We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Antiche Mura Hotel to your Saves list
Antiche Mura Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Sorrento
Hawaii
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Absolutely loved this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warm professionalism. From the Bellman to the breakfast wait staff we were impressed with the level of service received. The lemon grove is absolutely beautiful. The location is outstanding. The breakfast was delicious with much to choose from. I most certainly recommend this hotel for all travelers. P.S. My husband is a hotel General Manager on the Island of Maui in Hawaii ... We were both impressed with the hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Book a suite located near the pool ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    239
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
345
861
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derwood, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My daughter and I had the good fortune to stay in this hotel. We booked it through American Express, but were unprepared for what a beautiful hotel it was. Our room was large with beautiful tile floors and small balcony with a lovely view. Though it was cool being March we sat there with a glass of wine and viewed a beautiful sunset and watched the lights twinkle in the hills beyond.
The bathroom was large and clean as was the hotel. The breakfast room was gorgeous with a large selection of different foods. Something for everyone.
The only negative was the hair dryer, very odd. A call to the desk brought us something more up to date.
The staff was more than helpful. Gave us bus times and fares, and directions etc. Would love to return here.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, Minnesota, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This is the cleanest, best staffed, friendliest and most unique hotel I have every stayed in. It is built on top of an amazing ancient wall (hence the name.) It is only a short walk to shopping, and incredible views of the Mediterranean. The pool area is picture perfect.

Internet access is free and fast.

The staff is second to none. They bent over backwards for all guests and did so with a smile on their faces. Their breakfast was very good and you can buy lunch at the pool or inside if the weather is poor.

Room Tip: Overlook the gorge if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

It is impossible to add to the enthusiastic comments of earlier reviews. We came to this hotel by recommendation and for the first time in many years had not been undersold. The "secret" of this family run business is the continuous dedication to perfection whether in eagerness to help from all members of staff to the maintenance of high and unobtrusive standards of service. The fact that other service businesses in the area were ready to recognise the standard of this hotel confirmed that perfection is well worth aiming for.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We have just returned from six nights at the Antiche Mura Hotel. Our holiday was arranged through Kirker Holidays and they have always come up with good hotels. This time they really hit the jackpot. I fully agree with all the positive comments posted in previous reviews. You could not ask for a better location in Sorrento with easy access to buses, trains and boats and numerous local restaurants. This hotel must rank number one for friendly, helpful staff who enthusiastically helped out on places to visit and local restaurants. Our room was a “comfort room” with large bed and bathroom that looked out over the swimming pool which is surrounded by lemon trees, absolutely idyllic location. The room was cleaned to the highest standard and towels changed daily and bed linen every other day. It would be extremely difficult to find something to complain about with this hotel. I would point out that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but, to us, this was not a problem, the quality of the breakfasts more than make up for this.
If you are on your first visit to the area be sure to visit Positano, the bus is a spectacular drive but you can also take the boat. Sorrento is a great place to walk around but there are lots of steps. There are lots of good restaurants but we would recommend Da Gigino’s in Via degli Archi and, especially Tavern Allegra in Via Della Pieta. The latter is a small family restaurant, with a guitarist on some nights, where we had an excellent evening with such friendly staff (and customers).

Room Tip: A Comfort Room appears to offer more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester,england
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We were shown to our room and were immediately concerned as it was right next to the lift. Although this could only be heard faintly I was aware that the noise would be a problem during the night and so asked to move rooms. The staff informed us that we had in fact been upgraded to this room (105) a delux standard and that there was only a standard room available which meant down grading. After looking at the standard room (202) we were more than happy to move as although it was slightly smaller it had a much nicer view out over the front of the hotel. The staff were helpful and quick to resolve the room change and we had no further problems during our stay.
The location of the hotel is hard to beat as it's situated at the top of the main square and is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento. The hotel sits right next to the old wall and the view down into the drop is impressive.
The breakfasts were adequate with a good selection of breads, cakes and pastries and juices.The cooked selection consisted of bacon, mini hot dog sauages and scrambled eggs and was average.
The grounds were pretty with lots of lemon and orange trees around the pool .
The main selling point for The Antiche Mura is that it's right in the centre of Sorrento and quite reasonably priced considering it's location.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 105 as next to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladson, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

A beautiful property and exceptional service. The hotal staff was absolutely outstanding. The breakfast buffet offered was wonderful and we looked forward to it each morning. The pool located in the mini lemon/orange grove was both peaceful and beautiful. Though I probably will never vacation there again, if I do I know where I'm staying. I highly recommend this hotel!!! Thank you staff of the Antiche Mura...Ciao!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiche Mura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.