We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, okay room...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Di Sorrento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Di Sorrento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Caruso 6 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location, okay room...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Location is great, the room was a nice size, however the air conditioning was poor...never seemed to get cool. Staff ranged from friendly and helpful to oddly indifferent and unhelpful. Internet didn't work too well either...especially in room. Breakfast was okay..nothing special, but sufficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    68
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
29
57
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Although a older hotel, very comfortable and could not be in a better central location off of the main Tasso Square of Sorrento for food, attractions and shopping. Breakfasts in the the a.m. was great. My partner and I had a wonderful time and would definitelty stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was not a great view, however not sure there is one that has a great view due to te directi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

This is a nicely situated hotel in Sorrento. The staff are boring and not helpful but they smile the necessary amount. The hotel is a great price for the area. There are great restaurants nearby and it is walking distance from everything in town. Sorrento is beautiful. It's nothing special but a great deal with no complaints. You go to Sorrento for Sorrento...not the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesco1854, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for you review. Hope to see you again at Villa di Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located, just steps away from great restaurants and shops, easy walk to the waterfront and the train station. Our room overlooked the main street which was very busy but the noise was never a problem. The room was a reasonable size and was very clean.
The manager very helpful when our wifi did not work and he offered the use of his personal computer. It is a good place to stay if you want to be near the 'buzz'. Recommended by a friend and we were very satisfied with the experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Picked for its ideal location metres off the main Tasso Square, on a tree lined avenue offering welcome shade outside the hotel door in mid 30 temps.Main bus and Circumvesuviana rail station about a five minute walk away. All Sorrento attractions within easy walking distance. Rooms small but well kept and very clean.Small bathroom well kept. Air con super, balcony did have view of the sea but as stated in other reviews more of a feature ,unsuitable for sitting on but you could open up the doors and sit at. Breakast more than adequate continental style. Staff all pleasant and helpful, would especially note Mario the night receptionist,who was most pleasant and helpful.Wifi available in room on obtaining access codes from reception staff.Overall very pleasant one week stay

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesco1854, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. Hope to see you again at villa di sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed for week at the hotel as part of a Newmarket package deal. We had a terrible journey with many delays in 37c-40c heat taking 12+ hours. So when we arrived eventually at the hotel we were greeted, efficiently, quickly and very, very quietly.
Our room was number 11 which if you look at the photo of the hotel is immediately over the entrance. The excellent air conditioning was on which was fabulous as we were a little frazzled by the journey. The room was spotless clean and remained so by the excellent room service with sheets and towels changed as required.
The room was possibly the smallest room we have ever stayed in with a bathroom to match but just usable and comfortable. Storage was adequate for an overnight stay or up to a week but no more if you are a couple. There is a flat screen tv which has 3 English speaking programs BBC, SKY and CNN news.
There was no fridge which we began to miss for cool drinks through the night.
No tea/coffee making facilities. We knew this beforehand from previous reports but chose to go out for refreshments instead.
The main attraction of the Villa is its position. Smack in the centre of Sorrento this was perfection. This makes it noisy but we came to enjoy being amongst the throng as you might say. I managed to get an antique looking dining chair (which I would liked to have owned) onto the balcony in the evening after 7pm. This is the time when the roads are closed to traffic and people can walk freely on the roads ( La Passeggiata), which we also took advantage of being in the centre of town, fabulous. When in the room at night close the windows and shutters and the noise disappears.
The hotel is only B&B. This is written on the tin and the hotel does not proclaim anything else. The breakfast for the first 3 days was limited. Then thereafter it doubled in size and variation, I don’t know why but was pleased.
If you are starving there is the Aurora Pizza literally next door. I used the take away for under 10euros great pizza - watch it being cooked in the large oven.
We did eat out in the evening and throughout the day, liquid intake in the heat was essential. A good menu is to be had at ‘Buon Convento’ on via Donnorso opposite to ‘The Corner Shop’at reasonable prices.
Rita’s confectionery shop on the main street near the bus station has everything you want for a snack/take away.
If you want to impress your wife/partner go to Ristorante O’Parrucchiano on the Corso Italia. Go in the back way as it is a fabulous sight from a very simple entrance This offers a good menu and an extensive wine list with tables amongst the lemon trees, one fell on my head so they are real. We paid 60 euros so not over the top.
Do go on the Red Bus this is fabulous so much so we went on it twice at 12 euros each it is a must.
Get the local Sita bus to Amalfi at 7 euros approx each return, don’t get on if there are no seats standing up is not an option to go for.
Yes I would use the Villa Di Sorrento again if I go to Sorrento for convenience and cleanliness.

Room Tip: I did not see any of the other rooms, if there are larger rooms probably on the higher floors they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stopped for a week. Booked as part of a Newmarket Holidays package. A view on this hotel depends on what you're looking for. It has no pool or outside sitting area so is not good for a relaxing break. However, if you're looking for a base to explore Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast then it's ideal.

Our room was 2 x single beds, wardrobe, drawers, flat-screen tv. Tiny balcony overlooking the street, barely big enough to get a chair on and certainly not any use for sitting on. It's more an architectural feature than a useable balcony. Excellent shower room/toilet. Unfortunately, no fridge.

Aircon was excellent - one of the best we've ever experienced. Shutters superb: they cancelled out every bit of street noise and made the room very quiet at night.

The breakfast room is small. Breakfast was adequate rather than generous.

The room was cleaned every day. Reception staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful.

From the hotel door it was 30 paces to Sorrento's main square; a 5 minute walk to the bus and train station.

One thing to note, the brochure gives the indication that there are rooms with large balconies/terrace areas and other Trip advisor entries have made reference. We certainly didn't manage to get one and, I suspect, from the layout of the hotel there may only be 1 such room.

We warmed to the place by the end of the week as a good base.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you very much for the review, I really appreciate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Di Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Di Sorrento

Address: Viale Caruso 6 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Di Sorrento 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Villa Di Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.