We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would describe as OK with a but?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Would describe as OK with a but?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is one of those places that you could not put your finger on the something was just not right about the place.
The foyer was quite nice and pleasant however after a while of sitting around and having a drink, the cracks would show through facade of the aura of the place.
The bar was of medium size relatively functional but nothing to set the world alight. The reception area was rather grim and fuddy duddy, It did not bode well with the rest of the downstairs area.
The downstairs toilets and cloakrooms looked like a children's party had attacked it and was somewhat disappointing on our first arrival day.
The rooms this is a case in point the small are small very small the medium and large rooms are ok but no room in this hotel is worth its tariff suggested charge of up to £250 per night.
There are very little or no views in these rooms only roof tops, against other hotels in the area this is not a plus point.
The rooms are of standard decor with a hessian style wall paper on the lower half, mine looked worn as though an animal had clawed it or cases rubbing against it. The upper walls was plain paper with a dado rail. There was a head board affair at the heads of the beds with the hotel logo in a picture frame style, that was not affixed properly. The wash rooms were small functional neat but small, It was difficult for someone 6 foot 1 to move about in.
The TV was a 14 inch LCD and mine was busted.
A word of caution the door buzzers on the rooms to these places sound like UK Electronic Fire Alarms, my wife had the living daylights scared out of her when someone activated the button.
The hotel charges £25 per week approximately for internet services, a very poor broadband signal and not worth the money, which should have been free of charge:
I walked to the top of the hotel to try to find the roof terrace and came across loads of paraphernalia bedding and junk stuffed in a fire exit corner it was NOT a good sight or impression.
The swimming pool area is above ground on the second floor quite nice but I was concerned as some rooms had fenced off baclonettes to it with a type of cloth affair.
My wfe was bitten to death by some type of fly, the bite marks scared her for over three months. They should spray the area with chemicals to kill the things: In august stay well clear of the foliage area near the pool and shower regularly at poolside.
The restaurant: The food was ok on a half board basis breakfast was the best meal of the day but cold all cold and continental the service in the restaurant was exceptional and the staff at this location were superlative. (I cannot say the same about the staff in the rest or other parts of the hotel): The evening meal was of a poor standard, for hotel that boasts a chef in the area as one of the top I found that somewhat confusing.
Starters were nice chose of about three dishes. Main course was meat, fish or a vegi choice basically two slices and a bit of veg and sauce: The puddings, desert or dolce was awful for hotel of this supposed quality the sweet was not appropriate, viennetta and pre packed puddings from a boxed wholesaler, that had no love in it at all:
I saw a number of wear and tear issues at the hotel in the restaurant like curtain tie back hooks hanging of the walls where the plaster had collapsed, attention to detail was amiss here.
This is not or nowhere near 4 star in my own personal opinion of which this review is based on if you come here with that in mind you WILL be disappointed.
This is a Posthouse/low end Hilton express premier lodge type of quality establishment and nothing else.
The beds were awful no further comment needed.
Sorrento is not what it used to be in days of old some 20 to 30 years ago. The Je Ne Sais Quoi or its mojo has been lost a little:
The Italians in the south are all too quick to relive you of your money, with a minimum amount of effort maximum amount of return attitude.
This place is riddled in UK based cheap and nasty coach holiday company tours the holiday makers are herded like sheep in a corner out of the way of the main guests and do not appear to get the same food.
The Thompson's hoilday makers appear to get better tables and treatment across the board.
The reception staff are little arrogant and some what over confident bordering on bombastic, don't bother trying to practice your Italian as they are too busy showing off their English. By the way there was not a lady or female member of staff in sight at the place. The lack of a pretty female receptionist was amiss in the place.
I am afraid that one or two of them spoilt the ambiance of the place across the board. This Is One Of Those Places that you cannot put your finger on something is or was not quite right about it. On the whole we found it quite annoying. If you get a deal on about £1100 per person for 14 days by flight than I would consider that fair value, go any other way or straight in through the door and you could get stung or be very disappointed this is a Caveat Emptor situation and being near Pompeii the Latin is most appropriate.
It is a very dark and statesmen like place with mahogany woods and trimmings abound:
It is just a shame that it is spoilt by over formality staff that appear to be a little too over officious in the process:
I would find somewhere a little more better and classy for your your money: Not Recommended:

