We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - would go back again (and again)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Girasole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Girasole to your Saves list
Hotel Girasole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 302, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant - would go back again (and again)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a brilliant week's holiday in Sorrento in September 2012. We stayed at this small 3* hotel, which was well located about 10-15 minutes walk from the main centre of Sorrento. Fine for those who are mobile as Sorrento is full of hills and steps, which is probably the main reason why the place is so attractive and beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed the great swimming pool at the Girasole and made full use of this daily. Our room was located on the side of the hotel, where we could see Mount Vesuvius and the vineyards - lovely.

The owners, Rita and Tony, and all the staff were extremely helpful, accommodating and friendly, particularly Tony, Francesco (aka Frank) and Mino, to name just a few. If we ever revisit Sorrento (which we intend to do), this is where we will stay. One night per week (Tuesday I think) they hold a local food and entertainment evening for a very reasonable price. This was one of the best nights of the week. Food was plentiful and very tasty.

We were told that Italy was an expensive place to visit and that we should estimate spending double of what you expect. In fact, we found it very reasonable and we spent half of what we expected, not double. You just need to know where to go and take the public transport not taxis. Public transport was extremely reasonable, particularly compared to the UK. Anyway, if you want to visit this town, don't want to pay inflated fancy hotel prices, this is recommended by us.

Only one negative, we stayed for only one week not two!!!!

Deborah and Elise Walker from Essex, England.

Room Tip: We didn't make a choice or pay extra for a room not facing the main road, we were allocated a si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    133
    36
    17
    7
See reviews for
87
210
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My mother and I have stayed at this lovely family run hotel each time we have been to Sorrento.(3 times) The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a lovely setting of lemon, orange, and grapefruit trees and the pool is very refreshing and scented with jasmine and other flowers that offer an intoxicating rest from the heat of the day. The lunch by the pool is a treat as David prepares his mouthwatering specialities. Love the lemonleaf wrapped mozzarella proscuitto dish.

The hotel reception is very friendly and helpful and always make you feel welcome.
We feel at home here and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORQUAY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic hotel and facilities for all. It was our first visit to sorrento and we were welcomed by a family run hotel that could not do enough for you, not just a room number hotel like these chain of hotels.

It was spotlessly clean and staff that changed our sheets 3 times in a week. Towels were changed daily if required as well. The bedding and sheets are printed with the hotels name on, nice touch.

The bedroom we were in was room 14 on the 3rd floor, very spacious room overlooking the front of the hotel. The road At the front really isn't a problem you have double glazing and wooden covers, with air conditioned room so can't see why you would need to complain.

The pool was very clean and large, amongst the fruit filed gardens, very relaxing and almost a private villa setting.

The reception areas are small but serves it's purpose and the reception is manned at all times with the friendly staff who want to take time to talk to you and be involved if wanted.

We travelled with a 3 year old and the staff were excellent and very friendly feel accommodation, you didn't feel out of place.

The location of the hotel at first was worrying, however short cuts into the town of sorrento quickly rested our mind of the busy road. But by the end we were simply walking it several times a day and never had a problem.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the road noise at the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Friends,
we would like to thank you very much for your kidness. We all work in order to satisfy our guests and make them feeling like at home. It's a great pleasure to read your lines and know that you have had a good time at the Girasole. All of us send you our best regards and would be really happy to welcome you again in the future!
Girasole Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We returned from the Girasole Hotel last week after a great week in Sorrento. The hotel was great value, we just had a couple of minor negatives.
The location is a little far out, about 25 minutes along the very busy and noisy Corso Italia, but we knew this before we travelled and this is not something the hotel can do anything about. The other negative point is the paper thin walls between rooms, you can hear everything next door and unfortunately some people are not very quiet when they leave/return to their room.
The hotel had a lot of positive points, the pool area was lovely, breakfast was great, the room was immaculately clean, comfortable beds and the staff are really friendly and make the effort to chat with you.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a garden view room as the road is extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Friends,

Everyone at the Girasole would like to thank you for your kindness. It's a great pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your holiday here and hoping to see you again we send you our kind regards

Girasole family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just had a fantastic holiday in Sorrento staying at the hotel Girasol; as soon as we arrived we were greeted with a warm friendly welcome by Rita and Tony, we were shown to our room that was spotlessly clean and had a fantastic view of Vesuvius and the bay of Naples. The hotel and grounds are maintained to a very high standard the pool area is a great place to relax and enjoy Davide specials at lunchtime. I would also recommend the enchanted evening on a Tuesday great homemade food with local music my wife received a birthday cake and the other guests all sang Happy birthday which was a lovely surprise, Rita was the perfect host and gave us some good recommendations on eating out in Sorrento town which is only a twenty minute stroll away.
We originally booked this hotel for a week followed by a week in ravello but after a disappointing hotel in ravello we arranged to return back to the hotel Girasole to finish the rest of our stay, we were greeted by Rita and in our room was a lovely bouquet off sunflowers and a welcome back card. We would just like to thank the whole family at Girasol for our wonderful stay, see you all next year all ready booked for 2013 Tony and Karen

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Tony and Karen,
thank you very much for your kindness and for your beautiful words! It has been a great pleasure for us to have you as our guests. Here at Girasole, everybody remember you with great pleasure (specially David...) and we all are looking forward to see you next year.
Rita and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed on a Thomson package in early October 2012. Stayed in room 47 which is on the 3rd floor at the rear with a fantastic view of Vesuvius and the bay of Naples. We paid the room upgrade and was worth doing to avoid any road noise to the front of the hotel.
Pleased with the breakfast, pool area and service in the hotel. Good clean place and hotel staff are friendly and owners are very polite. A wave and 'hello' nearly everytime we left the reception.
When ordering drinks etc in the hotel a tally is kept and you settle a bill at the end for everything. Very handy for the pool during the day.
A nice touch on check out was the breakfast package for our early flight home.

Room Tip: Pay the room upgrade fee if booking via Thomson - its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have been to this hotel for 2 consecutive years. We had a lovely room - very clean and cool with great views. the staff are friendly and helpful; it does not have the clinical approach of a chain hotel. Breakfast can be taken in the charming garden every morning.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a sea or garden view, at the back or side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girasole

Address: Corso Italia 302, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Girasole Hotel is a nice family hotel in Sorrento which gives a warm and friendly hospitality to its guests. The private pool, immersed in the green of a wonderful orange–grove typical of Sorrento, is surrounded by flowers and plants. The pool bar offers a good selection of local dishes and sandwiches, cold drinks, ice cream and home made cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Girasole Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Girasole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.