We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorrento City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sorrento City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were delighted with our stay. The hotel is in a good location, very close to the main piazza, station and marina so everything is within walking distance. We found the staff to be very pleasant and attentive, even advising us on our sight seeing! The room was small but suited us fine, we wanted somewhere clean and comfortable and they delivered. We had a room to the side of the hotel so the road noise was of little bother to us. My only criticism would be the coffee, it wasn't the most pleasant drink we had in Sorrento. The breakfast was far from basic, as reported in other reviews. There was plenty to choose from and every evening the lobby was filled with the smell of freshly baked cakes, ready for the next day. They also have a vast selection of drinks for very reasonable prices, from soft drinks, beer (€3!) and to spirits, available at all times. And free wifi was a definite bonus. Visit the roof terrace for an incredible view of the corso italia.

Room Tip: We were in 204, which is situated to the side. Less traffic noise but less view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    204
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
100
234
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Only 2 blocks from train/bus terminal, the Hotel Sorrento City was in an excellent location to enjoy Sorrento. Small rooms, but most with balconies or patios, the hotel was a most comfortable haven during our 4 days on the Amalfi Coast. Breakfast was good and service was friendly. We were only 2 blocks from the edge of the old city - the narrow laned section that had the best restaurants. Proximity to the station made bus trips to Positano and other Amalfi Coast towns simple. A grocery store literally next door for picnic supplies and water was another convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently spent a week in Hotel Sorrento City. It was our first time to visit this area of Italy and it was a wonderful place to be. The hotel is very well located, literally a two minute walk to the main square where there are plenty of restaurants and shops to keep you busy. There is a pharmacy and shopping market next door to the hotel which is handy if you need anything. The Hotel is also very close to the train/bus station where you can travel anywhere in the vicinity inexpensively.
We found the staff in reception very friendly and helpful. They spoke English very well , which was good as we did not speak any Italian. They were very willing to give you advice or information about the area and were always pleasant when you came and went for the day.
The rooms are cosy but they do have a nice balcony which was great for enjoying a glass of wine while people watching. Housekeeping do a great job as the entire hotel is spotless. We found the beds comfortable and the room had air conditioning which was nice to cool down after the hot day. The breakfast is contenental but has a good selection, cereal, fruit, breads, cold meats and sweet cakes, croissants etc. It's a great start to the day and we were happy with the selection. We didn't hear other guests from our room as others have said and the main street can be a little noisy but it never bothered us and it is a main street not the country so there is not much can be done about that.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for location and value and a pleasant stay. If I was returning to Sorrento I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location close to main square, shops, restaurants and trainstation, but rooms are very small and compact. Definitely not suitable for
a group of 3 in a triple share room. Breakfast was basic. Staff were very helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel was central and although on a main street very little noise. It was central to the bus and train station The staff were very supportive and helpful.
The room although a little small was adequate. As we were staying for a week more storage space would have been useful. There was no noise from other residents even thought the room was next to the lift.
I would recommend liaising with the hotel direct for the best deal. If booking via an online site be aware that breakfast is probably not included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I rely often on the Tripadvisor reviews when choosing a hotel and that's how I chose Sorrento City. This time, however, it was a huge mistake: tiny rooms where one may barely move, poorly isolated - you often feel as if being in your neighbors’ room (you may as well be tempted to participate in their conversation...), not particularly clean (I saw a recent review mentioning ants - my bathroom had them as well; fortunately I did not find any on my bed), staff very unfriendly, a number of messages pasted here and there starting with ‘it is forbidden to…’ making you feel uncomfortable and unwelcome, poor overpriced breakfast, the breakfast tablecloths (probably in order not to be changed daily...) covered with transparent greasy plastic covers. I could go on but I guess these already give an idea. I travel both for work and for leisure at least 6-7 times a year and this was my worst hotel experience ever. I wonder by what mean Sorrento City got such a high rating(?).
Anyway - I learned that I need to double-check the lowest rating reviews before booking.

Room Tip: Check carefully the lowest rating reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorrentocity, Direttore at Hotel Sorrento City, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sir, when I read your review about the hotel Sorrento City, my reaction was great astonishment! Not for your disappointing , it is your right to appreciate or not the hotel where you are going to stay and you choose it thanks to all the other customers reviews. All of them are now in opposition to your opinion...In any case we write some advices in order to prevent our customers safety, for the example in the breakfast room it is forbidden the use of the oven , as it is dangerous ! You could burn or take high voltage electricity! it is in fact just used by the staff for preparing fresh breakfast every morning… Our breakfast has fresh cakes, muffins, a big variety of season fruit (like Sorrento oranges, peaches, water melon, plums) , four different kinds of bread, croissants, corn flakes, muesli, cheese, ham etc etc etc
Regarding my staff and cleanness I prefer to reply with all the other reviews
Best regards
Roberta Di Leva
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location, walk to bus and train, main square, shopping. Well lit street. By tiny, I mean there are only a few inches between the bed and table. You have to turn your body sideways to get to the bathroom. There is no dresser, only a closet. Even though you don't spend a lot of time in the room, it's very inconvenient when you are in it. We rented 2 rooms. One of them #102 had ants all 4 days that we were there. The management is aware of this problem and sprayed everyday but it did not help. The 2nd room#204 did not have ants. breakfast was very good and varied each day.
Great restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorrento City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.