We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antiche Mura Hotel to your Saves list
Antiche Mura Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First of all, the location of this hotel is perfect. Just off the main square, 2 minute walk, somehow very quiet and peaceful despite the busy square only a few hundred metres away. Breakfast is delicious, the staff picked the oranges off the poolside trees in the morning and brought them into the breakfast room where you could squeeze your own juice, best orange juice I've ever had. Lots of lovely little Italian cakes as well as the norm.

Room was nice, your average European design but very comfortable with lots of little finishing touches. Maid service excellent, the room was spotless. Staff were probably the most helpful I've ever experienced. Due to a flight delay we arrived at 1am, night concierge more than happy to show us all the way to our room and offered to carry our luggage for us. Very glad to give directions and tips whenever and whoever was on the front desk.

Pool is a bit cold but pleasant enough, poolside bar a little expensive but served very tasty snacks and cold drinks were international brands unlike the local stuff you find usually. All in all, couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Rooms can be quite far from main entrance, ask for one close if you don't want a couple of minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    255
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
365
920
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I go through a lot of research before selecting a hotel, so I was pretty sure this was a really nice hotel and good choice. I wasn't wrong. Very accommodating staff, beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast, gardens and even a pool and bar outside! Our room on the third floor was in the corner, so we had a balcony overlooking the front and the ancient city walls. The room was huge, with majolica tile floor. We were greeted with a bottle of chilled Asti and fruit. You eat your breakfast outdoors in a beautiful garden next to the old walls...great way to start the day. The hotel is on a quiet end of the street just off the main square, so you walk 100 yards and are in the middle of everything, but at night, it's a pedestrian zone and very quiet. There is a local grocer just across the street, who is happy (willing, maybe?) to make a sandwich and sell you a bottle of wine for a fraction of the cost in a restaurant - if you just need to chill in your room one night. Next time in Sorrento, we are definitely staying at the Antiche Mura again! (means "ancient walls" in Italian)

Room Tip: 3rd floor corner room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 18th to 25th October 2013, and were delighted with every aspect. The room was spotless, bed comfortable, bathroom was beautiful, but what impressed me most of all was a 13 amp power socket over the desk. How many hotels outside the UK would have this level of detail? The staff were all very helpful, bright and cheery, and the breakfast selection was great. The location is just off the main square, about a minutes walk. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Antiche Mura Hotel for 4 nights in June and had a wonderful time. The hotel is truly beautiful, set in lovely gardens and tranquil surroundings while at the same time being just a few steps from all of the shops and restaurants. Our room was not that large but was plenty for us and the bathroom was huge and very well equipped. We had a lovely view over the mountains and a welcome bottle of sparkling wine on arrival as it was my birthday. One of the best things about the hotel was the breakfast - both the wide range of food and drink and eating it in the lovely patio area with flowers and lizards everywhere. The pool was also great and we never had a problem getting a sunbed. Overall I wish I could return as soon as possible as it was so relaxing and a great base to explore everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

From our first interaction over the internet, to the last moment of our stay, Hotel Antiche Mura and their excellent team made this our best experience in Sorrento ever. Our room was spotlessly cleaned--multiple times each day. The bathroom was bright--and the "rain" shower was luxurious. The elegant, bright breakfast room was literally filled with eggs, bacon, sausage, toasts, pastries, cakes, meats, cheeses, juices--even champagne. The pool was a bit cool, but we enjoyed the quiet escape from the bustling main piazza just 5 minute away from the Hotel. The hotel's location is ideal from arrival by train--just a 10 minute walk from the station, or just a 5 minute taxi ride from the main harbor. It is also an easy stroll into the old town. I think the best part of our stay was the staff. From the front desk team to the housekeeping staff and everyone in between, we always had positive, friendly interactions. We made a special friend in Antonino--he became our helper, advisor, and adopted family member. We give Antiche Mura 5 stars.

Room Tip: We stayed on the lowest floor with just a small, high window. Our friends stayed on an upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located steps from the main square. Our room was lovely and very clean. The staff is extremely helpful and recommended delicious restaurants. The breakfast is yummy and served in a spectacular garden setting. We would stay there again in a minute.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Though we've visited Sorrento twice before, we've never stayed at Antiche Mura before. The first time we came as very young (read: penny-pinching!) travelers, and the second time, with children (still trying to pinch those pennies!). This time -- we wanted to relax and enjoy Sorrento, and at Antiche Mura we were able to do just that. It is a beautiful hotel with everything to recommend it. The rooms are very nice -- clean, fresh, comfortable -- and we had the "cheap" room with no view! We would stay there again! The bed is very comfortable, the closet large & spacious (with a safe for our valuables), the bathroom is very roomy with beautiful mosaic-like tiled floors and walls in bright blues and yellows, and a GREAT rainfall shower head AND a hand-held "telephone" shower that you could use simultaneously. The breakfast buffet cannot be believed till seen... It was beautifully displayed, and I have never seen so many kinds of items at any hotel in Italy before -- fried, scrambled, 3-minute & 5 minutes eggs, bacon, all kinds of fruit, every kind of cookie, cake, and sweet roll imaginable, cereals, fruit juices... even fresh-squeezed orange juice was available, with a bottle of champagne chilling in an ice bucket nearby for a breakfast mimosa, if you wanted it. What an amazing spread! They also have a very nice pool out among the citrus trees -- wish I could've spent a little more time there.... Next time, for sure! The location is excellent -- easy walking distance to anywhere you want to go in Sorrento. Highly recommended stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you'll have to pay more, and I know that's important to some people. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiche Mura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.