We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel- brilliant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 258, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Chard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel- brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have recently returned from a lovely week stay at the Hotel Gardenia which was perfect in every way, upon arriving we had a lovely welcome from the hotel staff.
The rooms were well equipped and immaculetly clean with a beautiful view of Visuvius from the balcony and view of the bay.
The breakfast was everything we could have wished for with the choice of hot or cold food available and if running short the staff replenished straight away with more.
The pool was lovely too, lots of sun beds and no placing of towels as there was plenty to go around !
The staff are to be commended on their atitude on making this a lovely stay , always making us feel really welcome with friendly banter and pleasant manners, the room cleaners also very friendly and cleaned rooms to an excellent standard.
Although the hotel is on the busy main road into Sorrento the sound proofing of the rooms is superb and you really could not hear this when the doors were closed and to be honest when sat on the balcony it really aded to the Italian experence.
The air conditioning is exellent and unlike lots of others we have had worked to the temperature you set.
The Hotel is situated 15- 20 mins walk from the main square which really did not concern us as you could stroll at your own pace and was good to walk off the breakfast or an evening meal. There are many places to eat and we tried several during our stay finding the "Fauno Bar " in the main square great quality and well priced worth trying as you can also watch the World pass you by.If you do not wish to walk to the square try the Ristrivo about 5 mins walk this was friendly with good food although lacking the out door eating experience.
The train station is about 8-10 mins walk and you can get the train straight to Pompei station and a 5 mins walk to the entrance of the Historical site for about 4.20 Euros return, also try the harbour for booking trips as we found a boat trip to the water outside Capri and trip onto Positano or Amalfi for 24 Euros each which is far cheaper than the trips advertised.
Sorrento is a beautiful place and has a lovely atmosphere and the main street is pedestrianised on Saturday and Sunday evenings and is really buzzing.
In summary we have travelled widely and have never received the service we have had at the Gardenia and will certainly be returning to stay here again, thank you so much for making our stay so complete.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the Hotel have a lovely view over the pool and the Bay Of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review about your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated the quality of our services and expecially our staff.As you know and said, the Gardenia is a family run hotel, and we all work hard to make our guest as happiest as possible and to let them feel as part of the family, so when a guest like you tell us that we did a good job, we are very proud!
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    147
    43
    18
    1
See reviews for
116
205
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a very pleasant hotel with friendly and helpful staff and attractive décor. The room with air conditioning and TV is a good size with balcony. Safe provided. Stocked fridge available but can’t be used for personal drinks, except by special arrangement. We were here on a b/b basis. The breakfast is good with hot options and good other selection. It is to a good standard although not the best breakfast we’ve experienced. There is a lounge with a bar. At the rear is a swimming pool which is of a reasonable size. It has very pleasant appearance and is fairly open, although enclosed. Plenty of seating was available. There is a small bar for drinks and snacks here. A towel for the pool available for 3 Euro over a week. The hotel is located on the main road ‘Corso Italia’ leading into Sorrento which is very busy and quite narrow. It takes about 15 minutes brisk pace walk down to Tasso Square which is the main centre. Quite narrow pavements. The town itself is very busy and bustling. Usual tourist crowds. Narrow alleys lead off with tourist shops and restaurants. Along the main road on the far side of the square has some very up-market clothes shops. There are many restaurants which are reasonably priced, not cheap but not expensive. Not many restaurant options on the road from the hotel down to Tasso Square. However just a little way down from the hotel on the opposite side is a place called Il Ritrovo. Small and quite plain but slightly atmospheric with very good food, better priced than in the town. Worth trying. Capri is worth visiting but not a cheap day out. Worthwhile to go up to Anacapri when there and cable ride to top (Open seating with bar in front). Public bus ride to Amalfi is good value but bus is crowded and can queue for an hour to get on it. But beautiful coast line. Get on by Train Station which is a good 10 minutes walk toward Tasso Square. Tour would provide commentary and viewing stops but incredibly more expensive. Transport is quite cheap. Train to Pompii and Herculaneum is easy and reasonably cheap. Vesuvius worth visiting but real slog up to top from entrance (8 Euros) which takes possibly 20 minutes. Bus from Ercano to entrance costs 10 Euro return. Journey is about 25 minutes. We took tourist train around streets. 