We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation, terrible food and grumpy staff (until the end of the week!)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropole to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde, 2, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation, terrible food and grumpy staff (until the end of the week!)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as a group of 4 as part of a Riviera package.

On arrival we were shown to our top floor rooms which were very small and basic. The beds were not particularly comfortable and the had a headboard that made sitting up to read very uncomfortable. The doors to all the rooms were very loud and echoed up and down the corridor every time someone came or left. The bathroom had possibly the smallest shower cubicle I've ever used! I'm skinny but every time I tried to turn around I managed to knock the tap and turn it off!
Aside from these complaints the rooms were very clean and bedding was changed every day (which seems a little ott).

The food... Where to start? In a word, terrible. Breakfast was the usual cold meats, cheese, boiled egg, toast etc etc. All acceptable apart from the 'orange juice' which was in fact orange squash.

Dinner consisted of 3 choices of set courses. On the first night I tried Pizza expecting some delicious Italian fare. Instead I got a greasy lump of dough with some unappetising cheese and tomato purree on top. Disgusting. Others on our party had veal and said it was OK. But everything that I saw just looked disgusting. And it was delivered by the interesting (bond villain) but grumpy waiters. In fact the waiters were grumpy all week until of course the last night as they warmed up to tip day.
The whole dining experience here was like school dinners.
Luckily for us the resturaunt next door more than made up for the terrible food here. Verdemare is a culinary sanctuary luckily only 1 minute from the hotel.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. It's just a little too far out of Sorrento with a dangerous unpaved road to walk down for 5 minutes of the 15 minute journey.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    97
    45
    20
    11
See reviews for
36
109
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here while on tour. This place was just wonderful. An average pool located on the side of the hotel. The room was just lovely with a small balcony with 2 plastic patio chairs facing the sea. I loved the tiles in the room. Very cute. The employees were really nice and liked to joke and make people laugh. Yes, the hotel is located on a main street, but I didn't seem to hear much noise. It is not too far from the centre of sorrento. We just took a cab down forgot the cost but it wasnt that pricey. This is an above avg 3 star. Would I stay here again??? Most definitely

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. The hotels all the facilities you could want. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. Air conditioning was very efficient.
Breakfast was rather uncreative and standard but completely adequate and we were able to get it from 7am to 10am. Dinner was excellent with a good choice of well cooked food.
However the factor which made the place so good were the staff. They were excellent. They made peole feel that they were wanted... nothing was too much trouble and they were all very cheerful.
The only downside is the location of the hotel. Its about a kilometre from the centre of Sorrento which should be no problem as the town buses stop right outsides at a frequency of every 20 minutes. OR they should. The week we were there the town buses were on strike so it was more difficult. Walking into town is no problem as all downhill but coming back is a climb.
We would recomment this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at the back of the hotel as the front is on a rather noisy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It is hard ot dislike the Hotel Metropole. It is very clean, spacious rooms and pleasant food and has a very friendly staff. Generally it is a likeable place but it does have some downsides. First is the location which is a little out of town although it offers some beautiful views from the dining areas and the front facing rooms. The problem is the walk into town involves part of the road without a footpath so you walk in close proximity of whizzing, cars, trucks and scooters until you reach the relative safety of the footpath.There is a bus but it is a real pain to figure out the times and fight your way on. The seconod issue is the decor which looks a little jaded and faded. It looks like a hotel that has seen better days but as we said for all that is spotless and friendly. The pool is compact and cool and the area around it is relaxing though we did very little of that spending our time touring or in town. So, not a bad choice, not luxury, nor as convenient as a centre town location but pleasant, frindly and clean. It is up to you!

Room Tip: Go for the front if you want a view but some traffic noise. The rear (where we were) is much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here followed by a 4 star rated hotel in the centre of sorrento and have to say there was little difference.
- The rooms are basic but clean and bathroom here was larger.
- the breakfast was basic but exactly the same (juice, cereal, breads and cakes)
- general decor of this hotel was dated, think 80's Italy
- pool was larger in the 4 star but was cleaner and better maintained here
-noisy in both because of thin walls and tiled floors, when one person is up on your floor everyone is!
- people here are lovely especially those in reception and the evening porter, made to feel welcome and they even remember your room number and give you your key before asking

I think the main difference in price was the location, this hotel is a 20 min walk down hill to the centre of sorrento which we enjoyed because of its breath taking views, only issue we had was on an evening the road is busy and no path in places so quite scary to walk on at times- there is a bus stop out side but we found them to be unreliable and infrequent on an evening, also costs over 2 euros pp Hotel would benefit from a shuttle bus like some of the other out of town hotels

General take out is this hotel is not much different to the 4 star we stayed in so if that's your budget and you enjoy a walk this is is worth a try.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here on the off chance as we had just arrived. Very reasonable price and helpful staff. Care park to leave the car in a cool place. Lovely selection for breakfast. Rooms clean and spacious. Pool clean away from the sun! A bit of a hike to sorrento town but lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonesfield, Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My friend and I booked single rooms at the Metropole and were allocated two spacious rooms on the ground floor which opened onto our own garden/terrace area with chairs, tables and deck-chairs. We were delighted! Admittedly, there were parts that needed refurbishing, but the prices would probably rise to pay for it all and we were happy with it as it was. The reception, dining room and lounge were comfortably traditional, and the outdoor terraces and pool area were very attractive. It was very useful being able to lunch on the terrace while having a day of relaxation. The breakfast buffet had a good selection, though I can never understand why orange squash is served rather than juice in an area when oranges are grown! The same applied to tinned fruit salad.
We had one dinner at the hotel, which was quite acceptable, but we preferred the restaurant ambience and buzz of the ristorante next door.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is situated on a complicated and busy road junction. It can be quite noisy, but on the plus side, it is entertaining watching the near-misses as the drivers try to make sense of all the STOP signs (or completely ignore all of them!) The walk down this road to the town can be a bit hair-raising especially on the non-pavemented part, but it's do-able. We took a taxi back one day and were charged €18 which was extortionate! Wait for the bus!
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but lack the view that the rooms at the front offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 2, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Metropole Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.