We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Monica B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Monica B&B to your Saves list
Villa Monica B&B
Via Campitiello, 14 | Casarlano, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Andover, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Villa Monica. Pasquale picked us up near the bus station when we arrived in Sorrento and took us to Villa Monica. Villa Monica has great views overlooking Sorrento. The rooms were spacious and clean and had balconies. Pasquale provides a shuttle service to Sorrento which made our exploration of the area easy. He even provided free wine for us when we returned from our daily excursions. Pasquale gave us good advice on where to eat what to see. He made meal reservations for us at a popular restaurant in Sorrento. Villa Monica is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Select a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
446
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had 3 delightful days at Villa Monica, the service was excellent exceeded only by the magnificent views of Sorrento and the bay of Naples. We especially enjoyed staying a couple of kilometres out of the hustle and bustle of Sorrento - the hourly free shuttle service into town meant we could enjoy the shops and restaurants and still have our quite hideaway. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff (thanks Pasquale) and they are very helpful without being pushy or intrusive. Breakfast on the terrace planning the day whilst enjoying the incomparable view was a great way to start each day. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Take one of the rooms with the bay view - even the one with detached bathroom is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The views are incredible being high the hill over looking Bay of Naples, Sorrento, and Mt. Vesiuvius. I loved our room, balcony, and large bathroom. Pasquale made us feel so welcomed. He picked us up when we arrived and also dropped us back in town for touring, shopping, dinner, etc.
Breakfasts on the downstairs patio was again with beautiful views.
I felt like I was staying in an beautiful villa. 2 nights was too short. I didn't want to leave.
I would recommend Villa Monica with Pasquale as host to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente, ca
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoy staying at B & Bs when we travel in Italy, and we go every year. We chose to stay at Villa Monica in Sorrento and it exceeded our expectations! Pasquale, our host, made us feel so at home and he provided a shuttle to go up and down the mountain road (10 minutes) to and from Sorrento.
The breakfast was delicious and varied. Pasquale, family and staff were gracious and friendly. Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: A room with a view give you Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Villa Monica was one of the best experiences we had in all of Italy. It's a lovely property high in the hills with wonderful views of Sorrento and the Bay of Naples at a very reasonable rate. Our room and bathroom were simple, comfortable and clean with French doors opening onto a balcony and the beauty of the Amalfi coast. Breakfast choices were abundant and delicious, especially the fresh bakery items and Alicia's morning cappucino, not to mention the wine provided for guests free of charge...a very nice thing to come back to after sightseeing all day. The common areas provide a homey feel where guests can meet and relax, use the computer and enjoy the view from the terrace. But, the most outstanding feature of our stay at Villa Monica was the unbelievably wonderful service and comradery provided by the quintessential host, Pasquale. He really makes this property come alive with warmth, friendliness, humor and all the best suggestions and advice regarding anything we wanted to do or needed from where to go and when, the best ways to get around the Amalfi coast and great recommendations for dining. Though he provides a shuttle service back and forth into the town of Sorrento, he will adjust his schedule to yours as required and nothing is a problem for him. He honestly deserves all the high acclaim we read about before selecting a place for our stay in Sorrento. Pasquale truly IS Villa Monica!!
So, if you are looking for a unique and wonderful experience in this part of the world...go...book a room at Villa Monica and enjoy!

Room Tip: Just ask Pasquale for what you want...all but one of the rooms has a view to the Bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Villa Monica in September 2013. The B & B is very special, Pasquale the host and owner, can not do enough for you to make your visit to the B & B and surrounding area a wonderful experience. The B & B is charming, breath taking views, wonderful comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast that gives you lots of choice with tables set outside, weather permitting, in a lovely garden setting. The shuttle service Pasquale offers to his guests is just great, always ready to take you to your next adventure and is right there at the meeting point to bring you back to Villa Monica to rest and enjoy the complimentary wine while sitting in the garden or on your balcony. Pasquale has many restaurants he can suggest to you at reasonable prices and also,can setup limo service if you want to enjoy a day out along the coast or a wine tour. Pasquale is there for you, making sure you are having a wonderful time and can offer many ideas of what you can do for your day. We can not say enough about this lovely B & B and the great family that owns and runs it. La vita e bella, life is beautiful at Villa Monica.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Everything about Villa Monica is the best.
: The best view you will ever see from your room and at breakfast
: The best host you could possible imagine
: The best breakfast I've ever seen at a B&B with a large selection
: The best location to see Sorrento, Pompeii, Capri and The Amalfi Coast.
: The best rooms with comfortable (firm) beds with ensuite baths and an amazing view
From the moment you arrive you are in constant awe of the view and Pasquale, the host, is so personable and accommodating that your vacation takes on a relaxed atmosphere right away.
The guests have this 4 bedroom house all to themselves but Pasquale is always nearby as he lives next door. In order to have such a magnificent view, you are high on a mountain , about 10 minutes from the center of town but with Pasquale's shuttle service offering drop-offs and pick-ups all day and evening you can easily go into town for dinner, have some wine, and let him do the driving. He is also a wealth of knowledge on where to eat, shop, swim, or catch the train to Pompeii. He seems to really enjoy all of his guests and he makes you feel at home right away.
There is a large selection of fruit, cereal, boiled eggs, muffins, croissants, meats, cheese and home made pies for breakfast every morning and the kitchen is always there for whatever you may need. Free WiFi, free wine, free shuttle and Pasquale will also serenade you on the piano and guitar. He is amazing. Our 5 nights at Villa Monica were the highlight of our 2 weeks in Italy and if we ever make it back, we may just spend our entire time at Villa Monica.
P.S. Jane misses Gary and the chocolate pie. Thanks Pasquale

Room Tip: Three of the four rooms have the same view and one room is limited so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Monica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monica B&B

Address: Via Campitiello, 14 | Casarlano, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monica B&B is a charming Bed and Breakfast on the hills of Sorrento. With a beatiful view !! For our guests a convenient free shuttle service. Breakfast and wifi free..!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Monica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Monica Hotel Sorrento
Villa Monica Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Monica B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.