We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bargain and location in Sorrento!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorrento City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sorrento City to your Saves list
Hotel Sorrento City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Oceanside, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best bargain and location in Sorrento!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in Sorrento for three nights in September of 2012 and can't say enough good things about the hotel. Probably the most convenient location in the city to see the sites, 3 minute walk from the Circumvesuviana train stop, which is also the site where you pick-up the SITA bus to take a trip down the Amalfi coast. The hotel is located on Corso Italia, where all the great shops and restaurants are located. Piazza Tasso is at most, 150 yards away. There is a fantastic little take out eatery right next door if you need to pick up a late night snack or cup of coffee. The staff is top notch, and as you can tell by all the reviews, you couldn't have wished to have a better person to welcome you to their hotel than Theresa. She's the best! You will be awoken each morning by the smell of the pastries she bakes and it will put a smile on your face, leaving a long-lasting memory of your stay. They are that good! Along with the mouth-watering pastires, there are lots of fresh fruit, juices, coffee, cereal, yogurts and if I remember correctly, a selection of cheese and meat/cold cuts. For Americans, if you haven't traveled to Europe before, don't expect to find traditional breakfast items like pancakes, bacon and eggs, waffles, etc. Theresa and the rest of the staff (I believe it was Philomena and Mark?) are outstanding. Theresa lent me an umbrella to take a daytrip to Pompeii on a rainy day and they also helped me out to connect to wi-fi on my phone. All spoke great English so you won't have problems communicating if you don't speak Italian. I traveled solo on my two weeks in Italy so I wasn't that concerned about the size of the room. It was average size by European standards, smaller by American standards, but very clean, quiet and I had no problems with the confort of the beds. Walls are a little thin but it didn't adversely affect my sleep. Though I didn't have a room that faced the street, I found the area to be quiet at night despite being right on Corso Italia. Wasn't able to check out the top deck as it was a bit rainy for two nights and I was out on the town the third night. TV had four channels at most, with one English channel (I believe it was CNN-World) but why are you watching TV when you are in one of the most beautiful places in the world?! Anyway, I highly recommend this hotel. Will definitely book this hotel again when I come back to this wonderful country and city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    210
    48
    15
    6
See reviews for
103
240
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

the hotel has excellent location in the very center of the city, personnel especially the reception is very helpful, the rooms are smaller than we expected, the breakfast was weak for us especially for the children..(no egg, just 1 kind of cheese)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had just one night to spend in Sorrento city and we were glad we picked Sorrento City Hotel.
Conveniently located in close proximity of the Sorrento train station, SITA and Airport bus stops, economically priced and outstanding service - Theresa and the gentleman (Mark?) were by far the best, They really went out of their way to cater to us. They had great pointers on excursions in Sorrento and around Amalfi coast and they helped us with our online check-in for our flight out of Naples. Their breakfast was the best from among all the places we stayed on this trip - Venice, Florence, Rome. We recommend this place without any reservations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel was pleasant and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were small, but normal for European standards. It was great sitting on the balcony and watching the sites. We found a great restaurant around the corner. Sorrento is a great city to day trip from.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a great view of what is going on. Nice to sit and watch the goings on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel, as small as it looks, is special and very well priced. Not only perfectly located between the train/bus station and the main square, most rooms also have little balconies overlooking a stylish upscale quiet shopping street. All of the staff were exceptionally professional and friendly. The rooms, though small, were very tasteful and comfortable. The breakfasts were also a delightful compliment to our experience. For those who want to buy newspapers, there is a shop selling international publications across the street and a supermarket next door. Valet parking is available and costs no more than the local garage. The hotel is as charming as Sorrento, and we could not have wished for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just returned From a wonderful stay. Great location on main road but walking distance to train station, shopping, etc. rooftop bar was not open as it is off season. Good value for the price. Stay here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sorrento City in September. The plus it has going for it, it is very clean, in the center of Sorrento and has a good breakfast, plus the staff is good. However the bad is, they show views of the main street of Sorrento as the view you will receive on their web site and when we checked in our view was of a wall of a small court yard. When we spoke to the front desk they told us since we had only booked two nights we could not get the view as it was being used for guests with longer stays and we could not move rooms as the hotel was booked. In addition. after looking again at their web site, it states in very very small print the view is not for all rooms. One last item, there was the smell of cleaning fluids used for the hotel coming up the stairs to our room and it was not good. The price of the Sorrento compared to other hotels in the area was ok but will pass on this place if in Sorrento again because of the view situation and the smell.

Room Tip: Stay away from where the cleaning supplies are stored! Make sure you request in writing the view you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorrento City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.