Room Tip: I would look around first before picking this place unless you can get for a 100 euros a night half...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    160
    59
    22
    11
See reviews for
87
192
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here as part of a package tour. The room did overlook the railroad tracks, but the infrequent electric train made little noise. The decor was tasteful, and the room was not small for the price in Italy. It is near the nicest shopping area as well the train station, very convenient for taking the train to Pompeii or the public bus to the towns of the Amalfi coast. Wireless was only available in the lobby, however.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Easy walk to the ferry, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are small but very clean and well decorated. Request a room on the front as the rooms on the back are right next to a railroad track. However they have a very nice patio with table and chairs. Not sure if the traffic on the street in front is quieter.
There is charge for WiFi in the room but free if you go to the lobby.
Staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shfaram
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

this nice cleane & boutique hotel well desighned as the name of the artest michelangelo.
easy entrance ; nice lobby ; colours of the chairs ; free wifi too
the rooms are small a little bit but it';s clean nice . there are 2 kinds of rooms 1 with shower & the other with banio ( take the room with banio )
the location is very good to all passengers kind leisure buisness & touring around.
the breakfast very good (it's not american ) but it still good to europe hotels.
we suggest & advice of this hotel with no hesitate.

Room Tip: higher floors to the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A well-run, clean and comfortable hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly at all times. In particular, my wife has a very restricted diet, and the waiters and kitchen staff could not have been more helpful in meeting her requirements.

It's a city centre hotel, so don't expect a sea view from your room. On the other hand it's 2 minutes' walk from the bus & train station, so getting around is extremely quick and easy (direct train to Herculaneum and Pompeii; bus to Capri ferry and to the Amalfi Coast Drive; direct coach to Naples airport)

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel overlook the railway; you might notice the noise if you had the door to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a twin room for 1 night and package is inclusive of breakfast.

1. Location - right smack in the city of Sorrento so is very accessible to many attractions in the city. Many restaurants, cafes, shops, pharmacy, cinema and even a supermarket nearby. Next to railway station so it can disrupt your sleep with the passing train noises but yet you need to walk one big round before reaching the hotel so this is the low-down on location. Great location despite this. Many other hotels require some walking and alot along the roads facing the coast - selling point will be the views. Overhere, you don't see the waters unfortunately but still a good view of Sorrento morning rush for trains.

2. Room - comfy beds, good size. Shower area is adequate as well with very very basic toiletries (read: just 1 soap and 1bath/hair wash gel). Hairdryer included as well. No complimentary water/kettle. Neither is the minibar stocked. We got a room with a balcony but is rather near the rail station so you get passing trains and their noises. Not ideal for light sleeper even when doors and curtains are fully shut.

3. Amenities - 4* hotel but more like a 2* to me. No wifi or LAN.

4. Breakfast - little variety and quality is not very high. I thought the salami tastes stale.

5. Decor - typical Italian. Traditional.

6. Service - not much encounter after check-in but wasn't pleasant at the restaurant. A group of very high pitched Italians who seemed disgruntled at hectic service LOL. Overall not much of a hindrance to my stay.

7. Cleanliness - overall good minus restaurant. Maybe I am just not used to its downy looking curtains and napkins.

I would choose to stay at one with coastal view for a change of landscape in my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is an ok place but its nothing to shout at the roof tops about: All that glitters is not golden and this place sparkles in areas that are not important. It is dull in other areas of which should be the key to customer satisfaction.
Food is very erratic here and not consistent. If you walk in off the street you could end up paying £250 and I am not sure whether there's is any evening meal in that price as the tariff in room charges were complicated to fathom.
The rooms some are big they are ok others are small ours was small, and disappointing.
Decor was ok but it did not set my world alight.
Bathrooms small and difficult to move around in if your 6 foot 5 inches.
I noticed a lot of tour parties here mainly Thomas Cook and some type of oldie coach company. The Thomas Cook punters I spoke to in the bar got good deals i think one of said 14 nights with flight half board £11,000.
The coach mob did not look to happy they seemed to be shepherded like cattle to one end of the dining room.
The bar area was small but functional, the pool was nice but small. The views well there were not any.
Breakfast was the big point of the day at this place I would not bother with half board. You are better off eating out.
The staff all male there is not a female insight unless I missed one. They seem ok but you dont know whether they are doing the job through gritted teeth, the night staff appeared a little uptight.
I think the economy was getting them down the place did not just feel right.
This is not one of the great hotels of the region, and Sorrento is not the place it was 30 years ago. There was far too much desperation in the businesses down there. Please be careful as I got ripped off with overcharging in the region. Some southern Italians see it as a right to take more money off you than they would like to be treated themselves.
On the whole nothing to set the world on fire here Ive had better in the morth of italy at more posher hotels for a lot less money.
I dont get why this place has a high feedback raring sorry.

Room Tip: book online with flight operators avoid coach tours pay about £11000 last minute for 14 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.