We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the silver service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante O'Puledrone - CLOSED

Ristorante O'Puledrone
Via marina grande - 80067 - Sorrento (NA), Sorrento, Italy
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Forget the silver service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Don't be put off by this place looking a bit rough. The fresh fish here is excellent. We had a lunch of fried sardines and a tomato salad. It made our day and we just wish we had found this gem earlier on our holiday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    35
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Superb simple fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The restaurant is owned by the Fishermen's Co-operative who, we discovered, run a number of other activities in the area. On a fine day there can be few better places to enjoy freshly caught fish, simply grilled or fried. It didn't need fancy sauces or elaborate presentation. It was simple perfection. The food was served rapidly, but clearly cooked to order. The service was friendly and polite and the price very moderate for the quality.
There don't appear to be any indoor tables, so it's better to go on a fine day, but there are sheltered seats and also ones right by the waters edge. All have a great view of the harbour, the fishermen mending their nets, and across the bay as far as Naples.
Eat here with a clear conscience, knowing you contribute right into the local economy with no 'middle-men'! The food is just great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Excellent O'Puledrone, Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sorrento provided various very good moments/experiences....boat trip to Almalfi/Pompeii/Vesuvius, but when it came to dining out this was simply excellent. Sitting virtually on the beach the place does not look "flash" and certainly within a few metres there are better looking places to eat, but don't be fooled....this is an outstanding restaurant. Quality fresh fish a speciality, but other dishes also very good. Well presented by conscientious friendly local residents. Musical entertainment of a local variety may also come your way to add to the authenticity of the experience. Go and enjoy....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We walked down here from our hotel Settimo Cielo having looked down on this pretty village from our balcony. It was late morning and we stopped off just for a coffee but, having seen the fish dishes coming out, stayed for a light lunch of a shared plate of fried anchovies and chips. Smashing service from a man of a certain age (possibly a retired fisherman) and a delightful young lady. Ideal for watching the activities of this working fishing village. Surprisingly clean and modern toilet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a lovely location. Fresh seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly cooked seafood and fish and all at a reasonable price! Very lovely service and made feel very welcome. Tables right by the water in the marina.
Didn't look as posh as some of the other restaurants on the marina but we went to one of the nicer ones last night and was double the price and food and service was half the quality.
You should definitely give this place a try for fresh (cought that day) fish cought by the owner himself!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante O'Puledrone also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante O'Puledrone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;