We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, indifferent staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Regina Giovanna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Regina Giovanna to your Saves list
Relais Regina Giovanna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Calata di Puolo 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, indifferent staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

My wife and I arrived in Sorrento later than expected due to traffic in the area after our drive from Tuscany. We were greeted by staff who rushed us to our room during check in, explained that their restaurant was "closed for the night" and then took us to our room which was in the far building, about 1/4 mile from the main one.

You better have a car if you stay here, especially if you are in the far building and since the hotel itself, as others have said, is far down off the main road. We later learned, after asking, that the AC only works if you shut all your windows and that they in fact no longer have a restaurant at the hotel. Again, the staff who we talked to did not seem overly anxious to help us out.

The room itself was good, and the bed was very comfortable. The area was very peaceful and scenic set among the lemon and olive trees. We were able to relax in the evening as the sunset while we enjoyed a bottle of wine. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the spot.

Overall, we would not recommend staying here unless you have a car for your entire stay (we dropped ours off the day before we left). The shuttle service which has also already been discussed, does NOT work as the hotel keeps stating. We were told that the shuttle will not go unless there are reservations for it the night before, that they really only take people in at 9 and 11, and bring people back at 1 and 3. Again, the staff seems indifferent and slightly put off when helping their guests. However, if you don't need their assistance and have a car, then you should be fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    31
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
78
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Even before we entered the room we understood we've made a mistake.
No cell phone signal in the rooms and around them ... combine it with the fact that there's no option to get internet connection in the rooms (Despite what they advertise on their site and on other traveling agencies!) - and you got yourself a Bad start ...

When we entered the room we were disappointed to see dust and hair on the floor among with some spiderwebs around the corners. It didn't get better the next days..

Breakfast - very poor and boring and for some reason they don't really want you to have forks ... Even the cafe is bad.

Location - if you don't have a car while staying there, do not book this hotel. Not only that the hotel is not a walking distance from the city, the rooms are at least 500 meters downhill the hotel gate.

The hotel declares they have shuttle service to the city - well... not really.
only 1 shuttle a day, not even to the center of Sorrento, coming back at 15:00...
The rooms are big and the beds are comfortable - but that's it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Public Relations Manager at Relais Regina Giovanna, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Unfortunately the area where the Relais Regina Giovanna is located has a very weak signal for cell phones; it does not state on our website that we have internet connection in the rooms; our website only states there is an internet point in the hotel lounge where guest can use our laptop to connect to internet free of charge.

The Relais Regina Giovanna has two buildings at about 150mt. and 250mt. from the hotel entrance.

This is the first complaint we received about the cleanliness of the rooms, obviously we will look into the matter.

The continental buffet breakfast is composed of a large variety of croissants, cake, cereals, yogurts, cooked meats, cheese, fruit juices, tinned fruit, tea, coffee, chocolate etc. so it is by no means poor.

The hotel shuttle runs four times a day at 09.00, 11.00, 12.45 and 14.45 from the hotel to the centre of town and four times a day at 09.15, 11.15, 13.00 and 15,00 from Sorrento centre to the hotel.

Best Regards,
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We're getting married in Sorrento in 2011 and stayed here for a night as part of our wedding prep to see if it was suitable for our guests. In terms of value for money the Relais is excellent value, almost too good to be true. The issue is the location. We got a taxi here from another place in town we were checking out, but the driver dropped us at the main road. It's then a long walk down an unmade track to the hotel, with luggage a real pain. Coming back after a night in Sorrento and the taxi did drive all the way down so make sure you ask. They advertise a courtesy bus service but it runs only twice a day and not in the evenings....so....if you don't have a car and want to eat out in the evening it's a 20 minute walk to the nearest bus stop and then wait for the bus to turn up..or pay €20 to €30 for a taxi 1 way. It's a fair way if you want to walk, can be done but there are no pavements for part of the road and traffic is busy.
Our room was at the top, there's no lifts so be prepared to walk with your luggage a few flights, reception didn't offer to help carry the suitcases. The room was really a suite, beautifully finished and lots of space but very dark due to the tiny windows which you couldn't even look out of, a real shame because the views are superb. We had maintenance guys turn up twice while we were there (just 1 night) to fix things. Seems that both the aircon and tv had been malfunctioning.
We had a chance to wander the grounds and walked down to the beach area but this was not as great as I'd imagined, lots of litter and debris; it's quite a wild spot though and could be great if they get it right.
Breakfast in the restaurant was a decent spread.
Checking out, the courtesy bus times did not fit our schedule so we asked if they could drop us to the top of the lane; was hoping they might take us in to Sorrento, but they went as far as the bus stop. Fair enough I suppose but there are many upmarket B&B and smaller hotels in the area which are family run and they will take you in and out of Sorrento whenever you ask.
If you're happy chilling out at the hotel and not sightseeing, or if you have a car, then this is a great place; otherwise it's just too inconvenient to get to.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Direttore at Relais Regina Giovanna, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

We refer to your remarks on Trip Advisor but unfortunately there is no solution to most of your comments.

