We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly hotel which serves a great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 258, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A very friendly hotel which serves a great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Although we had only booked a basic room we were very pleased when we arrived to be upgraded to their best room. This sort of thing never usually happens to us so it was a lovely surprise. The room was very clean, was on the 3rd floor at the back and over looked the pool. It was very quiet and the only thing i would have preferred would be to have a kettle in the room.
The breakfast was amazing and there certainly was something to suit everyone. All the staff were helpful and very cheerful. In the hotel details in your room it gave the names of all the staff and their jobs which i thought was a very nice touch.
The pool was lovely and it was great to have a swim and cool down after a days excursion. We had planned to arrive by ferry but unfortunately they weren't running so we caught the bus from Amalfi to Sorrento. If you arrive by ferry it would be too far to walk to the hotel with luggage. It is a 10 minute walk from the station and although we managed it quite easily the paths are not ideal for wheeling suit cases.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you have appreciated all our services like our swimming pool, our buffet breakfast which is prepared freshly every morning by our chef Enza, our friendly staff and all the little details that sometimes make the difference!
We are happy that you have appreciated the free upgrade from standard room to superior sea view room that we have done for you,when is possible and our best rooms are available we like to surprise our guests!
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments we know we are going in the right way!
Hoping to welcome you back again in the future, arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    147
    43
    18
    1
See reviews for
116
205
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport-on-Tay
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel is 20 minutes walk into the centre of Sorrento on a very busy road but if you get a room at the rear you should have no noise problems as the double glazing is very efficient and you have the bonus of a balcony with a view over the pool and the Bay of Naples towards Vesuvias. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the large breakfast room offered a good variety of food.

They don't always do evening meals but the occasionally do a 3 course meal for only 15 euros. As my wife and I are veggie and the mains were never vegetarian we didn't get a chance to test the quality.

Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed and very clean. The pool area was also clean with plenty of space to lie down and relax after a busy day sight seeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Gardenia's guest,
Thank you for such a kind review concerning your recent holidays in our hotel. We are glad that you had a great stay and we are very pleased that you have appreciated our services and in particular the cleanliness,the confort and the soudproofing of the rooms,we did big works in 2007 to obtain this results and are happy that our guests see it. We can insure you and other future guests that also the rooms facing the street are very quiet and and confortable.
As you said sometimes we serve evening meals,meanwhile we propose everyday from 15 of may until 15 of october a service of Snack bar for lunch time.We offer a large selection of freshly home made dishes, from pizzas to pasta, salads and desserts that we serve on our gardenbar and from this year also on our panoramic terrace.
Every night from 6.00 pm we have also our special Gardenia Happy Hour, a typical "italian aperitivo" with bruschettas and other food specialities that we offer to our guests that have only to pay for the drinks.
The quality of our products is always very high like the breakfast, enriched with the sympathy of our friendly staff that works hard to give to our guests the best service and make them feel like home.
Thank you again for your kind words .
We will be more than happy to welcome you again if you are planning to come back in Sorrento in the next future.
All the best to you all.
Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Gardenia for 4 wonderful days from May 11, 2014- May 15, 2014. I can't say enough about the customer service. From the time we walked in the door until we left we felt so welcome. We had a great view and we were centrally located to everything. The rooms were very clean and a lovely breakfast was served every morning. The train station was a short walk away as well as many fine restaurants. One restaurant we really enjoyed was right across the street from the hotel. The food and service were great and it was reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

A very friendly hotel with the most helpful staff you could ever wish to meet. The rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of foods. The road at the front of the hotel is busy and noisy, ask for a room overlooking the pool.

The hotel is only about 10 minutes walk from the bus and train station and another couple of minutes walk takes you to the centre of Sorrento.

If you intend visiting Pompeii, highly recommended, don't take a tour, get the train, less than five euros, and entry to the ruins is eleven euros or free for EU pensioners as long as you have identity which shows your age.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of Sorrento. We loved this hotel. The staff was very helpful and attentive. They helped us navigate tour options, and although this is not a listed service, one of the staff gave us a ride to the port when we were running late and in danger of missing our Ferry to Capri!

Highly recommend staying here, and we hope to return

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nice people running this place, and great breakfast. First room was very small, but they were kind enough to change it once some of the guests left. The chocolate croissants at breakfast are amazing. The location is good and there is parking if you are driving (16 euro a day).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review concerning your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you for your kind words about all our services.
We will report your compliments to our pastry chef Enza about her home made chocolate croissants, she will be very happy...expecially because she starts to prepare them every morning at 6.00!
We are sorry that you found the first room a bit small, next time for you and other future travellers who want to stay at the Gardenia, we suggest to book our Comfort rooms which are a bigger size than the Standard room that you have booked. Hoping to welcome you again at the Gardenia.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome awaits you at this family run hotel. We have been visiting here for many years and nothing is too much trouble. Gaetano, the hotel manager is helpful when we are organising our trip answering many emails. Magali and tonino on reception are knowledgeable in the many questions a tourist has about trains, boat trips, good restaurants etc and if they don't know they will find out. Michele and lilio make breakfast time very enjoyable. Enza, the chef will make you an omelette of your choice to order. Lia, rafaella and giusy work hard cleaning the rooms. Rooms good size and plenty of wardrope hanging space and drawers. Bring able to use wifi in the room is a much added bonus for a one off payment of 2 euros for our entire stay. Thanks to tonino and gaetano for taking me to Sorrento and napalm games. Hotel is within easy reach of train station (10 minutes) and main shopping area (15-20 minutes). Hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we have over the years. Go on give it a try!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear loyal customer and friends of Hotel Gardenia,
We can only write "GRAZIE" for your kind words about us and for choosing every year since years our hotel for your holidays in Sorrento.
Gaetano,Tonino, Marilena and the entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted.
This makes us happy and makes us work with new energy!
looking forward to see you again next year, ciao to the best Sorrento's football team supporter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.