We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zi Teresa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zi Teresa to your Saves list
Hotel Zi Teresa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vico III Rota 3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. We weren't sure what to expect as we normally book all inclusive. When we arrived we were greeted by the reception staff who all speak very good English. We arrived quite late so we were asked to pick off the menu and we went straight for food. You get a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains. Don't be put off by this, the food is amazing!!! I am quite a fussy eater but I ate all my food every night, I never saw a plate go back into the kitchen with food on it! The breakfast is as dates continental and very Italian, they like their pastries. But there is toast, eggs, cereal and croissants for those not brave enough to have the breakfast pizza! The drinks at the hotel are cheaper than outside bars. A bottle of wine is €8 and water €2. They are very good and will save what you don't drink for the following night so if your like me and don't want to drink a whole bottle of wine then it's perfect!! If you have an early morning flight home then ask for a breakfast bag, they gave us water, juice, croissants, pastries, biscuits, we didn't go hungry!

We went with Thompson but did not book any trips with them, as usual they were too expensive. If you do go with Thompson they do a walk around Sorrento after the welcome meeting which is free and very helpful, plus you get free food and drinks to try all the way round.

We used the train which is situated about 5 mins walk away. Turn left at the bar Kontantino. The train takes you all the way to Naples and stops at Pompeii, Eurcolano. If your going to Pompeii, it takes around 30 mins, it's about €3.50 for a return and then the entrance fee is €11. Eurcolano is where will be find Vesuvius, the train was €4.40 return and when you get to the station you pay €20 to get the bus up, this also includes the entrance fee. Wear sensible shoes as it is very very steep. I wouldn't recommend sandals. We then went down the hill from the station about 5 mins away and went to the ruins at Herculaneum. Also worth a look.

When you are in Sorrento and fancy a meal out there is the most amazing Steak house called The Meating. When you are at the main square turn left past the restaurant and up a side street. The steak is to die for! We payed €38 and we both had steak and 2 sides. You get free champagne, cheese, pizza bread, chocolates and lemonchello. All of this is given without a surcharge.

When eating out be mindful that they will sometimes charge you to sit down, even if you only have a bottle of water. Just ask at each restaurant.

Tea and coffee can be expensive but if you pay Costa prices the. You really cannot moan.

don't expect a beach in Sorrento like one person has reviewed, if you read the brochure it does say. Sorrento is for sight seeing!!! The hotel has a roof terrace, this has limited subbed a but is perfect for catching the rays or even going up at night to see the amazing view.

All in all an amazing holiday and little gem of a hotel!!

Hopefully I have not missed anything out!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    125
    51
    21
    14
See reviews for
48
152
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just returned after a weeks stay ending 23rd September.
The hotel itself is quite adequate the staff are lovely,very helpful both reception and restaurant staff,however,the food leaves a lot to be desired,not much choice for dinner plus breakfast is quite poor.

Sorrento itself is quite nice, but there are no beaches as such,except boardwalk types for which you have to pay.

Capri is very expensive, 7euros for a small plate of chips and 5 euros for a tiny sandwich, plus a lot
Of hanging around for transport to take you up the island. a boat trip will cost you an additional €15 on top of the Thompson organised trip cost

Pompeii is very nice but beware if you go on a Thompson organised trip,although its written on the information sheet given, we didn't realise that you have to pay an additional €11 entry fee on top of the half day trip cost which makes it expensive.

Would not rush to re visit

Room Tip: They don't have a fitness centre but I can't delete the "terrible "review entered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Zi Teresa in September 2013 and had a great time. The location is perfect with only a short walk into central Sorrento and nicely tucked away from the busy Corso Italia. We had a room with a balcony on the 5th floor with a spectacular view over the bay of Naples and Vesusvias. The room was clean and spacious with clean towels every day and the staff very friendly and helpful. We will definetly be coming back to Sorrento and will be sure to stay at this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent a great week at this “small and friendly” hotel booked through Thomson, and would highly recommend it. The staff are hardworking, friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, comfortable, large and airy, decorated in a typically Italian fashion, with good sized bathrooms (shower good, hairdryer not very effective as others have warned – bring your own!) Towels changed daily, beds every other and shower gel when needed. Most rooms have small balconies: some overlook the pool on the sunny front side; others, like ours (#403) are cooler and overlook lemon groves and on towards the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Ask for a room on a high floor for the best views, but if you can’t get one, there’s always the roof terrace on floor 6 with fabulous views of the Bay, the volcano and the sunsets, with a drink and camera at hand! You can even check out which cruise ships are in port that day (with a pair of binoculars to read the names!) and whilst we were there, we watched TWO firework displays and some natural fireworks – no, not Vesuvius, an electrical storm which went on for several hours!

