We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Nr Doncaster
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“September 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Excellent bits: - Location. 5 minutes from bus and train station, 10 minute stroll into the centre of Sorrento (on the flat unless you want to go to the harbour). Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel very clean.

Not bad, but not brilliant: - If you like to complete your 3 course evening meal from sitting down to leaving to be around 30 to 40 minutes you will be fine. If you like a leisurely meal - no chance. We had to ask the staff to slow down between courses as we didn't have time to digest and appreciate, but that didn't help much.

In the same category we would advise that if the restaurant is busy at evening meal time (6.30 to 8.30) the one and only bar man is called in to help so you cannot get a drink or a table cleared until he gets back which can be in excess of an hour so if you like a drink before dinner get in early, if you like a drink after dinner you could be lucky or you may have to take a stroll out.

Would we visit again? Sorrento NO, its far to expensive for eating and drinking, but if prices fell to a reasonable level we would recommend Sorrento and would definitely stay at the Michelangelo (where surprisingly for a hotel prices aren't too bad).

Rooms not a bad size and have a TV (only a couple of English speaking channels). Many of the Americans did not think the shower cubicles were big enough. We British must have smaller bathrooms as we felt ours adequate. We had a large terrace backing onto the railway line which never bothered us one bit. The trains do not run particularly early or late and actually not that often so no problems.

Go get on a train to Pompeii its only 11 euros and a great day out. Sorrento is the last stop on the line so you cannot really get off in the wrong place. Pompeii well advertised as a stop so you are unlikely to miss the stop.

Go have a great time but take lots of spending money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    153
    55
    22
    11
See reviews for
82
184
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canfield, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was great and the staff was very friendly. Our room was nice with a great balcony overlooking the pool. We enjoyed sipping Limoncello on the balcony as a nightcap. The breakfast buffet was great, but with so many great restaurants nearby we never even considered lunch or dinner at the hotel. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very pretty hotel in a convenient location. Staff was not very friendly and the room was the smallest room I have every been in. Room #402 had the smallest shower. Food at the hotel was not very good. You are better to go out to dinner and breakfast. It was clean.

Room Tip: Do not take room #402. There are other room that are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After reading some negative reviews on TripAdvisor, we were admittedly wary going to this hotel.
Imagine our delight in spending six most enjoyable nights at the Michelangelo! From the front desk to the wait staff in the dining room and the cameriera for our room, we were treated most cordially and efficiently. Our room 601, was clean and roomy, the bath towels thick and fluffy with a balconywhich overlooked the patio and pool below. We found the meals flavorful and varied, with reasonable choices.The location was in the center of Sorrento and an easy walk to everything.
We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend the Michelangelo.

Room Tip: Ask for room 601 as it has a lovely step- out balcony and overlooks the patio lounge and the pool be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here mid-October for two nights while on a tour. What a lovely, clean hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor and overlooked the pool and had a nice balcony. The room was spacious and most of all clean and comfortable. I hate going to a room and feeling it is dirty and I can't touch anything without catching who knows what, but this hotel wasn't like that. It was clean and the bathroom was nice and spacious. The staff at the front desk was very nice and friendly. The only downside was there was no Internet access in the rooms, only in the lobby and that is inconvenient. Also the breakfast wasn't very good and not many good choices and the coffee wasn't very good but at least it wasn't from a machine. Overall this hotel was nice and clean and very centrally located to walk anywhere.

Room Tip: We were in 412 and it was lovely with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its central location in Sorrento and it was only a short walk to the Piazza Tasso in the centre of the town where most of the bars and some of the restaurants are located. The hotel is modern and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. However, it was obvious that the hotel specialised in accommodating tour groups and everything gave the impression of being "down to a price rather than up to a standard". The restaurant was adequate for breakfast, but the dinners were very uninspiring. Our bedroom was clean, but rather small. The bathroom door needed some oil and the shower head needed to be descaled. The bedroom was just big enough for our stay of seven days, but we would have expected something a bit better from a four star hotel. Indeed we have stayed in better three star hotels in other towns and cities. While the hotel was conveniently located, it was on a main street and there was some traffic noise although that was not excessive. There was a nice swimming pool on the first floor and a sun terrace on the roof which was quite spacious. A better hotel would have been the Grand Europa Palace which is equidistant from Piazza Tasso, but is more spacious inside and overlooks the sea and the Bay of Naples. It is slightly more expensive, but looked as if it was well worth the very small additional cost. Members of our tour party who stayed there ranked it very highly.

Room Tip: Our room was near the front, but it looked as though the rooms at the back overlooking the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel Michelangelo exceeded my expectations,the room is clean with a balcony,bathroom is pretty cute,the hotel looks like you are really in Italy,they have murals in the lobby,nice cool decor,food to me is superb even the breakfast...hotel staff are friendly,they have a pool which is nice.Hotel is near shopping center,souvineer shops are everywhere,don't forget to buy,hats,anything with lemons,italian belts are 5 euros beside the shop near the hotel,can't get a spa service nearby impromptu,arrange it in advance..tips..if you have time go for a day trip in Positano,lovely ,if you easily get sea sick,ride the bus also cheaper.Going to the ferry,before going down the steps leading to the port,be ready with your camera ,you will see the best view in Italy...also wifi is free in the lobby 24 hrs,love my stay in Michelangelo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.