We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Revelation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Niantic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Revelation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After reading some negative reviews on TripAdvisor, we were admittedly wary going to this hotel.
Imagine our delight in spending six most enjoyable nights at the Michelangelo! From the front desk to the wait staff in the dining room and the cameriera for our room, we were treated most cordially and efficiently. Our room 601, was clean and roomy, the bath towels thick and fluffy with a balconywhich overlooked the patio and pool below. We found the meals flavorful and varied, with reasonable choices.The location was in the center of Sorrento and an easy walk to everything.
We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend the Michelangelo.

Room Tip: Ask for room 601 as it has a lovely step- out balcony and overlooks the patio lounge and the pool be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    160
    58
    22
    11
See reviews for
87
191
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here mid-October for two nights while on a tour. What a lovely, clean hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor and overlooked the pool and had a nice balcony. The room was spacious and most of all clean and comfortable. I hate going to a room and feeling it is dirty and I can't touch anything without catching who knows what, but this hotel wasn't like that. It was clean and the bathroom was nice and spacious. The staff at the front desk was very nice and friendly. The only downside was there was no Internet access in the rooms, only in the lobby and that is inconvenient. Also the breakfast wasn't very good and not many good choices and the coffee wasn't very good but at least it wasn't from a machine. Overall this hotel was nice and clean and very centrally located to walk anywhere.

Room Tip: We were in 412 and it was lovely with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its central location in Sorrento and it was only a short walk to the Piazza Tasso in the centre of the town where most of the bars and some of the restaurants are located. The hotel is modern and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. However, it was obvious that the hotel specialised in accommodating tour groups and everything gave the impression of being "down to a price rather than up to a standard". The restaurant was adequate for breakfast, but the dinners were very uninspiring. Our bedroom was clean, but rather small. The bathroom door needed some oil and the shower head needed to be descaled. The bedroom was just big enough for our stay of seven days, but we would have expected something a bit better from a four star hotel. Indeed we have stayed in better three star hotels in other towns and cities. While the hotel was conveniently located, it was on a main street and there was some traffic noise although that was not excessive. There was a nice swimming pool on the first floor and a sun terrace on the roof which was quite spacious. A better hotel would have been the Grand Europa Palace which is equidistant from Piazza Tasso, but is more spacious inside and overlooks the sea and the Bay of Naples. It is slightly more expensive, but looked as if it was well worth the very small additional cost. Members of our tour party who stayed there ranked it very highly.

Room Tip: Our room was near the front, but it looked as though the rooms at the back overlooking the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel Michelangelo exceeded my expectations,the room is clean with a balcony,bathroom is pretty cute,the hotel looks like you are really in Italy,they have murals in the lobby,nice cool decor,food to me is superb even the breakfast...hotel staff are friendly,they have a pool which is nice.Hotel is near shopping center,souvineer shops are everywhere,don't forget to buy,hats,anything with lemons,italian belts are 5 euros beside the shop near the hotel,can't get a spa service nearby impromptu,arrange it in advance..tips..if you have time go for a day trip in Positano,lovely ,if you easily get sea sick,ride the bus also cheaper.Going to the ferry,before going down the steps leading to the port,be ready with your camera ,you will see the best view in Italy...also wifi is free in the lobby 24 hrs,love my stay in Michelangelo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel does not look big from the front elevation, but it goes back a reasonable distance. We were lucky in that we had a room, with a balcony (which I was really pleased to have for a change) overlooking the small swimming pool.

Others had rooms overlooking the train station which they found somewhat less pleasing. The train were not overly loud, as I believe most were run by electric. But of course I had no personal experience of being in those rooms.

The rooms themselves were clean, a good size and I just loved the fact that we had a balcony. Even when it rained heavily one night and early morning, our balcony remained dry because of the over-hang of the balcony above.

The plublic rooms were good and the restaurant was also quite nice. The food served to us were good portions, and there was free water on the table for those that wanted.

We did have a Menu with a couple of choices per course. Most of the desserts consisted of cake, but I usually opted for ice cream as I didn't want cake. The ice cream was most acceptable!

I would also recommend checking out the roof terraces as they contain seating and sun loungers which I imagine would be lovely to use on hot, sunny days. There are at least two as well as the area around the pool (which to be honest, we never looked for or came across)

Located at one end of the main street it was only a walk of about five minutes to the narrow lanes that made up a lot of the shopping in Sorrento.

The sea front can be accessed by foot (via a very long, fairly steep road) or if you can find it, there is also a lift which does cost (not sure how much) but is much faster and easier.

I did not find much of interest at sea level, mostly there is the harbour with ferry's across to the Isle of Capri.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are more or less the same, only the views would be different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had a really terrific time staying at the Michelangelo Hotel. The hotel is very modern, very clean, and the service is very professional. Excellent breakfast (I stayed as part of a tour) and very friendly staff. You are on the main road, and you can walk to a bunch of nice shops and restaurants. Don't forget to check out the rooftop terrace!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Hotel Michelangelo in Sorrento. Overall very nice accommodations, we had room 602 which overlooked the pool area. The room was very clean, housekeeping did a fantastic job. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of many nice restaurants and the main shopping area. The bar was nice with the bartender playing nice piano music, a great place to relax. The rooms are small and the shower is tiny but there was a nice balcony.
On the negative side, internet service is only in the lobby area and intermittent, there is no service in your room.The breakfast Buffett was poor and consisted of hard boiled eggs, soupy yogurt (strawberry or vanilla) canned fruit salad, cold cereal and an assortment of rolls, bread and cakes. The sweet cakes were usually left overs from dinner. There is another option that you can pay extra for and order from the menus to get Scrambled eggs and bacon but there is additional charge for that and we had to ask about it. Dinner was only average and consisted of three courses. The first course was a choice of juice, pasta, salad but do not order the crab salad, this had artificial crab in it which was awful! The soups are a good choice. The second course was pork, meatballs, fish, or meat. All was served with a bland gravy, vegetables and potatoes. One night a fried mozzarella sandwich or an omelet were options, neither was good. For dessert it was usually a cake, apple pie or ice cream. The ice cream was excellent. Wait staff were slow on most nights.
If you are looking for a hotel with a good location and excellent housekeeping this is the one but do not go there for the food!!

Room Tip: Request the 6th floor, rooms 601 & 602 are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.