We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet family run hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Capri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Capri
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
exeter Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A quiet family run hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Hotel Capri stayed here for one week Good service small pool.Busy area please watch out for traffic and the sun v hot cover up The hotel was cosy we felt at home.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    108
    32
    28
    8
See reviews for
54
178
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin. ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

we have stayed here several times over the past few years . it is a very well run small and truly italian hotel. clean comfortable charming and real value for money.all the staff are good but the two waiters ~signor angelli and tonino are exceptional. if you like genuine italian food this is the hotel for you.the gala night around the pool is great fun. i notice that some british reviewers ~although not all~seem to expect english food etc. but take their holidays in italy instead of staying in the british isles.how very strange.i advise people considering the hotel capri to view the movie avanti starring jack lemon and juliet mills in order to gain a flavour of beautiful italian hotel life. go and enjoy the craic ~viva italia.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Look no further than Hotel Capri for your stay in Sorrento, not just for the obvious reasons of price and location but for the other secret charms of this hotel modestly not advertised.
The tiled air conditioned rooms are cleaned to an exceptionally high standard... clean fresh towels replaced every day along with ample supplies of toiletries.
Do request a room with a balcony. This overlooks a small but equipped pool where sun loungers are plentiful. On exploration, this pool also boasts a mini Jacuzzi! A nice surprise:)
Beyond the pool is an elevated charming garden with tables surrounded by lime trees... perfect for an evening drink brought to you by courteous waiting staff with gentle music in the background.
A varied breakfast that caters for all tastes truly exceeded our expectations...Scrumptious!
The friendly, helpful non – intrusive staff added to the pleasure of staying at Hotel Capri.
Our only wish is we could stay another day..An Enchanting Hotel...Faultless.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Hotel much better than expected. Very clean, friendly staff, comfortable, and very central. Breakfast was a good basic meal, all that is required. Did not sample dinner. Air condition can be switched on or off in room when key card is in place. We had large front rooms which had the benefit of being cool, noise from road not a problem. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Rooms were spotless,cleaned thoroughly every day.Problem with shower, While showering we found ourselves standing in about 30cm of water. Not very suitable for people in wheelchairs. while there was a ramp provided at side entrance , there was some difficulty getting wheelchairs up over step into dining area.Checkout time was10am.Our bus to airport was not due until 3'30pm. I felt we were being closely watched by some members of staff. I also thought the evening dinner menu could have had a little more variety , especially the main courses.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a 15 day holiday specifically 'tailored' for us by Citalia, through Thompson. We spent 5 nights in Sorrento, 4 in Rome and 5 in Viareggio. Air flights, private car pick-ups and first class rail tickets all arranged by Citalia and all went without a hitch - a great holiday.
About hotel Capri - it was the worst of the three hotels we stayed at, mainly because of the food, both breakfast and evening meal. The evening meal was not cooked to our taste, especially my wife's, who was always complaining to me.
The hotel room and en-suite bathroom was clean and comfortable and a good standard. It was cleaned each day with fresh towels provided. The air conditioning worked OK, but to switch it off you have to open the french door, as the receptionist could only switch it on or off for you from her PC.
As mentioned by earlier correspondents the safe is useless as it is not attached to anything.
Receptionists were friendly and helpful, but the restaurant waiters made us feel uncomfortable as they seemed to watching our every action (maybe this is a good point for some people, but not us). In the evening, hot food available every night, but served on cold plates with a choice of cold vegetables. Small quantity of french fries available from the vegetable table, but these were invariably look-warm or cold. Coffee and fruit juice was horrible.
However, hotel is in a good location and the small pool is a bonus for a town centre hotel, but sun loungers not always free.
We decided to miss the 'gala night' and tried a small restaurant down in the Sorrento tourist centre - it was quite good but not worth the 70 Euro bill for a modest 3 course meal for two with a beer and diet coke.
Sorrento itself was a disappointment as it looks run-down in parts. No beach to speak of, bathing platforms only accessible after a long walk.
Highlight of our stay was a day trip to Pompeii and Vesuvius - well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

After booking the Hotel Capri and reading the reviews I was quite worried about what I would find. All I kept reading about was awful food, rude staff, noisy rooms etc. But I can honestly say I was pleasantly surprised.
The staff were lovely, the two waiters in the restaurant were always polite to us and very friendly. The food was anything but terrible, I did not have one meal that I didn't enjoy, and I am a very picky eater. There is something on the menu that would suit any taste. We ate in the hotel restaurant almost every night, and I can't really complain about anything. The breakfast is simple, toast, croissants, cereals etc but it's just enough in my opinion. Don't expect anything like a big fry up, the italians do not eat this the way we do at home.
The rooms were fine, slightly noisy if you are facing the road but nothing that would keep you awake at night. The room was spotlessly clean and cleaned every day. The only fault I would have with the rooms is that there was no air conditioning, this is only in operation from june until september. Also the safe deposit box was not attatched to anything in the room.
The pool area was perfect, I had read that many people thought it was too small, and alright, you wouldn't exactly be doing laps in it but it's great for a quick swim. While I was there it was fairly quiet so most of the time we had the pool to ourselves anyways. It is also spotlessly clean as is the whole pool area.
The hotel is situated right in the centre of the town so it is perfect for going out, there's no need to take a bus or taxi anywhere. Buses for day trips arrive just down the street a few yards so it's perfect.
All I can say is don't take notice of the bad reviews, I have stayed in plenty of horrendous hotels myself but I can assure you that this is definitely not one of them.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 96 hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capri 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.