We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Hotelsclick.com
and 2 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 97 hotels in Sorrento
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The location of the hotel Sorrento is great if you plan on exploring the amalfi coast. The bus station is less then a minutes walk from the hotel and it is not difficult to get down to the port to access the boats that go to Capri / Anacapri. The continental breakfast is standard fare. Cold cut meat, bread, croissant, cereal, fruit etc. I was impressed with dinner. 3 courses (the list of entrees is quite expansive), the menu changes daily and there is a decent selection (there was always a fish or vegetable option) and of course chicken and red meat are on the menu, ice cream, fruit or pudding for dessert. The service of the staff in the restaurant was excellent. So friendly. I found the rooms to be clean and the beds to be comfortable. My only criticism would be the check in system. On arrival the front desk took our passports to enter our details into the system (pretty normal stuff) the gentleman on reception told me I would be able to collect it in ten minutes. I went back down after fifteen and he told me that I would have to wait until he had finished entering in 20 other passports into the system. I'm get really nervy not having my passport on me so that was a minus but other then that I had a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    133
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
74
164
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is one of those places that you could not put your finger on the something was just not right about the place.
The foyer was quite nice and pleasant however after a while of sitting around and having a drink, the cracks would show through facade of the aura of the place.
The bar was of medium size relatively functional but nothing to set the world alight. The reception area was rather grim and fuddy duddy, It did not bode well with the rest of the downstairs area.
The downstairs toilets and cloakrooms looked like a children's party had attacked it and was somewhat disappointing on our first arrival day.
The rooms this is a case in point the small are small very small the medium and large rooms are ok but no room in this hotel is worth its tariff suggested charge of up to £250 per night.
There are very little or no views in these rooms only roof tops, against other hotels in the area this is not a plus point.
The rooms are of standard decor with a hessian style wall paper on the lower half, mine looked worn as though an animal had clawed it or cases rubbing against it. The upper walls was plain paper with a dado rail. There was a head board affair at the heads of the beds with the hotel logo in a picture frame style, that was not affixed properly. The wash rooms were small functional neat but small, It was difficult for someone 6 foot 1 to move about in.
The TV was a 14 inch LCD and mine was busted.
A word of caution the door buzzers on the rooms to these places sound like UK Electronic Fire Alarms, my wife had the living daylights scared out of her when someone activated the button.
The hotel charges £25 per week approximately for internet services, a very poor broadband signal and not worth the money, which should have been free of charge:
I walked to the top of the hotel to try to find the roof terrace and came across loads of paraphernalia bedding and junk stuffed in a fire exit corner it was NOT a good sight or impression.
The swimming pool area is above ground on the second floor quite nice but I was concerned as some rooms had fenced off baclonettes to it with a type of cloth affair.
My wfe was bitten to death by some type of fly, the bite marks scared her for over three months. They should spray the area with chemicals to kill the things: In august stay well clear of the foliage area near the pool and shower regularly at poolside.
The restaurant: The food was ok on a half board basis breakfast was the best meal of the day but cold all cold and continental the service in the restaurant was exceptional and the staff at this location were superlative. (I cannot say the same about the staff in the rest or other parts of the hotel): The evening meal was of a poor standard, for hotel that boasts a chef in the area as one of the top I found that somewhat confusing.
Starters were nice chose of about three dishes. Main course was meat, fish or a vegi choice basically two slices and a bit of veg and sauce: The puddings, desert or dolce was awful for hotel of this supposed quality the sweet was not appropriate, viennetta and pre packed puddings from a boxed wholesaler, that had no love in it at all:
I saw a number of wear and tear issues at the hotel in the restaurant like curtain tie back hooks hanging of the walls where the plaster had collapsed, attention to detail was amiss here.
This is not or nowhere near 4 star in my own personal opinion of which this review is based on if you come here with that in mind you WILL be disappointed.
This is a Posthouse/low end Hilton express premier lodge type of quality establishment and nothing else.
The beds were awful no further comment needed.
Sorrento is not what it used to be in days of old some 20 to 30 years ago. The Je Ne Sais Quoi or its mojo has been lost a little:
The Italians in the south are all too quick to relive you of your money, with a minimum amount of effort maximum amount of return attitude.
This place is riddled in UK based cheap and nasty coach holiday company tours the holiday makers are herded like sheep in a corner out of the way of the main guests and do not appear to get the same food.
The Thompson's hoilday makers appear to get better tables and treatment across the board.
The reception staff are little arrogant and some what over confident bordering on bombastic, don't bother trying to practice your Italian as they are too busy showing off their English. By the way there was not a lady or female member of staff in sight at the place. The lack of a pretty female receptionist was amiss in the place.
I am afraid that one or two of them spoilt the ambiance of the place across the board. This Is One Of Those Places that you cannot put your finger on something is or was not quite right about it. On the whole we found it quite annoying. If you get a deal on about £1100 per person for 14 days by flight than I would consider that fair value, go any other way or straight in through the door and you could get stung or be very disappointed this is a Caveat Emptor situation and being near Pompeii the Latin is most appropriate.
It is a very dark and statesmen like place with mahogany woods and trimmings abound:
It is just a shame that it is spoilt by over formality staff that appear to be a little too over officious in the process:
I would find somewhere a little more better and classy for your your money: Not Recommended:

