We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Save Saved
You added Antiche Mura Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
NY
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I agree with the other reviews here. A really fine hotel centrally located but quiet. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy. At least there were different types of eggs along with all of the beautiful carbs.
The staff was very helpful. I felt ill with a bad sore throat and the desk had a doctor who spoke English in my room in 25 minutes. The doc prescribed antibiotics and something else and within a day I felt so much better.

I have one suggestion. We paid extra for the second level room. Basically the window was a little bigger. I don't think it was worth it.
The bigger window wasn't so big and really how much time do you spend looking out a window? I would suggest either going cheaper or going more expensive--if you want to pay for a balcony you can sit on.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,263
    230
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
330
820
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had booked a room at this hotel because we were not able to reserve a room at another hotel on the water. We were not disappointed and regretted we were only here for one night. Our two week trip to Italy, including Florence, Venice, Rome, and Cortona was ending in Sorrento and this was our favorite hotel. The hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful, the location was wonderful, the room was absolutely charming, and we had a beautiful view of the pool and gardens. Breakfast was delicious and one cannot beat fresh squeezed orange juice. I would like to go back to Sorrento and this would be my choice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in the last week of October 2013. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful at the time of check in. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a mini suite which was large and had a bottle of champagne waiting for us. The room and bathroom was extremely well maintained. The breakfast spread was good and the pool garden had lemon and orange trees.

The location is very central and just of the main piazza. The meeting points for our tours were within walking distance. Would definitely go back and highly recommend it. Thanks to the management for making our holiday memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRHOPE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel in October and just couldn't have been happier with the choice. There's no sea view, but this hotel is located right in the heart of Sorrento and has a beautiful pool/garden and a staff that never stops trying to make your stay pleasant. One of the best breakfast buffets we experienced in three weeks of touring Italy, the breakfast staff keeps the area fully stocked and your coffee pot full. The desk staff is able to handle any request and can direct you towards any adventure in the area. They have cars/drivers available to help you with tours of the Amalfi Coast, transfers to the train station or airport or anything else you might need. The rooms were very nice (we had a balcony) as were the bathrooms. Plenty of storage, free WiFi, a perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed three nights in hotel Antiche Mura and all the hotel staff was extremely friendly. The staff and the the central location just of piazza Tasso makes this hotel so good. The hotel has a car park. The breakfast was very good with more than enough choice. The highlight was squeezing your fresh orange juice and excellent espresso and the excellent cappuchino. If you like you can even get a glass of sparkling wine for breakfast. The only thing I was missing was a selection of fresh thin sliced Italian meat. They should change their choice of salami though

The suite room on the second floor was quiet and big enough for our family of five.

We had a great stay in hotel Antiche Mura and would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel Antiche Mura (Ancient walls) knows how to look after guests; a six night stay at this hotel in a junior suite was, without doubt, thoroughly enjoyable. All of the staff, (reception, breakfast room, bar, snack bar), without exception, played their part in making this stay memorable. Also, the location was perfect, a couple of minutes walk to busy Piazza Tasso (main square), yet peace and quiet in the hotel grounds; the pool area was very relaxing.
They do charge €10 per day for car parking, but space in Sorrento is at a premium, especially in the hotel garage, so it was understandable for secure parking. Breakfast was already in the cost of the room, so each morning you had a wide range of foods to choose from - cereals, yogurt, bread (various), meats/cheeses, eggs, bacon, pastries etc - more than enough for everyone. The same standard of service was on offer in the snack bar and bar area of an afternoon and evening respectively - nothing too much trouble, always welcoming and friendly.
The hotel's location makes it an excellent choice as a base for trips - Pompeii, Amalfi coast, Capri - either by car or by public transport (which is good), and to drive from Naples airport was just about one hour (traffic permitting). In the evening you can just wander down to Piazza Tasso, or the many side streets, to choose from an endless number of restaurants, as the hotel does not provide this facility (could be viewed as a negative, but you do get out and see Sorrento much more). They do offer a selection of trips from the hotel to all of the sights, but doing it yourself was no great hassle!
Sorrento was great, Hotel Antiche Mura was a big part in making it so; highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room was marked down slightly due to minimal toiletries; bring your own if you want more than ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family and I have recently returned from a wonderful Italian vacation which started out in Sorrento at the Hotel Antiche Mura. We booked 6 rooms with a four night stay as we were there to celebrate my daughter's wedding. Of course the wedding was incredible ... but as usual the hotel staff was perfect. This was our second visit to the Antiche Mura and we would not think of staying anywhere else while in Sorrento. The location is perfect ... the staff is exceptional and the breakfast buffet is the best way to start your days in Sorrento.

You will not find a better group of employees who respectfully do their best to accommodate your needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiche Mura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.