We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming oasis with gorgeous view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison La Minervetta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Maison La Minervetta to your Saves list
Maison La Minervetta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo, 25, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming oasis with gorgeous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed four nights at La Minervetta, as a base for seeing the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, Capri and, of course, Sorrento. The hotel is entirely charming. Incredible views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius, as well as the port. The design ethic is unique and well executed - the attention to detail in the charming and whimsical decor was evident and successful. There is a fantastic terrace with stunning views for breakfast, sitting and drinks. Breakfast was delicious, made more so by the setting. All staff were extremely helpful. Location is very good - on a cliff that is away from the centre of town, and so it is quiet. It is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the main square, and maybe five more minutes to an ATM that takes debit cards on the CIRRUS or PLUS networks. The parking lot is small, if you are considering driving (we didn't). Same-day or next-day laundry is not available, so you should plan for that. We would certainly use this as a local base again - it is a relaxing oasis, especially if the rest of your trip is busy.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, they all had amazing views. We were on the first level below the lobby (all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    27
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
457
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived at La Minervetta to relax after our daughter's wedding in Tuscany. A great friend had strongly recommended Minervetta as an absolute must.....She was so right. Loved the designer boutique atmosphere with super helpful, yet low key staff. We happily installed ourselves in Room #1 with a sweeping panoramic view of the harbor, mountains and Vesuvius. Sitting by the window, sipping a glass of wine and watching the happenings in the harbor was mesmerizing. The breakfast on the large patio is also outstanding. Minervetta only serves the best and freshest. Looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Have enjoyed a week at Maison La Minervetta, Sorrento. This beautiful hotel overlooks the Bay of Naples. Waking up to a magnificent vista: Mt Vesuvius, blue water and charming fishing boats. The hotel is an experience in itself: quirky artworks, Mediterranean ambience - all very classy. Amazing breakfast on the terrace. Paolo and Francesca (front of house and breakfast respectively) made us feel at home. Nothing was too much bother.
Good access to the city centre, trains and buses for sightseeing. Take the local bus to Amalfi for wonderful views along the way.
I'm already planning my next trip back to Sorrento and to La Minervetta!

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the bay - which is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Maison La Minervetta is the BEST hotel ever. It is truly one-of-a-kind in style, location, view, hospitality, and service. We loved every minute of our recent stay there. The breakfasts were amazing. Not only was the food, service, and selection incredible - but being able to enjoy the most magnificent view from the outside terrace was a great way to start the day. The afternoon/early evening snacks and cocktails were fabulous, too. We cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: I do not think there is a bad room in the hotel - there are only 12 rooms - and each has an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After reading all the amazing reviews I had the biggest expectations and was ready to love the place, but, they can not win us all.

It is actually more of a B&B than a hotel - do not expect over attentive staff or full hotel style facilities.
The room was very nice. We had a corner room with a French balcony and the most fantastic views. We took great pleasure in watching the life in Marina Grande. The bed linen was of exquisite Egyptian quality- really nice. Minus was that the TV had only SKY and CNN.
The bath was OK. The shower you needed to handhold as there was a “rain-shower” on top with “light rain” at the most.
When we arrived the man who accompanied us to our room noticed that the roof-lamp in the room had gone. It was not fixed during our stay, and we did not bother to remind them.

There is also no information book giving you some details on the hotel facilities. We were told we could come to reception and ask anything we wanted. That would be fine except that the staff did not act in the way that you would like to bother them.

The breakfast was good, but a bit like hanging out in someone's residential kitchen.
We have never experienced such lack of hospitality and smile at any breakfast before. No greeting, no smile, no offering of anything. Best if you do not bother the ladies which seems very busy doing very little.
They will make you eggs or pancakes, but you have to go out of your way to ask and we felt we were being a nuisance asking. We noticed other guests were getting eggs with their breakfast. Otherwise, we would never have known they were on offer.
The same goes for tea and coffee, and after getting this from a lady without any smile, we did not feel the urge to ask for anything else. The balcony outside the kitchen was wonderful.

Overall the hotel was nice, but lacked that special personal attention and pampering that is normally found in a higher class hotel. The whole atmosphere of the hotel made us feel a little at unease and not truly comfortable.

We appreciate that not everyone will agree .
Nevertheless, we know that if you are looking for the true Italian feeling (we have experienced for nearly 30 years of travelling in this beautiful country), this is not the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in January 2013. It had just re-opened with freshly painted rooms, and since it was off-season there weren't many things open or many tourists in the area. The staff at La Minervetta was unbelievably nice. They helped us with everything from restaurant recommendations to a driver (to see the Amalfi coast). They helped make reservations and were even just nice to chat with during down time. The property is amazing... by far the most beautiful place I have EVER been to. All the rooms have a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples and you can see Mount Vesuvius in the distance. They served us made-to-order breakfast every morning... so we definitely gained a few pounds while staying here. The food was delicious!

The hotel is a short walk uphill from the main area of town. You will want to get a cab from the train station to the hotel if you have luggage (try Aldo's Limo's, as some of the other cabbies charge us almost 2x as much - we learned the hard way). Without luggage, you can easily walk into town, so you will only need a car/cab if you have a suitcase.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed like they had a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel in March 2013 and I must say it was an exceptional experience. Maison La Minervetta is an Art Deco boutique style hotel. I believe it only has about 12 rooms with all of them having an ocean view. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are served on the main level which is warmly and colorfully decorated. There is a quaint bed and breakfast feel to the place. It is conveniently located close to the Main Street leading to the center of town (about 10 to 15 minute walk). There are many small shops lining this street which my wife loved. We'd return to this property in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison La Minervetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison La Minervetta

Address: Via Capo, 25, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison La Minervetta 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison La Minervetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison La Minervetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.