We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Residenza

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Residenza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Residenza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rota 44 | on the grounds of Hotel Parco dei Principi, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Roma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The garden is beautiful. This is the most impressive thing of the hotel.
It's very clean, the staff is gentle and helpful.
The pool is GREAT.. they have 2: one at La Residenza and one 100mt away, near the Parco building. The second is really impressive, sea view...
The food is normal, not bad, not great. Maybe in south Italy I had better food, but it's fresh, good taste... just a little bit usual.
If you consider the rate, the hotel is very very good!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    11
    15
    16
See reviews for
11
31
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Positive points:
Acceptable location. Acceptable means that the hotel is (formally being not in Sorreno at all) in the valking 20 min distance from the Sorrento central area, though the way is not very pleasant.
Rooms are clean and room service is quite OK. No need to leave 1 EUR coin every morning on the bed (like in Spain opr Greece) to get the room clean in the evening.
Qiuet nights provided that you get a room going to the garden.
Positive aspects end on that.
Negative points:
The worst is the meals. Breakfast meals is very poor in choice, e.g. no friuts at all. The worst is coffee from their coffee machine - I could never imagine I would be able to taste this in Italy. If you would like to add hot milk (which is available only from the same machine) this is a disaster - you will get some strange grey fluid with traces of white powder.
If you have HB option, then you have an even bigger problem. Dinner is served in the neighboring Park dei Principi 5 star hotel, and for guests from La Rezidenza they have an a-la-carte menu consisting of 5 points not changing during the week. Among them for example there is "eggs with tomatoes" - our neighbors tried to order it when they learned the other ones by heart. They got 2 fried eggs, and after they asked "where are tomatoes" the plate was taken away and returen in 2 minutes with one cherry tomato on top. If you try to order wine (which you surely pay by yourself), you are proposed a simple choice "white one or red one" - even without names!
Using the beach costs 20 EUR per person per day, no further comments.
They offer you for free using the pool of the Park dei Principi hotel. But water there (as they claim, "sea water") is so much filled with chlorine, that we could not stand it for more than 2 days.
In general, the hotel cannot stand for comparison with other 4 star hotels we stayed at for lower prices during a couple of last years ( for example, Aquarium in Lloret de Mar, Spain, or Silva Beach in Hersonissos, Greece).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Residenza, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, guest comments are very important for us in order to improve our services, but we are very sorry that the stay was not up to your expectation. We regret that you didn’t like our restaurant and food, but we thank you for showing us these things. We will try to get better! Anyway we want to tell you that during the stay, our customers can contact staff and our Duty Manager to solve problems. We always try to satisfy our customers.

Custormer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This must be the worst hotel that I have stayed in for a very very long time. I cannot believe that a respected company like Trafalgar tours could choose a dump like this. Aircon not working. Room is grubby. Mould in the shower and no hot water. You even have to pay 20 euro to use the hotel next doors beach. Poor show

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Residenza, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, guest comments are very important for us in order to improve our services, but we are very sorry that the stay was not up to your expectation.We are sorry for the airconditioning and other problems, moreover we want to inform you that during the stay a Duty Manager was available to solve any problem and maked your stay more comfortable.
We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to show you that all the negative aspects that you noticed don’t correspond to our standard.

Custormer Care
La Residenza
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Having read reviews I tried to upgrade to main hotel before I came but cost was ridiculous
So so glad we did not, this is just perfect

Typical Mediterranean 4 star with loads of benefits from location and main hotel

Pool is a gem
Staff really friendly and helpful
Breakfast was so relaxing, eat inside if you wish but the terrace was lovely and quiet, not a single insect!!!