Room Tip: I would look around first before picking this place unless you can get for a 100 euros a night half...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here as part of a package tour. The room did overlook the railroad tracks, but the infrequent electric train made little noise. The decor was tasteful, and the room was not small for the price in Italy. It is near the nicest shopping area as well the train station, very convenient for taking the train to Pompeii or the public bus to the towns of the Amalfi coast. Wireless was only available in the lobby, however.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Easy walk to the ferry, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are small but very clean and well decorated. Request a room on the front as the rooms on the back are right next to a railroad track. However they have a very nice patio with table and chairs. Not sure if the traffic on the street in front is quieter.
There is charge for WiFi in the room but free if you go to the lobby.
Staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shfaram
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

this nice cleane & boutique hotel well desighned as the name of the artest michelangelo.
easy entrance ; nice lobby ; colours of the chairs ; free wifi too
the rooms are small a little bit but it';s clean nice . there are 2 kinds of rooms 1 with shower & the other with banio ( take the room with banio )
the location is very good to all passengers kind leisure buisness & touring around.
the breakfast very good (it's not american ) but it still good to europe hotels.
we suggest & advice of this hotel with no hesitate.

Room Tip: higher floors to the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A well-run, clean and comfortable hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly at all times. In particular, my wife has a very restricted diet, and the waiters and kitchen staff could not have been more helpful in meeting her requirements.

It's a city centre hotel, so don't expect a sea view from your room. On the other hand it's 2 minutes' walk from the bus & train station, so getting around is extremely quick and easy (direct train to Herculaneum and Pompeii; bus to Capri ferry and to the Amalfi Coast Drive; direct coach to Naples airport)

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel overlook the railway; you might notice the noise if you had the door to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a twin room for 1 night and package is inclusive of breakfast.

1. Location - right smack in the city of Sorrento so is very accessible to many attractions in the city. Many restaurants, cafes, shops, pharmacy, cinema and even a supermarket nearby. Next to railway station so it can disrupt your sleep with the passing train noises but yet you need to walk one big round before reaching the hotel so this is the low-down on location. Great location despite this. Many other hotels require some walking and alot along the roads facing the coast - selling point will be the views. Overhere, you don't see the waters unfortunately but still a good view of Sorrento morning rush for trains.

2. Room - comfy beds, good size. Shower area is adequate as well with very very basic toiletries (read: just 1 soap and 1bath/hair wash gel). Hairdryer included as well. No complimentary water/kettle. Neither is the minibar stocked. We got a room with a balcony but is rather near the rail station so you get passing trains and their noises. Not ideal for light sleeper even when doors and curtains are fully shut.

3. Amenities - 4* hotel but more like a 2* to me. No wifi or LAN.

4. Breakfast - little variety and quality is not very high. I thought the salami tastes stale.

5. Decor - typical Italian. Traditional.

6. Service - not much encounter after check-in but wasn't pleasant at the restaurant. A group of very high pitched Italians who seemed disgruntled at hectic service LOL. Overall not much of a hindrance to my stay.

7. Cleanliness - overall good minus restaurant. Maybe I am just not used to its downy looking curtains and napkins.

I would choose to stay at one with coastal view for a change of landscape in my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento
Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list