Buffet breakfast is typically Italian with lots of pastries (both sweet and savoury), as well as cereal, (tinned) fruit salad or prunes, fruit juice (orange and grapefruit), croissants, toast, and, on Thursdays and Sundays, scrambled eggs – worth the wait! Gianfranco, the head waiter, will serve you tea, coffee or hot chocolate and give you a basic lesson in his beloved Italian! If you are staying half board, you choose your evening meal over breakfast, from three antipasti and three entrees; the desert is chef’s sorpresa (surprise)! That way there is little waste and the food is prepared and (almost) waiting for you. If told in advance, the hotel can cater for special diets (both gluten and lactose intolerances were dealt with without any fuss). The evening meal was waiter service and the BEST Italian food we have ever tasted, courses beginning large and getting smaller each time, but you often struggled to fit in the dessert! Coffee/tea can be purchased in the lounge above after the meal.

The pool (small but adequate for a little gentle exercise and cooling off) has a Jacuzzi – ask Luigi if it’s not working - and is open from 10 – 6, and there were plenty of umbrellas and sunbeds to relax on after a long day’s walking round ruins or shops! Watch out for the friendly lizard.

The hotel has a great location: set back from the busy Corsa Italia main road but only 10 minutes’ stroll from central Piazza Tasso, train and bus stations and 15 minutes’ walk from the ferries. If you want a change from Luigi’s lunch or are looking for something for a picnic, on the Corsa Italia across the road close by there is a fresh fruit and veg store and Rita’s Pasticceria, which sells delicious pizza as well as lovely deserts, and a Deco supermarket 5 minutes down the main road.

NB the side road is too narrow for coaches to negotiate, so Thomson guests were dropped off and picked up at the Hotel Flora just round the corner on the main road.

Tip 1: if possible, avoid Friday departures from Naples' small airport - I believe they are a bit of a nightmare and entail arriving very early for your flight (thus curtailing your holiday somewhat!)

Tip 2 for a quieter walk into the centre, turn right out of the hotel and then left at the T junction by the sports stadium. On the way into town you can even walk through shady lemon groves and taste some of the locally produced Limoncello (there were also liquorice and basil flavours when we visited).

Room Tip: High floor (4 or 5) with a pool view if you like it hot, a lemon grove view if you like it cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The location of the hotel is quite convenient, just a few minutes walk away from the train station and town central. The room was quite spacious and clean. I didn't need the air con and just left the windows open as it was quite breezy. It was a little bit tucked away from the main road so it was nice and quiet. I was planning to take the ferry to Capri early in the morning and the reception staff was really friendly! He gave me a map of Capri and gave me a few suggestions. Turns out he was originally from Capri! The map was extremely helpful because the tourist info booth wasn't open yet when we arrived, so it was nice to have it on hand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

On arrival we were concerned about the noise from the main road, this was short lived. On entering the side road the noise reduced dramatically and once inside the hotel is peaceful and relaxed. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The standard of the rooms is good, very clean and the bed although firm was not uncomfortable. The rooms are cleaned daily with towel changes and bedding was changed every other day. The only downside which was probably due to personal preference was the breakfast - too many sweet options for my liking but for anyone used to this, I am sure it was a lovely morning meal. The toaster was a painful experience and perhaps either a superior model or another toaster may make it easier. The waiting staff were lovely, friendly and always greeted you with a smile. We were only booked B/B so can't comment on the evening meals although the daily menu looked quite good. In all it was worth the cost and made a great base to see Sorrento and surrounding areas. Close to bus and train station and a short walk to the centre of Sorrento.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is my second visit to ZI,I was surprised to find a new swimming pool and sun lounge area at front of hotel a much needed addition to the hotel.The staff were excellent as expected in a very Italian Hotel,A good sign I find is if its guests are mainly Italian there cant be much wrong with the hotel.A lovely atmostphere throughout hotel,friendly polite staff especialy Gianfranco who runs the dinning room like clockwork .On a Sunday afternoon there appeared several parents and children who didnt seem to be guests but friends of office staff this should be looked at as pool area is not really big enough for additional people.

Room Tip: Make sure you order a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zi Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi Teresa

Address: Vico III Rota 3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zi Teresa 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Zi Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zi Teresa Hotel
Zi Teresa Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zi Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.