6 Euro’s each and lasts about 30 minutes. Very pleasant and gives a certain oversight to the place. But often very busy and may need to book for later.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear overlook pool. Suspect a room at front could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunratty, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel. The hotel is in a great location it is about 20 mins walk into the centre. It is about 10 mins walk to the train and bus station. The cleaning service in the rooms is excellent. The staff are lovely and cannot do enough for you. There is a great selection for breakfast (buffet). The bar is small with not a large selection of drinks but it is fine. The pool area is shared with the hotel next door but you would think the pool belonged to the hotel it is easy to get to. There is lunch and snacks served at the pool which is very handy for the kids could be a better selection of ice creams though.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit small for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at La Gardenia in June 2012 – I had never been to Sorrento before so was concerned that this hotel may be a little too far out as it looked that way on a map. We made our way to the hotel from the train station (not the best walk if you can’t handle the heat!), it is on the main street in Sorrento so it’s very easy to get to (turn right out of the station and keep walking straight) and it’s roughly around a 15 minute walk if you are strolling. Personally I would have liked to be a little closer to the centre, as on a night a 15 minute walk can seem quite a long time! But this hotel was lovely, and to be honest it was worth the walk. As soon as we walked into the hotel the staff welcomed us, I think as this hotel is ran by a family they take pride in their hotel and like to make their guests feel as happy as possible – they are all lovely!
The hotel itself is very clean and well presented, and the rooms are lovely too. We were in a room at the side of the hotel (I had requested a pool view, but I think this room had a better one) and it was great, there are some beautiful sunsets to watch in Sorrento and this hotel gets the best of them!
The beds are comfortable and the air con was great, we used it every night. There is a small fridge in the room which is full when you arrive – we preferred to get our own drinks etc to put in the fridge but nothing was badly priced.
The pool area is nice – it is shared with the hotel next door but it was never too busy, and there are plenty sunbeds behind the pool.
When we booked the hotel it came with a continental breakfast – this is way more than that! We were pleasantly surprised when we came down on our first morning, there was every kind of pastry you can imagine, yoghurts, fruit, cereals – and also cooked food too (eggs, bacon, sausages) it was great!! And we also ate from the restaurant during the day too, very well priced.
This hotel is on the busiest street in Sorrento, so you can imagine the noise. However the only time we noticed was when we were on the balcony, when the doors are closed it was surprisingly quiet.
I really liked this hotel; excellent service and great food/room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and it served as our base from which to explore the beautiful Amalfi Coast and Pompeii. The front desk staff was warm and polite, and provided helpful answers to any questions we had about how to get around. It is about a 15 minute walk from the bus/train station, and about 25 from downtown Sorrento (which is lively at night). Our room had a beautiful view overlooking the pool, and we had no issues with noise, even though it is on the main road. Nice bathrooms and showers. But the real winner for me was the air conditioning--you could make it COLD in there! Other hotels in Europe we have found sometimes have weak AC, but NOT this one! We slept like babies in that cold room. My only advice would be to bring your own hair dryer. I have easy to dry, baby fine hair, but the dryer blew air like a space heater. Overall, a great budget find, and excellent value.

Room Tip: Pool view side is away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at the start of a trip along amalfi coast. Staff very friendly on arrival and recommended good restaurants to visit. Pool is a good size sun beds plentiful and it is an easy walk into town centre. Overall a really good base for sorrento without the costs of the centre hotels

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with my family (teenagers and grandparents) the hotel is a small family run hotel. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, they can't do enough to help. The hotel is very smart and 3stars doesn't do it justice, the rooms are fantastic, very clean with great bathrooms more like 4stars. The breakfast was outstanding. Short walk to centre of Sorrento which was ok even for the grandparents in our group. The pool was lovely, clean and plenty of space. A great place to stay with a family.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.