We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Sorrento” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Save Saved
You added Antiche Mura Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Trefin, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Gem in Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

My partner & I stayed in a standard room at the Antiche Mura 12th May to 19th May 2006 & believe me this hotel is an absolute gem. We've both been fortunate to stay in many hotels around the world on both business & pleasure & neither of us can remember one which delivers the all round characteristics of the Antiche Mura.

Other Trip Advisor visitors have accurately described most of the features of this hotel so I'm just going to add a few things.

One of the previous visitors recently commented that the hotel didn't offer a 'turn-down' service in the evenings!.....Well they really are quick learners because they now provide this. Its a nice touch & typical of the willingness to please. In fact the maids were so efficient that our room was often made up after we returned from breakfast ( I think the breakfast staff must pass a message to the room staff).

Comments in a few of the reviews about the size of the standard rooms concerned me before our visit. I needn't have worried however, as the room was significantly larger than most UK hotel rooms particularly in the south of England. I can understand many US visitors viewing these as 'small' but the range of rooms available in the hotel should cater for every taste. Our room was very well appointed facing onto the front of the hotel with a full depth window.

Sorrento is a lively, bustling town & can be very noisy but the haven which is the Antiche Mura provides a wonderful antidote. Even on the front of the hotel we weren't disturbed by noise & the swimming pool area (situated in the lemon grove at the rear of the hotel is absolutely tranquil)

The location of the hotel is also a huge bonus....being situated on Tasso square with easy access to all of the main featuresof Sorrento. We met others around the town who were bemoaning the fact that their hotels were right at the far end or back of the resort (requiring shuttle buses or taxis).

Some other tips:

Use the trains for Pompei (Pompei Scavi), Vesuvius (Ercolano), or Naples. They're very cheap & extremely efficient. We saved 80 Euros over the excursion price on the trip to Pompei alone (the ruins are 20 metres from the station.....allow 6 hours at least to see the ruins, take water with you & wear robust shoes).

We tried a number of local restaurants but returned several times to Il Leone Rosso (The Red Lion). It's a Trattoria favoured by the locals about 50 metres from the railway station, they have a wood burning pizza oven but all of the food there is very good & about 30% cheaper than the more 'fashionable' reataurants on Tasso square or in the main town. If you like your food simple but of a high standard (especially salads or fish) then try Trattoria da Emilia in the old marina.

I hope this review is useful to others & that you have as good a trip as we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,248
    228
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
321
806
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2006

I previously stayed in this hotel in 2003, had a beautiful room and generally a great stay. So when returning to Sorrento this April 2006 there was only one place I wanted to stay. When booking though, the only room available was their basic one but I was sure from my previous experience it would still be up to standard, how wrong I was.

When we checked in we began to wonder when the receptionist was apologising for the room before we even saw it. When we got to the room we realised why, it was a basement room, dark and cramped and not even part of the hotel. It was part of an annex at the far end of their garden. We immediately complained to the receptionist but were told no other rooms were available.

Our unpleasant experience continued, the door to the room was a thin sliding door that kept no sound out. When the telephone rang in the neigbouring room it woke us up. We were even woken by the snoring of the occupants of the next room and talking could also be clearly heard. There was no elevator access to the room, we had to carry our bags up and down a set of stairs. People from the pool area could look directly into our room and bathroom windows. The bath was too narrow to sit in and the shower was poor and certainly not a ‘hydromassage shower’ as per their description. There was no room to place our bags other than the floor and as the room was so small this left little space to maneuver. The bedspread stank of smoke and we were not informed it was a smoking room, we never requested a smoking room. Intriguingly the room number wasn’t even included on their sign posting which made us wonder if they just tried to squeeze another room in somewhere. Other room numbers in the annex were sign posted.

Needless to say we wont be back.


  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2006

Just got back from sunny Sorrento, stayed 1 - 6th May2006, it's hard to say anything new about this great hotel - other guests have said it all, and I agree. It's pronounced Antique - ah by the way and it's named after the ancient wall fortification (16th Century) around the hotel grounds. I travel a fair amount and would rate it one of my top three ever. The hotel is superb but the staff are the best feature, a more friendly & helpful bunch of people would be hard to find. It was my birthday on 3rd May and when we got back after an evening meal there was a bottle of bubbly in an ice bucket and two very elegant champagne glasses waiting in our room. So mille grazie to Michele (Michael to you & me) and all the staff at A-M, especially the three delightful signore giovani in the restaraunt who delivered two fried eggs to the terrace for my breakfast every morning!

Their website is (-) (I wish Tripadvisor reviewers would post these!)

FJ (Cambridge UK)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2006

We booked this on the strength of previous Trip Advisor reviews - and it proved to be (yet another) success. The location is perfect, a 2 minute stroll from Piazza Tasso where the bus from the airport terminates. Reception is big, airy, bright and clean. We had booked at short notice and on checking into the room we were slightly disappointed. It was an inside room with no view, although it was well appointed with a big bathroom.

As it was our honeymoon, I asked Michel if we could be moved, saying we wanted a view. He was great. The hotel was busy, but he showed us to room 500. This is above the 5th floor, up on the roof. The room itself was not huge, and the shower-room was very small - but adequate. The great selling point was that we had our own roof terrace overlooking the town, the sea, the mountains and Vesuvius in the distance. Fantastic!

Breakfasts were very good. Bread, cereals, fresh fruit, eggs bacon and sausages, yogurts and a huge selection of cakes and pastries that mean you don't need to worry about lunch! ;-)

The pool and the lemon tree garden is absolutely lovely and so secluded that you forget where you are. Good bar service and the old dog in his private area add to the charm!

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if you aren't bothered about having a huge room, then ask to see room 500.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

Stayed four nights at the Antiche Mura at the end of April 06 and completely agree with other recent reviews. The location can't be beaten, just off the Piazza Tasso, but much quieter than you might expect. Lots of shops, cafes and bars within a few minutes walk. Also convenient for the station (for trains to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples, and buses along the Amalfi coast) and the Marina Piccola (boats to Capri and Ischia).

Our room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable, and had ample storage space. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet had lots of choice. The breakfast room has a fantastic view over one of the valleys on which Sorrento is built. The pool area under the lemon trees is very pleasant and well-kept.

One bit of advice for anyone planning to go to this area - you will not be alone! It is very, very busy and you will find the local buses and boats in particular can barely cope with the number of passengers wishing to use them in the mornings to go off on day trips. Although it's a wonderful area to visit, I'd think twice about going there in high season.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

We are just back from a week in Sorrento and can safely say that this is a great hotel.
The only extra that we asked for in our room was a double bed (as opposed to 2 singles) which was no problem whatsoever. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and nothing is to much trouble. In terms of location you would be hard pushed to find a hotel which is so central yet being 100yds from the town centre, both quiet and secluded.
Our room overlooked the front balcony which was fine and we used this occassionally but there are some lovely rooms just off the pool/grass area.
Breakfast, for a continental hotel, was excellent and as other reviews have said "a feast".
If/when we get back to Sorrento we would definelty stay here again. 1st Class.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

Nice room -clean and spacious-had junior Suite with balcony. Wonderful location at the heart of everything-pretty views and grounds. Very lovely breakfast room . Great breakfast lots of bakery treats.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiche Mura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.