We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel very central good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Kildare
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel very central good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights of our honeymoon short stroll to plazza tasso right beside a chemist, supermarket an icecream shop opposite the trainstation. Air con not great so thats the only negative we were very well looked after by friendly staff you can walk to dead centre in 5 mins.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    171
    63
    24
    12
See reviews for
87
207
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews and I wasn't disappointed. Both accommodation and food were excellent and staff very helpful. The hotel is extremely central, the only downside was the noise from passing traffic (we were on the first floor and so heard the bikes etc). There Is a 3 euro per day tax (per room) which must be paid to the hotel on departure. I would recommend The Foreigner's Club...beautiful scenery and good food!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Michelangelo Hotel for 2 nights in early August 2012 as part of a tour. Our room was nice, clean, and had a large bathroom. The room was on the small side (not much space with 2 suitcases and 2 people). They charged for use of the safe (I think it was E1,50 per day), which annoyed me. It was centrally located and a short walk from the grocery store, restaurants, and the "center" of town.

I have to be honest and say that a few other members of our tour did not have a similar experience: one room had a literal ant trail leading from the door, OVER her pillow, and out the back door to the balcony. However, this was definitely not the norm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is situated right on the main street and ten minutes from main square the hub of Sorrento lots of bars shops and restaurants.Our room was very nice with a nice balcony looking over the swimming pool very quiet at night and a good a/c in the room,loverly bathroom clean towels every day the room was cleaned to a very high standard everyday.Now the minus points it has to be the food the first mornig we went for breakfast we had toast it was never seen again no bacon or scrambled eggs for 2 weeks it was the same I know its Italy but every 4star hotel they try to cater for every taste not just continental breakfast and if you were in your seat at 9-30am the waiters came and ask if you are going back to the buffet table so they could clear up.Evening meal was over by 8-30pm where in Italy are you finished eating at that time on one evening we had a three course meal in 30 minutes as soon as put your cutlery down the plate was taken away your next course was put down -the desert was 3 items on a trolly or ice cream to say the food was bland not Italian at a all.On my first week I had turkey twice. Veal was beef and you get two slices of beef with potatoes and cauliflower.Come on I did notb go to Italy for a sunday roast and that happened a couple of times. At proper Italian 4star hotel you get invited to the salad bar for you first course pasta second course and then your main course followed by going to the sweet table.this is where this hotel let its self down badly.I go to Italy for the food but felt let down by this hotel and because of this I think Thomas Cook were grossly over charged for this holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool at the rear are loverly and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Michelangelo Hotel for two nights during our tour of Italy in mid-May. Nice property, friendly staff, great location with a ten minute walk from the centre of town. Good size room overlooking the pool for my husband, daughter and me, with a full bath. Restaurant staff very friendly and accommodating. Dinners were quite good with several meal options. (Uncommon for group tours) Although advised by front desk personnel that hairdressing salons are closed on Mondays, I was lucky to find one open just down the street from the hotel. Would love to return to Sorrento!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location in Sorrento, it is 5 minutes walk from the bus and railway station and ten minutes from the local square. The staff were very friendly especially the waiters who couldn't do enough to make you enjoy your stay. My husband and I went out only once for a meal at a local traditional restaurant because we had been on a trip during the day and I didn't enjoy it at all, it was no where near as good as the evening meal at the hotel which was first class. The breakfast was continental not much variety, I would have liked a choice of hot food as well but that is the only complaint. The hotel itself was very clean and we had a lovely room with both bath and shower. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, and would recommend half board because the evening meal was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Really good hotel, good position in town center. Nice rooms, good staff.
Only thing that is not so good is variety and quality of breakfast, it seams they didn't change things for years; also, bread looks and tastes like yesterday's...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Corso Italia 275, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Michelangelo Sorrento
Michelangelo Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.