We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service from the heart!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorrento City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sorrento City to your Saves list
Hotel Sorrento City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 97 Hotels in Sorrento
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Service from the heart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, convenient for walk or taxi to many tourist activities and restaurants. They have nice, modern, clean rooms in great condition, with all the amenities we needed for comfort. They have a beautiful roof garden view as well. Finally, the breakfast is pretty good. Blah blah... The main reason i am writing this review is because the staff really impressed us. For example, they gave us a blanket and helped us pick out foods from a nearby cafe for our private boat trip... And oh.. I almost forgot to mention that they also coordinated our boat trip. Unexpected concierge service with a warm smile and proactive attitude. The manager also visited our travel group friend twice in the hospital to make sure she was taken care of properly after she suffered from angina (pre heart attack symptopms). I could go on. What a great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    246
    59
    16
    6
See reviews for
120
276
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We picked this hotel as it is in a great location for the train station and city center (200m) which are within easy walking distance. The receptionist was so helpful and could not do enough to help us. She even ensured we had a take away breakfast when we left to catch the early flight. The rooms were clean and well maintained although the balcony was a little on the small side. I would certainly recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel look onto a wall so ask for one at the front also room 105 is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location. We were traveling from Cinque Terre & arrived in Sorrento by train. We had luggage with us, but the hotel is only a 5 min walk from the Sorrento train station. The hotel is on a main street that leads you right in the central square of the historical part of town. We were steps away from shops, restaurants & importantly the train station where the Sita bus service operates from. So it was easy to catch the bus to Positano or Almafi for example. Breakfast at the hotel was good as well offering ham, cheese, bread, yogurt cereals, etc with great selection of coffees & tea. We had an interior room, it was clean & quiet. The only thing negative I can say about the hotel is the free wifi service was not working in our rooms for the first 2 day/ nights of our stay. Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Sorrento :).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice hotel Perfect location, lousy coffee els very nice! Staff very friendly and helpful! We had balcony to the street. Nice sitting there in the evenings eith a gkass of wine watching the people from above!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinbrgh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location to enable train travel to Pompeii and also the airport bus comes in next to the station so within easy walking distance to the hotel. The receptionist is just fab. She cheerfully attended to everything from check in to supplying the wine and nibbles for consumption on the lovely roof terrace. She even ensured we had a carry out breakfast on our last morning when we had to catch an early flight. The rooms were clean and functional, if on the small side (I didn't bother with trying out the tiny balcony). Breakfast consisted of ample choice though the breakfast room was a little on the small size for the number of guests. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were meeting family here recently. Hotel is centrally located, close to restaurants and shops. As the name suggests, in the centre of Sorrento. The staff were wonderful from the front desk, the breakfast lady and the housekeeping - all very helpful. My family were leaving early in the morning, the night manager packed them some breakfast to go. Our room was quite small, but adequate and clean. There is a rooftop terrace (which was a criteria for choosing this hotel) the hotel bar didn't cater for eight revellers each evening, but we managed ok. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location of the hotel makes it very convenient, it's not only closeby the station, but only a short walk to the main square and a large selection of restaurants and cafes. We thought our room was pretty spacious, we had a side facing view and a tiny outside area with just a glimpse of the main road. Bearing in mind it was August, very crowded and busy - particularly on the weekend evenings when it was noisy on the street outside late into the evening, we weren't too bothered not to be overlooking it. Staff were friendly, breakfast was fine, lots of cakes to choose from, fresh fruit and breads - the only letdown was the coffee machine which seemed to go wrong alot when we were there! We sat on the roof area a few times which was nice enough although we expected a bar to be up there! You can only consume drinks from the hotel, so had to go to reception each time to purchase a drink from the fridge, then head back up to the top floor each time. Drinks were cheap but it was abit inconvenient. To end on a positive, rooms were kept very clean and the decor was fresh and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#41 of 97 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 97 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#21 of 97 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 97 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#28 of 97 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorrento City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.