The Relais Regina Giovanna is located only 3 Km. from the town centre but there is a bus stop near the hotel (only five minutes walk) and there are local buses (Line A) to the town centre every 20 minutes, even late at night.

Our taxi drivers know that they have to drop our guests outside the hotel reception, therefore we do not feel responsible if we do not call the taxi.

The hotel does not have a lift but the staff has always offered to help the guests with luggage.

The beach will official open at the beginning of June and by that time everything will be ready; if the guest wishes to have a walk down, we always point out that the beach will not be ready before the end of May.

We however wish to thank you for the preference given to Relais Regina Giovanna and hopefully you will return to Relais Regina Giovanna with your car.

Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I wrote this review back in October but never posted it. I wanted to let people know a little more about this hotel. The hotel was very nice and had a helpful staff. I would recommend this hotel to a friend, but would want to clarify a few things as I did not fully understand them before going. The main thing is the location of the hotel. It is actually in Capo not Sorrento. Many hotels are in between Capo and Sorrento. However, it is a 15-20 Euro taxi ride to/from town. The hotel says it has a shuttle, but when we were there it ran 4 times a day and the last pick up was at 3pm (15:00). So, not a good option to come back from dinner. A lot of posts talk about a city bus. There is a city bus that drops you a block away from the little road to the hotel. We had good luck one night and bad luck the other night catching the bus. If you do catch the bus, it is very convenient. Also, the hotel really is on a lemon grove. Our room was in a separate building from the main one and we walked 5-10 minutes to get to breakfast or to reception. Not a problem unless it is raining.
Now, this is hotel was very charming. My husband and I wanted a nice room without having to pay an arm and a leg. This was our first stop on our trip and we were planning to get nicer rooms as we went along. The room was great! It was very spacious, very clean and very Italian (we had a Deluxe Double). We like nice hotels and were a bit worried about our choice as we did not spend as much as normal, but we would not have changed our choice despite having issues with catching the bus. The best part was we had a true balcony with lounge chairs. We could watch the sunset and look over the lemon groves. One night we brought a bottle of wine back and sat outside and stared at the stars. You are just enough out of the city that you feel like you are secluded and in a relaxed place while being in Italy. It was wonderful!
Again, we would recommend this hotel to a friend. However, if you want to walk around and not worry about taxis, buses or shuttles this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Amazing hotel, with very beautiful rooms and the most fragranced garden you'll set your foot in, full of lemon and olive trees.
I highly recommend this hotel, provided you have a car, because it's off the hustle and bustle of Sorrento yet very near to it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed at RG for a week and would do so again in an instant. The staff was wonderful. They were helpful, spoke English, and very personable. The hotel was located a little out of town, but they had a shuttle that took us into Sorrento and were good about adjusting their times a little. There was also a bus stop rather close. Our room was spacious and clean. The restaurant was nothing great but breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac Léman, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We spent 6 nights in this fabulous resort. First of all, it is a heaven of peace and quietness, yet close to busy Sorrento and if you do not have a car, a shuttle van will take you to town at scheduled times. The rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished and even if not all of them have a sea panorama, you will have an enchanting view on the olive- and lemon-tree fields like we did. High ceilings and large windows make the rooms airy and bright.
In less than a 10-minute walk, you will reach a little private pebble bay for a safe swim. And so we did !
At his point, I have to point out the friendliness of the entire staff with a special praise to Rosa, the (very pretty) Receptionist, looking after every detail for you and very helpful for any query you might have. The owner himself was also a great help in trying to trace for us an urgent envelope which was express-mailed to us from Switzerland but apparently got caught up somewhere in Sorrento. We eventually got it, just in time, also thanks to his efficient efforts.
Breakfast, and this will be highly appreciated by all late sleepers, is served until late morning and offers a wide range of tasty genuine products. We also had dinner there one evening. Although the menu choice is not wide, we had an excellent 3-course meal.
We mostly used this resort as a base for our daily excursions but I would not mind spending more time relaxing and lingering on-site for our next visit ! Therefore, a well-earned BRAVISSIMO for this beautiful spot where we shall go back !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Regina Giovanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Regina Giovanna

Address: Via Calata di Puolo 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Regina Giovanna 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Relais Regina Giovanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Regina Giovanna Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Regina Giovanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.