We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the silver service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante O'Puledrone

Ristorante O'Puledrone
Via marina grande - 80067 - Sorrento (NA), Sorrento, Italy
Update restaurant details
Ranked #12 of 215 restaurants in Sorrento
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Forget the silver service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Don't be put off by this place looking a bit rough. The fresh fish here is excellent. We had a lunch of fried sardines and a tomato salad. It made our day and we just wish we had found this gem earlier on our holiday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    56
    19
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkeston
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Superb simple fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The restaurant is owned by the Fishermen's Co-operative who, we discovered, run a number of other activities in the area. On a fine day there can be few better places to enjoy freshly caught fish, simply grilled or fried. It didn't need fancy sauces or elaborate presentation. It was simple perfection. The food was served rapidly, but clearly cooked to order. The service was friendly and polite and the price very moderate for the quality.
There don't appear to be any indoor tables, so it's better to go on a fine day, but there are sheltered seats and also ones right by the waters edge. All have a great view of the harbour, the fishermen mending their nets, and across the bay as far as Naples.
Eat here with a clear conscience, knowing you contribute right into the local economy with no 'middle-men'! The food is just great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Excellent O'Puledrone, Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sorrento provided various very good moments/experiences....boat trip to Almalfi/Pompeii/Vesuvius, but when it came to dining out this was simply excellent. Sitting virtually on the beach the place does not look "flash" and certainly within a few metres there are better looking places to eat, but don't be fooled....this is an outstanding restaurant. Quality fresh fish a speciality, but other dishes also very good. Well presented by conscientious friendly local residents. Musical entertainment of a local variety may also come your way to add to the authenticity of the experience. Go and enjoy....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We walked down here from our hotel Settimo Cielo having looked down on this pretty village from our balcony. It was late morning and we stopped off just for a coffee but, having seen the fish dishes coming out, stayed for a light lunch of a shared plate of fried anchovies and chips. Smashing service from a man of a certain age (possibly a retired fisherman) and a delightful young lady. Ideal for watching the activities of this working fishing village. Surprisingly clean and modern toilet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a lovely location. Fresh seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly cooked seafood and fish and all at a reasonable price! Very lovely service and made feel very welcome. Tables right by the water in the marina.
Didn't look as posh as some of the other restaurants on the marina but we went to one of the nicer ones last night and was double the price and food and service was half the quality.
You should definitely give this place a try for fresh (cought that day) fish cought by the owner himself!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante O'Puledrone also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante O'Puledrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante O'Puledrone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.