We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay in this charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorrento City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sorrento City to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Burnley, England
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Our second stay in this charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Situated right on the main street, though the street is closed after 8.00 pm so no traffic noise to disturb a good night's sleep. We were assured of a warm welcome because it was our 2nd visit to them. It did not disappoint and as we specified a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony, Roberta and her staff made sure we got just that. The rooms are small, but perfectly adequate and certainly clean, though storage space is very limited. However with a little creative planning everything got tidied away for our week long visit. We were treated like honored guests and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast again adequate, but apart from toast, it is a cold collation.However as I am gluten intolerant they got me gluten free bread and biscuits which were great.
Although we have stayed in Sorrento 10 times we still found new things to do that we had not done before. We visited the ruins of a Roman villa at the baths of Queen Giovanna at Capo di Sorrento. A bus from just off the Piazza Tasso dropped us of at Capo and we walked the mile are so down to the sea. Coming back up was harder but we took our time and the walk was delightful. We also visited the sprawling and rather dangerous city of Naples. Good tip here is to go the station after the Main Garibaldi station to the very end of the line, walk down to the Castello Nuovo and get on the blue line hop-on hop off bus out to Pottsuoli, not getting off but sitting on the top deck photographing. This took about a hour, then we got the red line hop on hop off for the city tour and got off at the archaeological museum. The collection of treasures from Pompeii and Herculaneum was amazing. Then we got back on the bus, back to near the station we got off the train an returned to Sorrento. By the time it got to the Garibaldi station it was quite full and we would not have got 2 seats together. So we saw Naples in comfort and safety for a total of 22 euros each.
In Sorrento there was also an exhibition of the works of Salvador Dali at the Villa Fiorentina that was mind blowing and we went to a wonderful concert of Italian Arias and Neapolitan songs one evening n the concert hall of the Foreigners Club.
Sorrento never disappoints and the Hotel Sorrento is well located,warm and friendly and so convenient for everything,an experience helped by the brilliant Roberta, Theresa and all the staff

Room Tip: Try and get a front of hotel room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    204
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
100
234
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, convenient for walk or taxi to many tourist activities and restaurants. They have nice, modern, clean rooms in great condition, with all the amenities we needed for comfort. They have a beautiful roof garden view as well. Finally, the breakfast is pretty good. Blah blah... The main reason i am writing this review is because the staff really impressed us. For example, they gave us a blanket and helped us pick out foods from a nearby cafe for our private boat trip... And oh.. I almost forgot to mention that they also coordinated our boat trip. Unexpected concierge service with a warm smile and proactive attitude. The manager also visited our travel group friend twice in the hospital to make sure she was taken care of properly after she suffered from angina (pre heart attack symptopms). I could go on. What a great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We picked this hotel as it is in a great location for the train station and city center (200m) which are within easy walking distance. The receptionist was so helpful and could not do enough to help us. She even ensured we had a take away breakfast when we left to catch the early flight. The rooms were clean and well maintained although the balcony was a little on the small side. I would certainly recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel look onto a wall so ask for one at the front also room 105 is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location. We were traveling from Cinque Terre & arrived in Sorrento by train. We had luggage with us, but the hotel is only a 5 min walk from the Sorrento train station. The hotel is on a main street that leads you right in the central square of the historical part of town. We were steps away from shops, restaurants & importantly the train station where the Sita bus service operates from. So it was easy to catch the bus to Positano or Almafi for example. Breakfast at the hotel was good as well offering ham, cheese, bread, yogurt cereals, etc with great selection of coffees & tea. We had an interior room, it was clean & quiet. The only thing negative I can say about the hotel is the free wifi service was not working in our rooms for the first 2 day/ nights of our stay. Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Sorrento :).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel Perfect location, lousy coffee els very nice! Staff very friendly and helpful! We had balcony to the street. Nice sitting there in the evenings eith a gkass of wine watching the people from above!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinbrgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location to enable train travel to Pompeii and also the airport bus comes in next to the station so within easy walking distance to the hotel. The receptionist is just fab. She cheerfully attended to everything from check in to supplying the wine and nibbles for consumption on the lovely roof terrace. She even ensured we had a carry out breakfast on our last morning when we had to catch an early flight. The rooms were clean and functional, if on the small side (I didn't bother with trying out the tiny balcony). Breakfast consisted of ample choice though the breakfast room was a little on the small size for the number of guests. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were meeting family here recently. Hotel is centrally located, close to restaurants and shops. As the name suggests, in the centre of Sorrento. The staff were wonderful from the front desk, the breakfast lady and the housekeeping - all very helpful. My family were leaving early in the morning, the night manager packed them some breakfast to go. Our room was quite small, but adequate and clean. There is a rooftop terrace (which was a criteria for choosing this hotel) the hotel bar didn't cater for eight revellers each evening, but we managed ok. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorrento City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;