We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arrive as guests, leave as friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Save Saved
You added Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 258, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Ranked #31 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“arrive as guests, leave as friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We've stayed in 5 Comfort Hotels (part of the Choice Hotels Group) in Italy & The Comfort Hotel Gardenia in Sorrento was the best! We don't think you'll find a better value closer to town. This is a great hotel for exploring Sorrento & nearby attractions.
Leisurely 15 min walk to center of town, Piazza Tasso. Closer to Circumvesuviana train (to Pompeii), Piazza Lauro, Giardini di Cataldo & great food. Try Pizzeria di Franco, il Leone Rosso & David Gelateria. Bus stop(line A), 1 block away,(buy ticket across street from hotel) takes you to Punto Capo for an easy hike to the point with great views of Capri, Bay of Napoli, Vesuvius & Sorrento. Walk to Marina Piccolo to catch the ferry to Capri. Laundromat one block away if you are on extended holiday & packing light as we were.
Run by the Mauro family, we were pleasantly greeted at check in by daughter Maggali with all the information we needed to make our 11 night stay with friends a success. Beyond friendly, Mr. & Mrs. Mauro went out of their way to make our trip special, arranging transportation to Paestum, free shuttle to & from restaurant Z'intonio di Mare in Marina Grande and even invited us for dinner one night at the hotel when they were preparing a meal for a larger group. The meal was delicious & an excellent value.
Greeted every morning by waiters Michele and Lilio with a smile & good humor. Breakfast included hard boiled eggs & toast, cereal & milk, deli meat & cheese, fresh fruit & juice, huge assortment of delicious pastries & great coffee plus hot "English breakfast" for 2nd week of our stay in mid April.
Very clean, spacious rooms with updated bathroom, stall shower (lovely Arancia di Sorrento hair & body wash provided) large armoire or closet with plenty of hangers & built in drawers. French doors that open onto balconies most with some Bay/pool view & some have Vesuvius view too. Front rooms overlook busy main street, Corso Italia, if you like people watching. Pool was being prepped & filled during our stay in mid April. We weren’t expecting the pool to be open in April, but it looked like it was going to be a nice place to hangout in the warmer weather. We can't wait to return to Sorrento & will definitely be staying at Hotel Gardenia when we do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for such an overwhelming review regarding your holidays at the Hotel Gardenia. It was a big pleasure for us to have you, and your friends with us for 11 days.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated so much all our services and we were very happy to organize your transfers and help you in booking good restaurants, to make your holidays as most enjoyable as possible.
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future and reading your kind comments will ensure we continue to give the best service to our guests. Thank you again, hoping to welcome you back all again in the future at the Gardenia.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    140
    37
    15
    1
See reviews for
114
185
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel was in a great location for walking around town and to the port for boats to Capri. Owned and run by a lovely family with a great staff. All extremely friendly, helpful, and spoke great English. They also set us up with a driver who took us to Paestum. If you want a tour of the Amalfi Coast ask them to set you up with their friend Miguel. A great time with amazing views along coast and no stress of driving on the miles of hairpin curves. They also will help with places to dine where you can be picked up and delivered back to hotel. We had a great view of bay and Vesuvius from our balcony. What a beautiful sight to wake up to and fall asleep to. Who could complain when lucky enough to be in Italy vacationing with friends. :-) Also the best coffee ever!

Room Tip: Ask for room looking out toward Naples and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with your friends at the Hotel Gardenia..
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments will ensure we continue to give the best service to our guests.It was a pleasure to have contributed in making your stay in Sorrento as most enjoyable as possible.
Hoping to welcome you back again in the future, arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a charming hotel well within walking distance of the heart of the city of Sorrento. It is immaculately clean, has a wonderful, helpful staff and we were made to feel like family. Our room had a great view of Mt. Vesuvius and the lemon trees were in bloom outside our balcony and their fragrance was unbelievable. Breakfast buffet was very nice and the hotel has their own wine that was great. I hope that we can return in the near future and highly recommend Hotel Gardenia not only for the value and location but the experience of a caring, informative staff made our 5 day stay in Sorrento very memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the building because the rooms towards the front do get street traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review about your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated the quality of our services and especially our staff. As you know and said, the Gardenia is a family run hotel, and we all work hard to make our guest as happiest as possible and to let them feel as part of the family, so when a guest like you tell us that we did a good job, we are very proud!
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A lovely Hotel, spotlessly clean, very helpfull staff.
It is located just a nice walk from Piazza Tasso and it is close by the train station which is good for getting the Circumvesuviano train and also the Sita buses to the Amalfi coast Overall a very good choice at a reasonable price and is recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at hotel gardenia. It's located at the opposite end of the main piazza which we didn't mind because we like walking and discovering all the shops and restaurants. It is not far from the circumvesuviana which was great for our trip to Pompeii! Check in went smoothly and the hotel staff was great! I wish I knew the name of the lady who checked us in because she was very helpful. Unfortunately, I had left our passports in the hotel safe at our previous lodging and she really was patient in helping me get them mailed to our new hotel. I appreciate the friendly and courteous staff! Breakfast was nice with lots of options and good service. The negatives for us were in the actual room and accommodations. The bed was uncomfortable, sheets threadbare, towels thin and scruffy. The furniture was like pressed particle board. I kinda felt like we were in a
dorm room. The room was uncomfortable tiny, and the bathroom even smaller. The shower floor was flush with the bathroom floor and the drain was not working properly. It backed up and flooded the entire bathroom and bedroom! At 10 pm, after traveling all day, we were very disappointed. Called the front desk and since there was only one person to man the desk, no help with the flood. Eventually, he did come bring us a stack of towels but it was a mess. After some discussion, we were moved. This room was a bit more spacious but the same in terms of bedding, furniture ect...still disappointing. Both rooms had nice balcony and were very clean. It felt like the caliber of the staff far exceeded the quality of the actual hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is perfect if your looking for easy walk to town center at an affordable rate. The place is immaculate, very clean and they offer a nice buffet breakfast. Staff are nice and helpful and seem to cater to English speaking tourist. Front rooms are on a busy road, however, when the balcony doors are shut, noise is minimal. A small fan would be helpful to drown out the noise, we asked for one, but did not followup on it.

Room Tip: Back room, if available. Front room, higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel Gardenia is a wonderful boutique-style hotel. My husband and I traveled with another couple and we spent six days at Hotel Gardenia in March. Gaetano and his family were simply the best. They were very accommodating and made our visit to Sorrento a very memorable one. We all loved spending time with the family and their staff. Everyone was very friendly and we enjoyed talking and laughing with our hosts. The view from the balcony rooms in the back of the hotel is awesome -- overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. Our rooms were very nice and clean. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Sorrento and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a smaller hotel. Many thanks to Gaetano and his family for helping to make our trip to Sorrento a very pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel, third floor is the highest. These rooms have balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.