It is a fair walk to town but only 10 mins
Shuttle buss is provided for 5 euros

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Do not be put off by other reviews! returned yesterday from weeks stay at this hotel and had amazing holiday. lovely room,spacious and clean with big bathroom. Balconey overlooking beautiful gardens was peaceful. Only one minute stroll through grounds to gorgeous pool with helpful staff always ready to find us sunbeds and hand out clean towels.The view from terrace one of best in sorrento and we used beach area for free. The walk into sorrento takes ten mins and we enjoyed finding new places to visit on the way. If you can take bus trip to Positano for the day (only 7,20 euros from bus station) the coastline takes your breath away and it is totally gorgeous place with best beach in area. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

How this hotel received a 4* rating is beyond belief.
First impressions really do count.
The hotel is reminicent of tenement block from the ukraine and painted in a cold pale green/grey.
There is no sign above or outside the hotel (you enter through the very palatial gates of the 5* hotel next door)
A single halogen light aove the entrance greets you in the evening dusk - receptionist confirmed yes this is the hotel La Residenza.
Reception area does not contain any paraphanalia, leaflets, tourist information it is totally devoid of any indication you are in a 3* hotel - let alone 4*.(Although the receptionist will answer any questions you may have)
No bar or lounge facilities.
Breakfast very basic eaten in a atmosphere of "condemmed guests/prisoners".

The rooms are very clean and more than adequate (balcony furniture plastic garden table was absolutely filthy (put cover over it)

The grounds of the hotel ..are beautiful and maintained constantly by a multitude of staff (maybe this and the adjoining 5* hotel contributed to the current 4* rating).

In summary: The Hotel gives the impression it is the accomodation quarters for the staff/workers from the adjacent 5* hotel.

Room Tip: In summary; If you are simply looking for a comfortable clean room, this is for you. Front rooms.b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Residenza, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, guest comments are very important for us in order to improve our services, but we are very sorry that the stay was not up to your expectation. We are sorry that you didn’t like the hotel. We want to emphasize that La Residenza has many facilities: swimming pool, private beach, restaurant, bar and parking. Moreover we want to inform you that during the stay a Duty Manager is available to solve any problem and make your stay more comfortable. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to show you that all the negative aspects that you noticed don’t correspond to our standard.
Kind Regards

Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We found the hotel more than adequate and the nice little terrace for breakfast (only) among the trees was very peaceful. The surrounding gardens with parco di prncipi were very nice and the pool area relaxing and enjoyable (it is connected). The rooms were fine and clean.

The only negative was it is a little way from the town centre but there is a bus stop nearby that runs into town. Just be careful coming back at night you get the right bus that goes the same route as we found the buses changed routes in the evening. Hotel staff did assist us so after 1 mistake we ken the system.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residenza

Address: Via Rota 44 | on the grounds of Hotel Parco dei Principi, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Residenza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for La Residenza Sorrento , part of the tourist complex of the Parco dei Principi, which refers to the facade. Immersed in the green of the spectacular botanical park of 27 thousand square meters , is surrounded by oak trees, plants of the Mediterranean tradition and rare trees . Spacious and functional , the 81 rooms have ceramic floors decorated by hand based on the original drawings of the tradition of Vietri with bright patterns in shades of blue sea, yellow and green of the park. For a relaxing stay for guests of the Hotel Lounge Bar , the charming rooftop terrace majolica and the marble of the eighteenth-century Villa Cortchacow , the restaurant Gio Ponti incredible view of the Gulf and the infinite , during the summer season , Syracuse Poggio restaurant , private beach , the cliffs and the extraordinary pool of sea water with sun terrace and pool bar . The Hotel La Residenza has a number of adjustable meeting rooms equipped with free wi-fi and innovative technology conference ; the wide and spacious dining Leonardo with a capacity of 350 seats is surrounded by the garden Bourbon with the opportunity to play coffee break outdoors. Not far from the center of Sorrento , easily reachable on foot or by shuttle , La Residenza is an ideal starting point for exploring the Sorrento coast and the nearby Amalfi Coast, take walks through the typical craft shops and luxury shopping streets of center of Sorrento, visit the island of Capri and the archaeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Sorrento
La Residenza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Residenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.