We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelangelo Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Shelburne, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Michelangelo Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Had a great 4 day stay. Rooms are small (typical in many European cities) but very clean. We had meals in the hotel restaurant and food and service was excellent. Great location; just down the road from city center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    167
    61
    22
    12
See reviews for
87
198
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Newfield, Maine
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Centrally located and much of the city is accessible from this well-appointed hotel. It has everything from a bar (that management is moving to a larger space) manned by a very personable young tender, to an outdoor pool deck perfect for after dinner drinks in privacy. (at least in April) Serves mostly American tour groups, which is both good and bad. We ran into a few, picky "ugly Americans" with whom I was kind of embarrassed to be associated. Like other places in Europe, beds were hard, which I like, but others may not. Pillows were thin too; but so were those in France. I was on a tour, and the food was what you would expect: not bad, lots of pasta but not inspired. If you want a more authentic Italian experience I would not choose this hotel. But overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be located away from the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel serves the purpose... Clean with good cleaning service and central location and easy on the wallet... The breakfast was bad, service in the breakfast was poor.

The pizza place next door is amazing... Lemon orchard across is good... Easy walk to the port and the center.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, NH
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at the Michelangelo Hotel in Sorrento, Italy. As some of the previous reviews stated, it has some drawbacks.
The bad, If you feel you must go to this Hotel, please look at the room they assign you first. As stated, some of the bathroom showers look like they come from a hobbits house, meaning they measure about 2 by 2 feet square, without exaggeration. You virtually cannot move without fear of breaking the glass walls as you hit them with every movement. The bathroom itself was large enough to make these showers larger not sure why they feel people can use these tiny spaces. If you should drop the soap you actually have to get out of the shower to pick it up. We did go with a tour and I heard the same complaints from many people. Many rooms overlook a railroad and a street, not terribly attractive. maybe Americans are used to larger bath spaces than Europeans, but really this was almost laughable as an excuse for a shower. Their are already pictures online, they are correct. One picture also attached. Air conditioning is apparently something Italians don't really like, so therefore no one else should either as there is none that is turned on. The week we stayed, April, it was constantly 70-80 degrees in the daytime and the room was a sauna upon our return, we had to sleep with the window open and use earplugs to sleep. Not a relaxing experience. The room has a safe which the Hotel gladly charges you 10.00 euros to use, seriously, I have complained before about outrageous charges for Wi-Fi at Hotels, but have never encountered a fee to use the room safe, which of course no one mentioned until checkout. Italy now charges another hidden fee upon checkout ranging from 1.50 euros in Sorrento to 3 euros in Rome as a sort of extra Tax per person per night, and must be paid in cash, I guess the government plans on balancing it's budget from tourist .Free Wi-Fi is available in the Lobby not your room.

The average- breakfast has been complained about before here but we did find it to be decent. A good spread of meats and cheeses along with many breads and yogurt, fruit, several cereals, good coffee and several juices were more than adequate for breakfast. Dinners were decent but by no means excellent, we went out several times to area eateries for a good sampling of Italian food, it's bearable but bland and small portions. the front desk staff are rather stiff if not down right uncourteous. The waiters were so so and finally managed to smile once in a while the 3rd or 4th day. All in all the dining experience was rather underwhelming.

The good- the entire Hotel was very clean and maid service was very good, the rooms were spotless. The location is excellent, a 5 minute walk down the main street to the local square and many shopping places and not much further to the waterfront, so the location is very nice to visit Sorrento, which we found to be a lovely city, which I am sure you will enjoy discovering. If you are lucky enough to get a tour guide named Celestina, you will find the experience even more enjoyable, as she was just fantastic, with a personality which will make you fall in love with the city before she even begins the tour.
All in all a bearable place but I feel you can do better if you look around a bit more. I would not go here on my own again unless their was nothing else available in the area.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you accept it, especially the bathroom and see if the ac works in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Spent recently 3 nights - nothing to complain, except that the view from balcony was to the railwaystation 5 minute walk from the hotel - luckily the trains stopped at the station for the night.
Very small swimming pool and no beach-resort, but I was not looking for that either. Very good location near to the main square and shops and bars. Lovely park across the street. I did expect something more from the breakfast and the dinner was not much of a gourmet, but ok. Waiters were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed two nights and could of stayed for much longer!! The Hotel was beautiful and very clean. I checked in via my tour guide Ornella from my trip to Pompei. All very smooth! My room also backed onto the train line but for me this was not a problem. As a single traveller I found the size of the room fantastic!!! The bathroom was amazingly huge which I love!!! Beds very comfortable and cosy!!! The staff were amazing at my dinner service!! Extra special attention as a solo traveller. Staff are vey accommodating and are more than happy to make your stay pleasant!! I am already planning my next stay there!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had a 2 night stay here and absolutely loved it. You are within walking distance to everything. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The breakfast was continental , there was plenty to choose from. We had dinner included in our package which was a set menu but again, the variety was good. Some people asked for other choices and that was no problem, the staff were very accommodating. The only criticism I have is the shower was very small. The rooms are small but certainly comfortable enough. There is free wifi in the foyer. We would love to stay here again if we returned to Sorrento.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.