We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff make the hotel a great choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorrento City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sorrento City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location and staff make the hotel a great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our tour group and were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is in a great location in Sorrento and makes it an ideal spot for day trips to Capri / Amalfi, etc.

PROS:
- Location: The hotel is located on the 'main' street in Sorrento, making it very easy to walk to the train station, restaurants, shops and the marina.
- Staff: All of the staff were very hospitable, friendly and spoke English fluently.
- Free continental breakfast
- Free wi-fi

CONS:
- The only thing that prevents me from giving 5 stars is the paper thin walls at the hotel. We could hear every little noise from adjacent rooms/people walking on the stairs which made from some sleepless nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    192
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
92
223
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My 3 sisters & I spent 3 nights here. Had 2 double rooms and were very happy with the accommodations. The room and bathroom were typically small, but there was plenty of room to set out our suitcases and hang things up. The breakfast was very nice and the staff was very helpful, gracious and professional. The location was great, the rooms and common areas were clean, and the roof-top terrace was delightful . We had a wonderful time and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location is great, very central. The staff is nice and the breakfast is ample, though continental. Empty fridge in the room a nice touch.

Unfortunately, it was just too uncomfortable to sleep. The air-conditioning was super weak. The beds were rock hard and the pillows almost as hard. In the morning you could hear every little noise from the maid cleaning adjacent rooms. Also, an 11 am check-out is stingy, though because we had barely slept we were more than ready to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorrentocity, Manager at Hotel Sorrento City, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir, many thanks for your review ! I really feel obliged to give you a reply .....the hotel is very flexible for the check out policy, and in case of a specific needs we are able to manage a customer request to postpone the check out time....even if we have other customers waiting to occupy the room.
For all the other issue we are able to handle them on the request.
What gives me a deep comfort is that we never received similar complain in the past ! All our room equippements are our pride!
Best regards
Roberta
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As a single person I found the rooms to be a great size. I faced the main road and found the view to be amazing. Very central to everything as it's right by the train station and just right of the main square. The room had a weak wifi signal though but are you really there for that??!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a great hotel....at a great price.....in a great location. We only stayed one night but they were so accomodating, keeping our luggage for us and letting us keep the car parked while we did a boat trip over to Capri for the day.....after we had checked out. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location was very close to everything! Sorrento is a beautiful city to visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

There is a supermarket next door, and only 5 minutes walking to city center, also close to CITA bus station, could it be better? Just stayed there for 1 night, but quite impressive as it is comfortable and the staff are really willing to help. We are bit late for breakfast, but they still allowed us to enter and enjoy it. We stayed in a 4 beds room, but still feel good and relaxed. We will be back to Sorrento for sure, and we will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were delighted with our stay. The hotel is in a good location, very close to the main piazza, station and marina so everything is within walking distance. We found the staff to be very pleasant and attentive, even advising us on our sight seeing! The room was small but suited us fine, we wanted somewhere clean and comfortable and they delivered. We had a room to the side of the hotel so the road noise was of little bother to us. My only criticism would be the coffee, it wasn't the most pleasant drink we had in Sorrento. The breakfast was far from basic, as reported in other reviews. There was plenty to choose from and every evening the lobby was filled with the smell of freshly baked cakes, ready for the next day. They also have a vast selection of drinks for very reasonable prices, from soft drinks, beer (€3!) and to spirits, available at all times. And free wifi was a definite bonus. Visit the roof terrace for an incredible view of the corso italia.

Room Tip: We were in 204, which is situated to the side. Less traffic noise but less view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorrento City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.