We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Sorrento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorrento City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sorrento City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Burnley, England
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Sorrento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was our first time at this hotel though we have been visiting Sorrento every year for the past 10 years. The warmth of the welcome and the pleasant manner of all the staff was delightful. The hotel is very reasonably priced and clean and the foyer was a great place to people watch.There is free wifi and the lobby computer was reasonably priced. The location was really great and the convenience of the supermarket next door was very good. it closes at 9 pm and there was no noise from it nor from the cinema on the other side.
We were a party of 5 adults and one child sharing 2 triple rooms. We would have been better with 3 twin rooms as it felt very crowded and there is little storage space. One room did not have a fridge as promised, but there was no room for it anyway.
The continental breakfast was OK if you could eat wheat, but as one our party could not and the fruit on offer was uninspiring and the yoghurts watery, she brought in her own from the supermarket next door, which was not a problem.
We would go again without a doubt but with different room arrangements. I can really recommend it for an inexpensive way to experience this lovely and historic area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    204
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
100
234
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We just came back from a 2 week vacation in Italy, and I most certainly had to write about each of our 4 hotels. First up was Hotel Sorrento City. Having read a lot of the reviews on TripAdvisor, I would say you really get a real overall view of this hotel, and most importantly, they were pretty spot on. Sorry if this review is long, but if we're similar type of travelers some of this info may help :)

Location -
Sorrento was our first stop in Italy, and the first impression could not have been better.
The hotel itself was so lovely. This was the last week of December, and the holidays could still be felt. A huge Christmast Street in the center of the town, and the bright christmas lights still strung on the street. The weather was brisk in December, but nothing unmanageable. The hotel is perfectly situated at the end of the circumvesuviana line, and such a short walk from the train station. My husband and I wheeled our luggage right off, and took the directions the hotel gave us and were there within a 5 minute walk. I have to say the location was perfect. Hotel Sorrento City is located right on the main shopping street. So if you like the convenience of walking left or right outside of the hotel for a bite, or coffee, this is a great place. We got a great room facing the street so we were lucky to have holiday lights still up and shining down the street. So beautiful.

Staff & Hotel -
The staff - Yolanda, especially were wonderful. They were all English speaking and had great recommendations on restaurants, and what sights to see in 3 days. The rooms were small (typical for Europe though), but very clean. The continental breakfast is just enough to get you started for the day - juice, coffee, toast, deli meats, and yogurt.

Sights -
Capri - short walk down to the hydrofoil (boat that takes you to Capri) - you'll really need a tour once you get to the island, as it's not that easy to get around. But the 4 hour bus tour is totally worth it!
Positano & Amalfi - walk back to the train station where you'll get on the bus.
Takes under an a hour for the stop at Positano, but head to Amalfi (another 45 minutes) first then head back to Positano on your way back to Sorrento.
You won't really need a tour as the busy drops and picks you up right in the towns. These two picturesque coastal towns are so worth visiting. But the star is the bus driving. It's insane how the drivers maneuver this bus through the narrow curves where there are no rails!
Pompeii Ruins - This was our last day before we headed to Rome. We packed up and got on the train. About 25 minutes to Pompeii and you can store your luggage near the cafe at the train station for about 3Euros per piece. The Ruins were quite a site. You'll really appreciate the history!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The location of this hotel is great. It's very close to the bus station and train station . It's also on the main street. The relationship of the staff is very hot , nice and friendly . They are ready to help in every moment in every subject we had questions about . The hotel is small, beautiful and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at Hotel Sorrento City with our family of 4 (2 teenagers) in a quad room (had fold down bunk beds). We would recommend this hotel due to the following:
1) Location: Ideal for bus/train travelers as its near the station and on the main street just a block from the main square
2) Breakfast: Good variety and fresh
3) Clean: Building is new or recently remodeled

Our only significant complaint was the size of the room (quite small for 4 people)

Sorrento is a great base -- we did Naples and the Amalfi Coast. Other trips we've done Pompeii and Capri.

Room Tip: Small rooms. Our room was quiet even though the hotel is on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were very impressed with the service at this hotel. They were very professional and were very attentive to our needs. For example, we bought phone cards and had them installed for a local telephone number in Italy. My card didn't work. The manager called the company we bought them from and had them bring the new cards to us so we would not have to miss any of our trips that we had planned for that day. She took care of everything. Chas.

Room Tip: We loved the room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel is very close to the train station (which was helpful) and on one of the main streets (which was very pretty and done up for christmas). We only stayed one night, arrived late and left early so I can't say much about the city except that if you walked a few minutes from the hotel there was a pretty viw of the sea... but most of the cliff line was taken up by fancier hotels and you either had to stay there or buy drinks at their bar to enjoy it. The hotel itself was very pretty and comfortable. We had a room for four which was one double bed and a set of bunk beds... all of which were decent. The room was very clean and had a mini fridge and a decent sized shower which got very hot. While we did technically have an outside terrace it was walled in on all sides except the roof... so there was no veiw of anything. And we were disapointed that the roof garden was closed. The woman at the desk explained that it was closed for the winter which totally makes sense and might even be on the website somewhere... but we didn't know so we were a little bummed. Anyway it was a comfortable, clean, pleasant room and I felt like it was a good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel is in a perfect location in the heart of Sorrento, allowing you to easily walk to the main square, the restaurants and shops, and the train/bus station. The rooms were spotless, and the hotel was simply but classically decorated. I traveled with my husband and 2 young adult daughters. We had the quad room with a double bed and bunk beds that turned down from the wall. Although the room was small and didn't have alot of extra space, it worked perfectly for us as you really don't want to spend lots of time in your room- you want to be out exploring the beautiful town. The beds were all very comfortable, and we had an adorable balcony. Breakfast choices were more than enough, and there were delicious home baked cakes, the smell of those greeted us when we checked into the hotel.
The staff was wonderful. Theresa and Iolanda were so nice and helpful with great recommendations. Iolanda saved the day and arranged for a cab with a very charming driver to take us to Positano when we found out the bus was not running. The gentleman who worked at the desk was also very nice. This is a good base for traveling to Pompeii and the Amalfi coast. The Hotel Sorrento City had a great feel to it, and was a very good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia, 221, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorrento City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.