We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorrento City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sorrento City to your Saves list
Hotel Sorrento City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

First time for me in this hotel ( not in Sorrento) and I was very pleased about everything. First the reception. Teresa was very helpful, she gave us lots of information and also she prepared a small aperitivo the day we arrived. Rooms are clean, nice and spacious. Breakfast in the morning has lots of choices, from excellent cakes to nice cured meat and cheese. There is also a terrace on the top floor where I had a very cold beer for only €1.50. Thanks everyone for the excellent job. I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    219
    51
    15
    6
See reviews for
106
249
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Good location and nice daily breakfast choices but the room we were given was quite small. The pictures of the hotel I thought were misleading. Yes we had a balcony, but it was so small that it was unusable and was overlooking an alley. The air conditioner was almost no help and you cannot keep it on during the day while you are out so you walk into a very warm room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorrentocity, Direttore at Hotel Sorrento City, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile cliente, ho davvero poco da dire di fronte alle Sue parole, La ringrazio innanzitutto per aver recensito l' albergo, ma vorrei davvero capire di quale vicolo parla visto che , delle dodici camere disponibili , dieci affacciano sul Corso Italia, strada principale di Sorrento , e peraltro dai nostri balconi , di dimensioni NORMALI, abbastanza spaziosi da poter offrire ben due poltroncine ed un tavolo, si puo' ammirare piazza Tasso.
Indubbiamente le altre due stanze occupano una posizione diversa....nel senso che si affacciano sul fianco del palazetto, e quindi non vedono il Corso principale per intero, ma di certo non affacciano su nessun vicolo, anche perche ' nelle immediate vicinanze non ce ne sono, i vicoletti di Sorrento, sono infatti situati nel centro storico a 500 metri da noi.L'hotel offre anche un roof all'ultimo piano, come potra' notare, e' sottolineato anche in altre recensioni dei nostri utenti, e, all'arrivo la portineria informa i clienti.
infine, l'aria condizionata si spegne all'apertura del balcone o uscendo dalla camera, ma , chiedendo semplicemente in portineria, l'aria viene riaccesa anche quando la camera e' vuota, direttamente da noi...anche questa informazione viene fornita all'arrivo, sempre.
la ringrazio
Roberta Di leva
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights. The room was a little small and left no room for our two suitcases. But other than this minor inconvenience it was clean, the staff extremely friendly, courteous and always ready to help. They recommended our tour to the Amalfi Coast and the Sorrento Musical. Good recommendations especially the Amalfi Drive tour. Good continental breakfast with plenty of fruit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a good city hotel, very cosy and has small, but nice rooms. We had a room with a balcony and could sit and watch people walking by. You are right in the middle of the centre, but the street is not noisy and has a lot of shops and cafees. Our portier Teresa was very helpful and we loved our stay at hotel Sorrento City.

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony. That is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel was clean, modern, staff was helpful and always there. The location of the hotel cannot be beat and having a balcony over the street was really nice. We only stayed 1 night but I would recommend it to anyone coming to visit.

Room Tip: Get a street view as it was nice to sit out there and we did not hear the noise once the door was sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed for three nights during July 2013. I found the best part of the hotel being the location as it was walking distance to all day tour departures - that was arranged by the staff! The staff was very helpful even arranging for earlier breakfast due to a early tour departure. The room was clean and I also think that the hotel was value for money even at a shocking exchange rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location, rates and value of this establishment is unsurpassed. I stayed here in May 2013 with my partner for 3 nights and will most definitely stay here again when next I visit Sorrento. Coveniently located just around the corner from the train station and right next to the supermarket and movie theatre, you couldn't find better located accommodation. Surrounded by restaurants, walking distance from the pier to Capri, Amalfi or Naples and hundreds of souvenir, leather shops and gelateria's, you really can't go wrong!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorrento City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.