knew their stuff.
My only criticism of the hotel was the awful and very repetitive music played all day and night. One tape of crappy jazzy cover versions of a bizarre mixture of songs from Spandau Ballet's Gold to Deep Purple's Smoke on the Water played over and over again. Turn it off, please!!
Would we recommend the Plaza? Yes. Without hesitation. Would we go there again? If we wanted to return to Sorrento, we wouldn't bother looking anywhere else.
A couple of tips. Thompson wanted between 35 and 105 euros for an Amalfi Coast coach trip. The local bus cost us 7.20 euros each. They wanetd 35 euros for Pompeii plus admission. The train cost 2.10 euros each, each way. Every Thompson trip was extortionate and all trips were easily available elsewhere

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a balconey. Somewhere to sit away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuorimura 3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.