We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and unforgetable wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Save Saved
You added Antiche Mura Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel and unforgetable wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the moment we decided to book our wedding in Italy, Michele Savarese (Hotel Manager) and the staff at Antcihe Mura were on hand to ensure that every one of our needs were met. Right from an initial visit to the hotel (even before we had made our final decision on venue) to our departure, we were overwhelmed.
The hotel excelled our expectations, and the ideal location, beautiful surroundings, amazing food, pool and variety of rooms accomodated all the needs of our guests in the wedding party - right from a young family with a baby to older couples.
We booked our stay direct with the hotel and we went for a 'comfort room'. However when we arrived the room was much more than this. The room overlooked the beatuiful gardens and swimming pool and had its own private veranda with sunbeds, which the pool staff were more than happy to bring drinks to, especially Mario who was extremely friendly and a fantastic host. This was mirrored throughout the hotel with staff going the extra mile to ensure a comfortable stay, particulary on reception and during breakfast.
As well as our stay at the hotel, Michele organised every detail of our wedding, including the wedding reception that was located at the Villa Antiche Mura which belonged to the hotel. A fifteen minute walk away, the amazing location had unique views of the Bay of Naples and complete privacy during the reception. Amazing hospitality by the staff, our guests felt completely at ease, enjoying magnificent views, food and drinks, all prepared on site.
Overall we had an amazing time at the hotel and a special thanks to Michele for making our wedding expereince one that we will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,249
    228
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
322
806
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A lovely hotel that is in the best location in Sorrento. There are lots of great restaurants, the marina and the train station only a few minutes away. A lot of the hotels that have the sea views are too far away, I would much prefer the location of this hotel. The staff were so friendly and could not have been more helpful. The rooms were nice and very clean, but they are small. We got two interconnecting rooms as we have children. The pool area was lovely however, it was small and we were always worried that the kids were making too much noise. The breakfast was very good, but make sure to ask for espresso coffee ( with a jug of hot water or milk) instead of just coffee, as it was not very good. I would recommend this hotel very much, we had a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Antiche Mura... it means antique wall. Placed just outside the town plaza and within easy walking distance to the bus or regional train, this hotel surpassed all expectations. The decor blended modern clean lines and convenience with historic charm. Economy rooms are small by US standards, but upgrading will get you more space. My thought... when in Italy, who wants to just sit in their room!

The breakfast room was incredible... at least 15 types of pastries, eggs, bacon, sausage, several different breads, fruit and you eat inside an all windowed dining area with a fresco painted on one wall. From the dining room, you can enter the garden filled with orange and lemon trees surrounding an infinity pool. There are even rooms like little garden apartments that open out on the courtyard.

The staff was very helpful and will arrange tours, internet is free, though to my chagrin, Netflix does not work in Italy... so we went with the flow and watched Italian television. Laundry service is expensive, so I would make the effort to find a laundromat next time. Otherwise, a wonderful base to see Sorrento and the surrounding attractions. Sorrento is the last stop on the Circumvensuviana, the local regional train from Naples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Minutes away from the train station and the main square, Antiche Mura was an absolute pleasure. From the moment we (3 couples) walked into Antiche Mura, we were treated like royalty. Laura (the one with the amazing hair) at the desk could not have been nicer. She upgraded us to a junior suite on the 5th floor. The room was beautiful, quiet, very roomy with a comfortable bed equipped with complimentary slippers and robe. Also shade darkeners were perfect for a good night's sleep. Laura mentioned to take the mini train for a 30 minute tour of the town which was just right. We had lunch and drinks by the beautiful pool lined with lemon trees. Mario, usually singing, was extremely helpful and happy, booking us a restaurant and a driver. Breakfasts at this hotel were also a treat as one could eat at the outside terrace with beautiful flowers surrounding you. Next to the pool and the breakfast area is a canyon lined with greenery and flying birds. All incredible! Waiting in the lobby was also fun as we would have drinks with Tony our bartender who also was super friendly and accommodating. Antiche Mura is a hotel we would definitely come back to as It was one of the highlights of our 12 day trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel was one of my favorites on my month long trip in Italy. Great location, clean, attentive (beautiful) staff, lovely accommodations. Just a two-minute walk to all the ferries to Positano, Capri and Amalfi. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in April. Beautiful hotel in a great location! We were able to walk into the old city area as well as other sections of the city. Sorrento is a great walking city and we prefer to walk around a place and really get to know it. Maria and staff were just perfect. We opted for a room on the street side with a small balcony. Beautiful room!!!! Yep, it was a bit noisy at times, but not enough to disturb our sleep. The breakfast is in an excellently appointed dining room with windows overlooking the ancient wall (antiche mura= old wall!) the garden and the seemingly miles of wisteria blooming across the canyon. Breakfast was superior fare each morning, accompanied by lovely music playing softly, sometimes opera, sometimes Sinatra. Just wonderful atmosphere all around. Lobby is gorgeous with great sculpture and paintings throughout. Perfect place for a little wine in the early evening. Very good value for this beautifully appointed hotel. Would stay again and highly recommend it. Probably warmer later in the season, but Sorrento is quiet and calm in the springtime, before the real season starts. Great restaurants everywhere. All in all, a wonderful place to just absorb all that is great about a seaside town in Italy. And you just cant beat the Limoncello!

Room Tip: Rooms with small balconies are a bit more, but worth it. We like watching the action from afar. Fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What can I say, that hasn't already been said. Great location, great rooms and staff. We got upgraded to a suite and it was great. Complimentary bottle of wine for us , and fruits for our kids room. The rooms were spotless, and the bathroom's large. Its located right in town, so easy to get anywhere. Breakfast was throughly enjoyed by my kids. Bathrooms showers do leak if partition is not closed properly. We did not seem to have any problems with the wifi. Enjoyed our evening strolls right into town. The view from our wrap around balcony was amazing. The kids liked the pool. The grounds are beautiful and soothing allowing you to relax. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiche Mura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.