We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff, great location, nice breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Save Saved
You added Antiche Mura Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“very friendly staff, great location, nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed three nights in hotel Antiche Mura and all the hotel staff was extremely friendly. The staff and the the central location just of piazza Tasso makes this hotel so good. The hotel has a car park. The breakfast was very good with more than enough choice. The highlight was squeezing your fresh orange juice and excellent espresso and the excellent cappuchino. If you like you can even get a glass of sparkling wine for breakfast. The only thing I was missing was a selection of fresh thin sliced Italian meat. They should change their choice of salami though

The suite room on the second floor was quiet and big enough for our family of five.

We had a great stay in hotel Antiche Mura and would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    233
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
335
838
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel Antiche Mura (Ancient walls) knows how to look after guests; a six night stay at this hotel in a junior suite was, without doubt, thoroughly enjoyable. All of the staff, (reception, breakfast room, bar, snack bar), without exception, played their part in making this stay memorable. Also, the location was perfect, a couple of minutes walk to busy Piazza Tasso (main square), yet peace and quiet in the hotel grounds; the pool area was very relaxing.
They do charge €10 per day for car parking, but space in Sorrento is at a premium, especially in the hotel garage, so it was understandable for secure parking. Breakfast was already in the cost of the room, so each morning you had a wide range of foods to choose from - cereals, yogurt, bread (various), meats/cheeses, eggs, bacon, pastries etc - more than enough for everyone. The same standard of service was on offer in the snack bar and bar area of an afternoon and evening respectively - nothing too much trouble, always welcoming and friendly.
The hotel's location makes it an excellent choice as a base for trips - Pompeii, Amalfi coast, Capri - either by car or by public transport (which is good), and to drive from Naples airport was just about one hour (traffic permitting). In the evening you can just wander down to Piazza Tasso, or the many side streets, to choose from an endless number of restaurants, as the hotel does not provide this facility (could be viewed as a negative, but you do get out and see Sorrento much more). They do offer a selection of trips from the hotel to all of the sights, but doing it yourself was no great hassle!
Sorrento was great, Hotel Antiche Mura was a big part in making it so; highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room was marked down slightly due to minimal toiletries; bring your own if you want more than ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family and I have recently returned from a wonderful Italian vacation which started out in Sorrento at the Hotel Antiche Mura. We booked 6 rooms with a four night stay as we were there to celebrate my daughter's wedding. Of course the wedding was incredible ... but as usual the hotel staff was perfect. This was our second visit to the Antiche Mura and we would not think of staying anywhere else while in Sorrento. The location is perfect ... the staff is exceptional and the breakfast buffet is the best way to start your days in Sorrento.

You will not find a better group of employees who respectfully do their best to accommodate your needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First of all, the location of this hotel is perfect. Just off the main square, 2 minute walk, somehow very quiet and peaceful despite the busy square only a few hundred metres away. Breakfast is delicious, the staff picked the oranges off the poolside trees in the morning and brought them into the breakfast room where you could squeeze your own juice, best orange juice I've ever had. Lots of lovely little Italian cakes as well as the norm.

Room was nice, your average European design but very comfortable with lots of little finishing touches. Maid service excellent, the room was spotless. Staff were probably the most helpful I've ever experienced. Due to a flight delay we arrived at 1am, night concierge more than happy to show us all the way to our room and offered to carry our luggage for us. Very glad to give directions and tips whenever and whoever was on the front desk.

Pool is a bit cold but pleasant enough, poolside bar a little expensive but served very tasty snacks and cold drinks were international brands unlike the local stuff you find usually. All in all, couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Rooms can be quite far from main entrance, ask for one close if you don't want a couple of minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I go through a lot of research before selecting a hotel, so I was pretty sure this was a really nice hotel and good choice. I wasn't wrong. Very accommodating staff, beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast, gardens and even a pool and bar outside! Our room on the third floor was in the corner, so we had a balcony overlooking the front and the ancient city walls. The room was huge, with majolica tile floor. We were greeted with a bottle of chilled Asti and fruit. You eat your breakfast outdoors in a beautiful garden next to the old walls...great way to start the day. The hotel is on a quiet end of the street just off the main square, so you walk 100 yards and are in the middle of everything, but at night, it's a pedestrian zone and very quiet. There is a local grocer just across the street, who is happy (willing, maybe?) to make a sandwich and sell you a bottle of wine for a fraction of the cost in a restaurant - if you just need to chill in your room one night. Next time in Sorrento, we are definitely staying at the Antiche Mura again! (means "ancient walls" in Italian)

Room Tip: 3rd floor corner room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 18th to 25th October 2013, and were delighted with every aspect. The room was spotless, bed comfortable, bathroom was beautiful, but what impressed me most of all was a 13 amp power socket over the desk. How many hotels outside the UK would have this level of detail? The staff were all very helpful, bright and cheery, and the breakfast selection was great. The location is just off the main square, about a minutes walk. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Antiche Mura Hotel for 4 nights in June and had a wonderful time. The hotel is truly beautiful, set in lovely gardens and tranquil surroundings while at the same time being just a few steps from all of the shops and restaurants. Our room was not that large but was plenty for us and the bathroom was huge and very well equipped. We had a lovely view over the mountains and a welcome bottle of sparkling wine on arrival as it was my birthday. One of the best things about the hotel was the breakfast - both the wide range of food and drink and eating it in the lovely patio area with flowers and lizards everywhere. The pool was also great and we never had a problem getting a sunbed. Overall I wish I could return as soon as possible as it was so relaxing and a great base to explore everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiche Mura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.